We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, clean, delicious”
Review of Sole Mio

Sole Mio
Ranked #98 of 724 Restaurants in Cuenca
Cuisines: Italian, International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed July 1, 2015

There are many choices for dining in Cuenca. I've tried many. One little hideaway place is inside the Hotel Los Balcones, called Sole Mio. The atmosphere is quiet and quaint, well decorated and roomy feeling. The menu has a good selection at reasonable prices. I've had the fish, meats, soups and they're all yummy. My favorite dish is the grilled vegetables. Something you don't always have on many menus in Ecuador. If you're in the mood, they also have a darn good wine selection. Buen provecho!

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank onetwor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 39 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2015

Sole Mio is one of Cuenca's hidden secrets. It is a family run restaurant located in Los Balcones Hotel. It is a very small restaurant with only 12 tables which is conducive to a very quiet romantic ambiance. The menu has traditional Ecuadorian or International dishes, something for everyone. The Locro Cuencano soup, Potato soup with cheese and guacamole is delicious and warms you up on a cool Cuenca evening, they also offer several other soup choices along with great Risotto dishes. If you have a heartier appetite I suggest one of their main dishes ranging from the popular trucha (trout) to their lomo (beef). The chef is fantastic and very accommodating to all special requests. Their prices include taxes and tip and are very reasonable. They are currently open only for dinner but plan to include lunch in the near future.

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2015

This restaurant is over rated. Four of us went there for dinner and the food was either bad or average. should have guessed by the menue too many choices how can you have 7 different soups and do them well! the people giving this restaurant 5 stars must be used to bland average food.

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2015

Sole Mio is the restaurant at Los Balcones, a boutique hotel located in Cuenca, Ecuador. The entire staff was my family for 2 months as I lived in one of the apartments at this lovely place. The owner, Don Luis, was welcoming. Alvaro, the head waiter, was a gentleman and provided great service. The administrator, Paolo, has become a very good friend. Jonathan, the receptionist, is a bright, handsome young man with a bright future in tourism. Carlos, the night receptionist, is one of the funniest people I know. Paul, another young man at the front desk, is very quick to smile and help out. Susana, in housekeeping, is amazing at what she does and accomplishes so much in a single day. Finally, Chef cooks up some of the best food in Cuenca. Don't miss this place!

Date of visit: December 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lepsilak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2014

This was a wonderful find during our stay in Cuenca. We stayed at the hotel and we usually eat away from hotels. The food was first class and the service was well above average. The trout dish I had was freash as can be. The trout was just delivered a half hour before coming in from the mountains. My wife wanted fish on a bed of vegetables but did not want salmon. The waiter suggeste sea bass and made teh substitution. Both our meals were flavorful and the portions were filling but not over indulgent. From the wine to the dessert the meal was first rate.

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sole Mio also viewed

 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to Sole Mio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing