We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious Host & Great Food”

Don Colon Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 524 Restaurants in Cuenca
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Gulfport, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gracious Host & Great Food”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

When you meet "Don Colon" for the first time he feels like a longtime friend, and it starts off your visit on the right foot. The dining area is very nice, plus there's a bar & a comfortable seating area with sofa, stuffed chairs, etc. if you're waiting for friends to arrive. Decent selection of menu items, but talk to Don & he'll tell you what's freshest. We tried the grilled fish & also the beef tenderloin...both were excellent. Prices are fair, service above average, we will return.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuencathom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    142
    66
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sorry I can only give 5 stars to Don Colon's”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Dinner is out of this world for sure, but if you miss his lunch specials you are cheating yourself out a treat. Always delicious and the service is way beyond great. Don is a great host to boot. If you don't try Don's you are missing out on a great dinning experience. I have two dates there for Thanksgiving as time constraints make it impossible to make it into one occasion.
The prices are reasonable for sure, there is just no reason not to stop in.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phil85207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best corvina in Cuenca”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I recently visited Don Colon on a Sunday evening, when few restaurants are open. What a treat. We were a party of four, each ordering different dishes, and each of us had a superb meal. Colon Campos, the owner and chef, made us feel very welcome, as though we were old friends. Do try the corvina, it is the best I have tasted in Cuenca. And the crepes are to die for. I will be a regular customer in this beautiful restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank altea97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
“Amazing food and sevice”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Colon Campos, the owner and chef, creates an amazing atmosphere. Treating everyone that enters as an old friend, he does his best to make sure every meal is superb. Whether you are going for breakfast, lunch, or dinner the food will be great. Don't miss the Crepes for dessert. I know I'll be stopping by every time I'm in Cuenca!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Colon is a hoot”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I am staying at the hotel Colonel so eating here is normal.
I enjoy the food and the chef has a lot of experiences and girlfriends
Ed

Helpful?
Thank justice1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Colon Restaurant also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to Don Colon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing