We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 'Real' Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Inca Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Inca Real
Ranked #21 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Lauderhill
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A 'Real' Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The photos on the web are good, but the Hotel Inca Real has such beauty at every turn it would be hard to capture it in a photograph. The three historic buildings artfully joined are a study of serenity. With spacious rooms looking out onto interior courtyards, there is no mistaking you are in the heart of Ecuador. Use one of the pleasant seating areas on the veranda to plan your day...the Wi-Fi here works wherever you are.
The staff are more than attentive, and work together as a professional team to ensure your stay is the best it can possibly be.
The hot and cooked-to-order breakfast comes with the best coffee around, and don't miss dining at Akelarre for truly bewitching tapas--the chef here is top notch.
The only problem with this hotel & restaurant was having to leave to go home. Four days of comfy beds and great food went very quickly; and, while tempted to keep this wonderful place a secret the warm and friendly staff deserve a full house and a round of applause for the great job they do.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our upstairs room, 1A, but any room here would be uniquely enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania S, Director de Recepción at Hotel Inca Real, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Dennis

Hoping to have a great weekend, we appreciate your comments and we are glad that your stay in the hotel was a great experience for you
always a pleasure to serve you on your next visit to our city

best regards,

Ana Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    41
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
42
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I've lived in Cuenca for the last 4 months. My internet has been out at my condo for two weeks and I really needed to connect so I searched for a cheap place just for wi-fi. I found the Inca Real single bed for $35 a night (Sun-Mon). Wi-fi worked perfect from my room. This is a very old home (3 very old homes) converted into a hostel/hotel. All wood floors so be advised if you get a first floor room. I stayed on the second floor and there were several spots that squeaked loudly and I thought that if anyone was staying in the room below it could be quite disturbing. The place is nicely decorated and serves a free breakfast with the stay. All in all this is a great value to stay in a well centralized location in El Centro!

Room Tip: Second fllor should be requested and as with any house hotel in Cuenca....the further back the bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wbailey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania S, Director de Recepción at Hotel Inca Real, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Customer

We hope that you are visiting our city has been pleasant. We welcome your comments, which, help us improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The charm of Inca Real lies in it's stellar location in the old Cuenca town and the maintenance of this old house's structure and courtyards. In order to enjoy these, I had cracks in the walls of the room, a dimly lit room, extraordinarily creaky floors, mold-edged and tiny bathroom, a sink too small to work with (I had to shove my head under a shelf to use the sink). And noise - it's a very noisy place with dripping sounds, people, and clanging keeping you up. I think I mentioned that the room was dim - I couldn't even open the windows for light, since they opened onto the courtyard without even a screen and people could look right in as they walked 3 feet from me. This situation also made it difficult to circulate air or have any sense of security in the room. There was no safe in the room. Our room was long and narrow and basic. If the window was open, you couldn't walk past the bed or cross the room.

The guy doing breakfast was so disorganized and disinterested the first day. Wi-fi in the lobby works sometimes.

What saves me from giving Inca Real a 2 is the helpful front desk, the beautiful courtyards and gates to this old building, lovely sitting areas areas and period charm. And of course, the location! The breakfast area is beautiful and I really enjoyed the onsite resto.

Room Tip: Wish I could tell you where quiet would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2-4-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania S, Director de Recepción at Hotel Inca Real, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Customer

We welcome your comments, which help us to improve our services.
We have solutions to the problems encountered during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Excellent location, 2 blocks from Parque Calderon. Great breakfast buffet. Rooms are fine, but little protection for other guests' noise.
Picturesque hotel with three interior courtyard.
Do not, however, ask them to arrange transportation to or from the airport. Regular taxi rate is $2.50 to $3 (always ask before you get into taxi!); they charged us $10 from airport; we paid $3 for return on our own.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 25HalL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania S, Gerente at Hotel Inca Real, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente

Para nosotros es un gran placer haberle brindado nuestros servicios y que su visita a nuestra ciudad haya sido gratificante.
Es verdad, un taxi desde el aeropuerto al hotel tiene un valor de $3, más el servicio que prestamos de transfer es un transporte privado del hotel, prestado de forma personalizada, por lo que, el valor varía.

Agradezco su comprensión.

Siempre un gusto atenderlo y servile en una próxima oportunidad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I booked a single room and was assigned to patio B. When the staff escorted me to my room, the door was open, the bed was not made and there was rubbish in the bin. Obviously, the cleaning staff hadn't got round to cleaning my room but the bell boy just dropped my bags and said welcome and left. Strange. So I went down to reception and complained and it was taken care of. Great! The room itself was clean but the floor was uneven, the bed creaky and had hairs in it, and the walls were not soundproof. You can hear everything, even the buzz from the reception area when people are coming in. Wifi fast, hot water showers great. Direct tv had some channels blocked which didn't bother me too much. Restaurant attached to the hotel was delicious. Overall my stay was ok but not worth the price. Stay at Hotel Los Balcones instead - so much better!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christyk1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania S, Manager at Hotel Inca Real, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hoping that all their activities are conducted with great success, is immediately under this situation when I file a complaint at reception
One must consider that our hotel is an old house, restored and converted into a hotel, the home is part of the cultural heritage of the town, preventing perform adaptations of modern hotels in the building
I appreciate your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

From Jan 9th thru the 14th we stayed at the Inca Real. The room was comfortable, common areas bright and airy and a very good breakfast was included in the rate. All of the staff was friendly and helpful, especially Emma at the front desk and Fiorita our housekeeper. They both made us feel at home. We ate at the Spanish restaurant two time and enjoyed both meals. We are coming back in the fall and plan on staying there again. The location of this hotel is also another positive. We were able to walk to Parque Calderon, the flower market, the central market and down to the river. Anyone who visits Cuenca must go to the Banco Museum (Free) and really a great Museum.

Room Tip: We had room 1B right behind the lobby restrooms. It was a little noisy during the night when the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reywatwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania S, Manager at Hotel Inca Real, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus comentarios, son de gran importancia para continuar mejorando
los esperamos en una próxima oportunidad
saludos cordiales,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Beautiful old colonial hotel, very conveniently located near cathedral. The building has three patios, each different in style and equally pretty. Nice bar/restaurant. Good breakfast, although insufficient tables. However our room was very small and considerably smaller than shown in any of the photos. We barely had room for our suitcase. It was oddly decorated with a very badly painted mural of a woman playing a piano and like in so many hotels in Ecuador the lighting was bad and sad. Each patio has a letter: A for the first, B for the second and C for the third. All the rooms in C are small and a bit dark. But some of the rooms were spacious; we peeped into B2 and it was enormous but I assume costs more. If you want a better room ask for one in A or B. Laundry was expensive; a small bag cost $20.

Room Tip: Get a room in Patio A or B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_and_Jane_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania S, Gerente at Hotel Inca Real, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus comentarios, los cuales nos ayudarán al mejoramiento continuo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#15 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
0.1 mi away
Morenica del Rosario Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Inca Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inca Real

Property: Hotel Inca Real
Address: General Torres 8-40 | Enter Sucre & Bolivar, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Inca Real 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful house was built in the beginning of the 19th century and now is the Inca Real Hotel. This house is an example of Colonial Style; it clearly shows the Spanish influence in the way our natives used to build houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Inca Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing