We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst shower in my 3months in south america” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Macondo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Macondo
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst shower in my 3months in south america”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

Hostel has lovely cortyard and charming rooms. Shared showers however are terrible. I tried both the one on the ground floor of the main house and the one out the back on the left. Both had practically no water pressure and the one out the back swung between scalding hot and ice cold with only the hot tap turned on. I had to jump in in the brief moments of transition. We changed hostel because the showers were just SO bad. Didn´t bother with breakfast nor the free wifi but both were avalible.

Hostel was filled with older north american couples so if that is your bag then great but we found the atmosphere a bit lacking.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FantastiCally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    64
    22
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
66
45
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marin County
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

The colonial house is spacious, pristine clean, quiet and serves excellent breakfast (with unlimited, fresh brewed coffee) as well as use of a well-equipped kitchen. We came for 2 days and stayed 5. Everything in Cuenca is walking distance. Our room with shared bath was enormous with four beds and storage as well as in-room wifi.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newpriorities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2009

As we traveled on from here, we recommended this hostal to many others like us who enjoy meeting other travelers and relaxing in open courtyards... however, you may need to ask some of the more talkative ones to be quiet after 10:00. The kitchen is used by many to cook their dinners... so you may need to make arrangements... or suggest sharing in the cooking. We would stay here again. Miguel y Joanne.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaborConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2009

I spent almost a month at Hostal Macondo in June of 2009. It was the biggest bargain in all of Ecuador and one of the best places I stayed in my two month stay in the country. The hostal was always immaculate, the staff very friendly, the others guests always interesting and considerate and the location perfect for being close to the best parts of Cuenca. The dining area and kitchen was open to use by guests all day and until late at night. There was a beautiful patio outdoors toward the back with hummingbirds always flitting around. The ladies at the desk would get you a BIG bottle of cold Pilsener for $1. Breakfast was simple but very good and you could always order a more elaborate breakfast for just an added dollar. Laundry was done on the premises very cheaply and wireless internet was available for free.

I loved my stay there and would always felt at home coming in through the big front doors.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

I recommend macondo because the hostel is safe and very clean. it's nothing to write home about, but the set-up is cute and the courtyard is cozy. I didn't give it a higher rating because the breakfast is only bread...fine, I likebread. But it's the same price as all the other hostels in the area, which provide the usual egg, bread, juice deal. The staff isn't particularly helpful but they are polite and professional. In response to some negative reviews: it can be a little noisy in the morning if large groups are leaving...but i've yet to stay in an ecuadorian hostel for this price where the rooms are totally soundproof. a good deal overall.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hippoham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

This hostal is very clean and the rooms are cleaned very quickly. I stayed in a room off the outside courtyard and, while pretty and quiet as far as the street noise goes, the courtyard is very noisy in terms of being able to hear all of your neighbors as well as the cleaning staff all the time. Added to this fact that, if your curtains are open you are pretty much on full view, one feels a surprising lack of privacy in the room. It´s way too noisy in the morning. God forbid, like me, you get stuck in a room near people toting along tiny children. You can forget any peace and quiet from then on out.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salutuamonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2009

I really can't see much to like about the Macondo. If your normal residence is the Greyhound bus station in NorthEast DC, then perhaps this is a quiet refuge. But if you enjoy a minimum of peace and quiet, then there are many many other options for you in wonderful Cuenca. It must be said that someone staying in the back of the hotel might have a completely different experience- those rooms looked out onto a garden/patio area that looked quite nice. However, the rooms in the "charming" front part of the hotel (rooms 7 through 10) look out onto an interior patio. Not only does this mean there's not much natural light, but it means that it's NOISY. The front door is locked at all times, so you have to ring the bell to get in. If you're in your room, that means 10am: ding dong. 2pm: ding dong. 8pm ding dong. And you hear every word that every guest utters as they make their way from the front of the hotel past your room to the back of the hotel. And the curtains are mostly see-through, so if you're traveling with a romantic partner, well, forget about having any fun of that sort. The room did have nice wooden floors and the beds were comfortable, but the noise was really quite awful. I had sort of resigned myself to the place (since they make you pay for 100% of your reservation when you arrive), when on the second morning, at 8am, we hear a BANG BANG BANG. pause. another BANG BANG BANG. luckily (?) i had already been woken up by a group of travelers walking past our room at 7:30am and talking amongst themselves. I open the door of our room to see a maintenance man high up on a ladder, hammering into the ceiling. at 8am on a Tuesday. I went to the front desk and asked them quite seriously if they were joking. ceiling repairs in a common area at 8am? the fact that the otherwise nice but entirely disinterested front desk girls saw nothing wrong with some hammering at 8am spoke volumes about their notion of a pleasant hotel experience.

the breakfast is passable, some bread, some cheese, some undrinkable juice and american-style coffee. however, for USD2.50 you can order a fantastic omelette. another point in macondo's favor is that the showers had good pressure and hot water. however, another minus is that there is no parking- and rumor has it that street parking is rather unsafe. the hotel directed us to a lot about 3 blocks away, but there was no sort of discount and the people wanted to charge us $25 for a day and a half! where are we, Georgetown? the location wasn't awful per se, perhaps a 5min walk to the main plaza and 10min to most of the restaurants and bars. but in Cuenca terms, where everything is close by, the macondo isn't really in the thick of things. its out of the way location unfortunately doesn't translate into peace and quiet (see above). there apparently was internet, but the wireless card on our laptop couldn't pick up a signal, even when we were standing directly next to the router at the front desk.

in short, this hotel was unquestionably the worst part of an otherwise fantastic 7-day trip to Ecuador. there are TONS of charming and inexpensive places in Cuenca, this hotel not being one of them. if nothing else, at least now we can laugh about it- remember that awful place we stayed in Cuenca??

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank briguy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.7 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
0.5 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#16 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal La Posada Cuencana
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#3 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Macondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Macondo

Property: Hostal Macondo
Address: Tarqui 11-64 Y Lamar, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cuenca
#10 Business Hotel in Cuenca
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely downtown hotel built around a beautiful garden. A very peaceful place in the heart of colonial Cuenca offering --travel and tour assistance --free breakfast --luggage storage --free maps --lending library --wheel chair rooms --24 hour check-in --plenty of hot water --kitchen use after 1PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Macondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Macondo Cuenca
Hostal Macondo Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing