We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THEY GOT THE FLAVORS RIGHT!”
Review of La Joya Thai - CLOSED

La Joya Thai
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“THEY GOT THE FLAVORS RIGHT!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Often when you have ethnic food in a city that does not have many Thai restaurants, the dishes on the menu sound good, but when you taste them, they did not get it right.

These folks are quite amazing because they came from New York City and were accomplished Animators in the Motion Picture Industry.
Don't know where they learned to cook, but my home town has about 300 Thai restaurants and we are very particular about this food.
The curries are great, we had fish curry on Friday which we were not expecting it to be as good as the chicken curry. It was DELICIOUS! The pad thai is yummy as is the coconut curry soup. The salad dressing is perfect. Try everything on the menu.
Ask to have your name put on their e mail list since they will e mail you their daily lunch specials for the week which includes a nice soup, entree, desert and drink for around 6 dollars. .
It is yummy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank casaecuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Finally somewhere for some Thai food in Cuenca!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I couldn't contain my excitement when I was told there was finally somewhere for some decent Thai food in Cuenca. While the menu doesn't have the most extensive selection, their Pad Thai and Tom Kha Gai are filled with flavours that remind me of other times. Their mojitos are also delicious!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank placera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
94 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“We had a nice lunch here”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The restaurant had just recently opened. Our food was excellent and the ambience is pleasant, with a bright interior courtyard. Price was good for lunch.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“La Joya Thai - Dawes family - 06-12-13”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We arguably ate here very early at 6pm. We had the whole place to ourselves. Excellent facility, music, service, food and drinks. We are surprised why La Joya Thai does not have more business. We did notice that La Joya Thai was doing a very good take out business while we were there. My daughter loved this place and food so much, she wants to go back before we leave Cuenca for Calif. We will be a returning customer. Great place!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dawesom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
2 reviews
“Slow service, limited menu, over priced for Ecuador”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I went to La Joya Thai during normal lunch hours. There were 2 tables (out of roughly 10) that were occupied. Obviously the staff was not overwhelmed by the number of people dining in the restaurant. As many other reviewers have noted, the food took forever to arrive. After waiting for about 45 minutes, my order of green curry finally arrived. What I received was a small bowl of curry chicken and a small bowl of rice for $7.95. Although the flavor was decent (I have dined many times in different Thai restaurants), it was not worth the wait. The dish was typical and nothing stood out about it. For $7.95, I expected much larger portions.... I would have received double the amount of food (for an a la carte lunch...which was what this was) in a regular Thai restaurant in the US. I will not be returning the next time I am in Cuenca.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joaquin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Joya Thai also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing