We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Relaxing Lunch”

Don Colon Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 724 Restaurants in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed March 31, 2019

Stopped here for lunch while visiting the old city and ate an enjoyable outdoor lunch: soup, salad, an entree and a cervesa - all for about $6. The seating inside looked pleasant for colder days. If you get hungry while strolling through Cuenca, this was a quite, affordable, friendly place to recharge.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Exciteableboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 617 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2019 via mobile

Very good restaurant. I had pasta of the day and salad for a starter. They gave garlic bread for the whole table to share. Don Colon himself took our orders and did some small talk with us. This made the whole dinner very special. He spoke perfect English so it was very easy to order. Overall we had very pleasant experience.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Dertuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2019 via mobile

The food here was good. I had the fajitas and loved the story of the owner in the menu. The service was a bit abrupt and slightly slow but other than that all was good

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank nickcanada43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2019 via mobile

This year, Valentine's Day, was the first time we have visited Don Colon's restaurant in more than 2 years. Enjoyed the surf and turf dinner, as much as the owner's friendly socializing. He generously poured us each an extra glass of wine, on the house.

Looking forward to our next visit.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Jet777882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2019 via mobile

We visited Don Colon three times during our stay in Cuenca. The food and service were excellent. The food is Ecuadorian but has a subtle twist that suited our American tastes. The ceviche was delicious!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Mccrtycthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Colon Restaurant also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to Don Colon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing