We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully restored”
Review of Hotel Crespo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Crespo
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Reviewed December 22, 2007

Newly restored, some rooms still being reconstructed (but in the daytime during working hours.) Rooms overlooking the river are quiet and large. Cable t.v., large bathrooms, plenty of hot water and good pressure. High priced ($80) for the area, but comparable in the US would be three times as much.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank paulie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Crespo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 89 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2007

Rooms were nice and the staff service was excellent. Also they conveniently have free internet for the guests. Everywhere was relatively walkable in Cuenca, so although it wasn't right in the center, it was still pretty convenient. Our room had a view of the river, which was nice. Breakfast was included in a nice (but dark) dining room. Cable tv... nice showers. Good spot.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank newyork10011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2007

Good news, the much needed street improvements on Calle Larga have since been completed. [Translation: better water pressure!] The hotel has also quietly gone through some interior renovation and upgrades of its own most notably the new double insulated operable italian style windows that open out to the river and street. I was favorably impressed with the tasteful room upgrades on the beddings and linens, modernized bathrooms with thick white towels and carpeting in the rooms and exterior hallways ensuring added sound privacy. They have a website where you can virtually check out every room in the hotel.

[-]
After a personal tour and inspection [at least 10 rooms] from Arturo, the general manager, I was impressed enough to book a block of rooms in anticipation for our daughter's wedding here next year.

Stayed: October 2007
7  Thank SportNautique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2007

Made reservations for four days at Hotel Crespo, checked in first day and was shown a room down several flights of stairs, (hotel built on side of hill over looking the river). The stairs were dark and the halls narrow and dark. At our request we were moved to a street level room. Still narrow dark halls, stained, worn hall carpet. The room was good size overlooking the river. The carpet in the room was worn and stained. There was an upholstered chair in the room which was broken and the covering torn. There was only a trickle of hot water, less than the size of a pencil. Not enough to shave much less to take a shower. We ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel diningroom. The food was good, service was good. Checked out after one night and moved to the Hotel Santa Lucia. Very good. Ate several meals in hotel cafe as well as breakfast each day. Good food and service

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jamesr813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

My family recently spent three nights at the Crespo, and we found it comfortable and charming. Currently however, there is construction going on next door to the hotel. If you go, make sure you get a room facing the river--that way, you will have a beautiful view and probably will not notice the early morning construction noises. The hotel has nice conveniences such as free internet, cable tv with a wide variety of English channels and a lovely dining room.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank wampolch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Lothar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iván T, Director Comercial at Hotel Crespo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank alicedegiuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Crespo-Cuenca, Assistant manager at Hotel Crespo, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Carvallo
Hotel Boutique Carvallo
#10 of 60 in Cuenca
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
359 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
0.8 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#50 of 60 in Cuenca
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crespo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crespo

Address: Calle Larga 7-93 | Cuenca Ecuador, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range: $71 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Crespo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most classic and emblematic hotels in Cuenca, with many years providing our services, which guarantees the satisfaction of our guests. Characterized by the details of the city's culture in its corridors, privileged location in the historic center, comfort of its rooms and personalized service. In our restaurant you will find delicious options with fresh ingredients and of the highest quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Crespo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crespo Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing