We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived Up to Expectations”

La Tasca de Los Hermanos en Ruta
Ranked #105 of 512 Restaurants in Cuenca
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lived Up to Expectations”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We tried La Tasca ... (HR for short) last evening for the first time after reading good reviews on Trip Advisor and Gringo Tree. The owners-brothers greeted us warmly and followed up with friendly, attentive service throughout the evening. There were two other tables of guests when we arrived but, by the time we left, we were the only ones in the restaurant. I attribute that to the hour ... we finished eating around 7:30 PM, which is fairly early by Cuenca standards. We decided to make a meal of several kinds of tapas, each priced under $4. They included Croquetas de Pollo (chicken croquettes), Albondegas de Salsa (meatballs in a carrot and onion sauce), Eggplant Vinaigrette and Papas Bravas (potatoes in spicy sauce). All the food was good, but my favorite was the eggplant - - I loved the tangy vinaigrette. The croquettes were a bit disappointing in that the filling was mostly béchamel and not much chicken, but they were still tasty. When, not if, we go back we'll try the spinach or ham croquettes. We also want to try the Spanish enchilada and the octopus. Our meal was complemented by a half liter of red wine which was served in an arty ceramic pitcher. Total cost including tip was $20.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roxy4of4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Azogues, Ecuador
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This place is simply awesome, it is small but it makes it up with great service in a friendly atmosphere and awesome food. The tortilla Española sandwich is one of the best sandwiches I've ever had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_n_Stace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ollantaytambo, Peru
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Tapas and Staff”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

These people are from Spain and the Tapas are authentic. I asked for vegetarian options and he gave me 6 choices. Not many people bother to try it out. Try it you'll like it. Get the Flan.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SingleNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spain in Ecuador”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

A good variety of Spanish tapas made for an enjoyable meal. Our waiter was very friendly and the food came promptly. Tapas range from around $3-$5 and the three item lunch special for $5 seems hard to beat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Best meal in town so far”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My lunch at La Tasca de Los Hermanos en Ruta was one of the best, and certainly the best value for money meals that I have had in Cuenca during the last week. The $4.95 lunch, which probably changes daily, included a Spanish tortilla, meatballs cooked in a carrot and onion sauce (excellent) and a lovely homemade flan. It started with a little tapa and a fruit juice,all included. The music was nice and the place one I would gladly bring friends. The two brothers are from the Basque country in Spain. It has a bistro feel and is an excellent value for money. Will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenlang_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tasca de Los Hermanos en Ruta also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to La Tasca de Los Hermanos en Ruta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing