We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very quiet, close to the river, a bit away from the center but with good access. The rooms are stylish and modern, with great amenities and welcome climate control. Unless you really want to stay in a colonial building, the comfort at this hotel beats that of the older boutique hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobtF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelo F, Director General at Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comment, we are glad to know that you have enjoyed your staying, which is what we work for.
We are constantly improving to offer the best service and facilities to our guests. Our main goal is to make you experience an unforgettable moment in our beautiful city.

Best Regards,
Marcelo Ferrari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    125
    15
    0
    4
See reviews for
234
128
19
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
200 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We moved here from a hotel located in the old town of Cuenca.It was far too noisy around there.Oro Verde is about 10min taxi ride from the old town. You pay 3USD for the trip.It is a recent building, quite big.Rooms are spacy and modern.Breakfast was diverse with friendly service.It seems like there were mostly locals staying.There is a dirty outdoors pool which cannot be used and only 2 sunbeds.That was disappointing.The staff dont speak English at all. Overall nice and quiet stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archimedesrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelo F, Director General at Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Before hand i wanted to thank you for taking your time to refer us your important comments.

We are gratefull to know your stay at our hotel was of your pleasure. I also wanted to apologize that our swimming pool wasn´t in the best conditions during your stay, we had a problem with our pump suction of the pool. I wasn´t able to solve the problem immediately due to the fact that the repair wasn´t available in our city.

I hope to have the pleasure to have you in our hotel again in your next visit to Cuenca and be able to personally recieve you and reasure that your stay will be as pleasant as posible.

Best Regards,

Marcelo Ferrari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I'm a bit late with this review for my three night stay at Hotel Oro Verde in March, 2013. I just dug the card out of my handbag. I visited Cuenca with three friends who wanted to tour the area. We each had our own room. Through some misunderstanding (I wasn't involved in the reservations), we were placed in the unrenovated part of the hotel the first night, which was not acceptable. The next day, hotel staff gladly moved us to the new wing that was under construction but still a huge improvement. The guest rooms were new and clean, with a modern business feel, uncarpeted with Pergo-type flooring, quite functional except that there was no wireless coverage in the wing. The view out the window was of a parking area with the river beyond, rather utilitarian.

Breakfast was included and was pretty good, plenty of choice for a non-breakfast eater like me. There is a small deli/bake shop on the property that did not have a working espresso machine, only the push-button type and didn't have much selection. Amenities like a separate lounge and working pool were missing, maybe due to the construction and off-season.

The front desk staff spoke perfect English; in fact, one clerk attended university in the States. The hotel has an airport shuttle that we used.

The location is less than ideal for a tourist, as it is well outside the city center, maybe a 3 km walk each way, fine if it isn't raining. On the positive side, the room was quiet, even with the window open. Taxis are plentiful and reasonable, and Cuenca drivers are notably safe and sane. As much of the charm of the area is outside Cuenca anyway, the inconvenience was only a dinner-time.

It's a little hard to rate this kind of property. Compared to fine international hotels, it is decidedly average. Compared to hotels in Ecuador, it was very good. And we didn't go to Cuenca for a resort experience, so we were satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MillValleyFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelo F, Director General at Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for your comments. Its glad to know that you enjoyed your staying.

We want you to know that we have finished the hotel remodelation, we are continously improving to offer to our guest just the best of our service in our new facilities.

We are looking forward to have you here with us again, please contact me the next time you are comming, it will be a pleasure to meet you.

Best regards,
Marcelo Ferrari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

You gotta love their new rooms and personal attention.
They still have some work to do with their WiFi.
I'm keen to taste the pool once they do the whole temperature controlling thing on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnegronv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelo F, Director General at Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your coment about our room and our staff.
We´ve finished the job we were doing for the right wi fi conecction.
And about the pool we have found some tecnic inconvenients which won´t allow as to finish the job in the estimated time.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope to have you here soom.
Best regard,
Marcelo Ferrari.
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I also had our company's conference on Friday and the cooridnation and service was great. Regarding the rooms, the only issue was about the elevators not working, so the walk and stairs were uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Char P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelo F, Director General at Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Char,
Thank you so much for your comment.

It help us to know we are doing a good job. I want you to know that we are continuously working to improve the quality of our service, we want to surprise you with more the next time you come.

We all really happy to announced that the new elevator is already working since yesterday.

I hope to have the pleasure to have you again soon in our hotel, your home.

Kind regards
Marcelo Ferrari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad de Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I can honestly say this is the best hotel I have stayed in, and the nice people so helpful just make it even better. My 3 night business stay was great. It´s totally remodeled and got to stay at a 5 star hotel at a 5 star treatment thanks Oro Verde keep up the good work, Carlos

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelo F, Director General at Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your comment and I´m glad to know you have enjoyed your staying here, we are working hard to offer to our guests the best treat we can.

I hope to have the pleasure to meet you soon in your next stay.

I want you to feel as part of our family and this is your home in Cuenca.

Kind regards
Marcelo Ferrari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Do yourself a favor and avoid all reviews! 7 months ago this hotel went through a very deep renovation. Rooms are great, floor heating, modern design, very comfortable.
The service, impresive, their new manager Marcelo Ferrari knows his job, very proffesional, makes you feel right at home. The restaurant has a great peruvian chef.
We visit the hotel while it was full and the service was perfect.
If you are planning a trip to cuenca this is your hotel, great price, they are triying to bring people back thats why you'll find a great deal.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JorgePGuayaquil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelo F, Director General at Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Muchas gracias por su comentario.
Como bien menciona hemos terminado la remodelación de nuestro hotel en un 98% aún tenemos mas mejoras para beneficio de ustedes, ya contamos con nuevas maquinas en el gimnasio.
Continuamos trabajando en capacitaciones con nuestros colaboradores para ofrecerles el mejor servicio de manera que se sientan mejor que en su casa.

Saludos cordiales,
Marcelo Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
2.2 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#3 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kuna Hotel
Kuna Hotel
#8 of 60 in Cuenca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca

Property: Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Address: Av Ordonez Lasso S/N, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador (Formerly Oro Verde Cuenca Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cuenca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cuenca
#2 Family Hotel in Cuenca
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca 4.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuenca Oro Verde Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing