We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Inca Real
Nearby Hotels
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Los Balcones(Cuenca)
$82
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
$55
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa de las Rosas(Cuenca)(Great Value!)
$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$79
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
48
49
19
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
49
19
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstapas restauranthot watertiny bathroomparque calderonnice roomtwo blocksold world charmcolonial houseold townnice hotelexcellent locationwalking distancebreakfast was includedjuicecourtyardecuadornoise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 128 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I've lived in Cuenca for the last 4 months. My internet has been out at my condo for two weeks and I really needed to connect so I searched for a cheap place just for wi-fi. I found the Inca Real single bed for $35 a night (Sun-Mon). Wi-fi worked perfect from my room. This is a very old home (3 very old homes) converted into a hostel/hotel. All wood floors so be advised if you get a first floor room. I stayed on the second floor and there were several spots that squeaked loudly and I thought that if anyone was staying in the room below it could be quite disturbing. The place is nicely decorated and serves a free breakfast with the stay. All in all this is a great value to stay in a well centralized location in El Centro!

Room Tip: Second fllor should be requested and as with any house hotel in Cuenca....the further back the better.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wbailey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania S, Director de Recepción at Hotel Inca Real, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Customer

We hope that you are visiting our city has been pleasant. We welcome your comments, which, help us improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The charm of Inca Real lies in it's stellar location in the old Cuenca town and the maintenance of this old house's structure and courtyards. In order to enjoy these, I had cracks in the walls of the room, a dimly lit room, extraordinarily creaky floors, mold-edged and tiny bathroom, a sink too small to work with (I had to shove my head under a shelf to use the sink). And noise - it's a very noisy place with dripping sounds, people, and clanging keeping you up. I think I mentioned that the room was dim - I couldn't even open the windows for light, since they opened onto the courtyard without even a screen and people could look right in as they walked 3 feet from me. This situation also made it difficult to circulate air or have any sense of security in the room. There was no safe in the room. Our room was long and narrow and basic. If the window was open, you couldn't walk past the bed or cross the room.

The guy doing breakfast was so disorganized and disinterested the first day. Wi-fi in the lobby works sometimes.

What saves me from giving Inca Real a 2 is the helpful front desk, the beautiful courtyards and gates to this old building, lovely sitting areas areas and period charm. And of course, the location! The breakfast area is beautiful and I really enjoyed the onsite resto.

Room Tip: Wish I could tell you where quiet would be...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2-4-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania S, Director de Recepción at Hotel Inca Real, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Customer

We welcome your comments, which help us to improve our services.
We have solutions to the problems encountered during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Excellent location, 2 blocks from Parque Calderon. Great breakfast buffet. Rooms are fine, but little protection for other guests' noise.
Picturesque hotel with three interior courtyard.
Do not, however, ask them to arrange transportation to or from the airport. Regular taxi rate is $2.50 to $3 (always ask before you get into taxi!); they charged us $10 from airport; we paid $3 for return on our own.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 25HalL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania S, Gerente at Hotel Inca Real, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente

Para nosotros es un gran placer haberle brindado nuestros servicios y que su visita a nuestra ciudad haya sido gratificante.
Es verdad, un taxi desde el aeropuerto al hotel tiene un valor de $3, más el servicio que prestamos de transfer es un transporte privado del hotel, prestado de forma personalizada, por lo que, el valor varía.

Agradezco su comprensión.

Siempre un gusto atenderlo y servile en una próxima oportunidad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I booked a single room and was assigned to patio B. When the staff escorted me to my room, the door was open, the bed was not made and there was rubbish in the bin. Obviously, the cleaning staff hadn't got round to cleaning my room but the bell boy just dropped my bags and said welcome and left. Strange. So I went down to reception and complained and it was taken care of. Great! The room itself was clean but the floor was uneven, the bed creaky and had hairs in it, and the walls were not soundproof. You can hear everything, even the buzz from the reception area when people are coming in. Wifi fast, hot water showers great. Direct tv had some channels blocked which didn't bother me too much. Restaurant attached to the hotel was delicious. Overall my stay was ok but not worth the price. Stay at Hotel Los Balcones instead - so much better!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christyk1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania S, Manager at Hotel Inca Real, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Hoping that all their activities are conducted with great success, is immediately under this situation when I file a complaint at reception
One must consider that our hotel is an old house, restored and converted into a hotel, the home is part of the cultural heritage of the town, preventing perform adaptations of modern hotels in the building
I appreciate your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

From Jan 9th thru the 14th we stayed at the Inca Real. The room was comfortable, common areas bright and airy and a very good breakfast was included in the rate. All of the staff was friendly and helpful, especially Emma at the front desk and Fiorita our housekeeper. They both made us feel at home. We ate at the Spanish restaurant two time and enjoyed both meals. We are coming back in the fall and plan on staying there again. The location of this hotel is also another positive. We were able to walk to Parque Calderon, the flower market, the central market and down to the river. Anyone who visits Cuenca must go to the Banco Museum (Free) and really a great Museum.

Room Tip: We had room 1B right behind the lobby restrooms. It was a little noisy during the night when the staff was cleaning the restrooms. I would request a room further back from lobby on the first floor.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reywatwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania S, Manager at Hotel Inca Real, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013
Google Translation

Agradecemos sus comentarios, son de gran importancia para continuar mejorando
los esperamos en una próxima oportunidad
saludos cordiales,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews