We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place u cant skip!”

El Cajas National Park
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$70.00*
and up
Cajas National Park Day-Trip including Lunch
Ranked #1 of 82 things to do in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known for its more than 275 Andean lakes and many waterfalls, this national park is a popular destination for trout fishing, rugged hiking and camping.
Guayaquil
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A place u cant skip!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Excellent scenery and awesome place for trekking and camping. A highly recommended place to get good photos from the highlands and it surroundings! Bring binoculars if u r into birdwatching!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sweethottieangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,368
    322
    55
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ecuador
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

the Andean landscape is outstanding!!! breathtaking!! worth to visit it especially if you love to be outdoors and enjoying fishing and riding horses.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank cloperalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Fantastic! It was a sunny day and mother-nature gorgeously shined during our entire 6 km walk through beautiful lagoons surrounded by variable mountains.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aleks03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Serene & Thrilling”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I can only imagine what this looks like on a perfectly clear day, because even on the rainiest of days when I visited it was breathtaking.

Just outside Cuenca, this park takes awhile to get to by bus or taxi. My group and I took a van out there, which I'd estimate was a 30-45 minute drive. Even the drive there is scenic as you drive along the rolling hills passing by farms against the backdrop of uncharted green mountains.

Once you get there, be prepared to hike. The conditions are pretty tame when you're near the water, with bridges to better accommodate the hikers. During the rainy season you may want to invest in boots and a warm jacket, considering the slippery conditions and the wetlands you will walk through. The high elevations also make for much colder weather and windier conditions. I remember the higher we hiked, the more bitter the wind chill. Regardless, the beautiful green mountains, exotic flora and the undeniably fresh air made the trek completely worth it.

On some parts of the hike you will have the pleasure of seeing llamas grazing. You can get close, but they feel threatened they may spit on you (this happened to me).

Overall, a great place for those looking for a great hike outside the city limits, especially hiking and adventure enthusiasts. This is not a sight to miss!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristen_Valerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Otherworldly!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

For nature lovers, Cajas is not to be missed. It is truly extraordinary. At one point on our 4 km walk, as we stopped for a snack, we were witness to an ultragreen valley with a waterfall, jagged cliffs, clear blue lakes and river, AND a herd of about ten llamas, including a nursing calf. An ultimate Andean scene. For hikers, it's a dream, and for non-hikers, it's still worth the hour long bus ride from Cuenca just for the views from the visitor center with its excellent exhibits. Go! You be glad you did.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank aurayah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cajas National Park also viewed

 

Been to El Cajas National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing