We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best bread in Cuenca”
Review of Maria’s Alemania Cafe - CLOSED

Maria’s Alemania Cafe
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe, American, Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“best bread in Cuenca”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Maria has fresh baked bread and pastries, along with gluten free options! She has also start serving lunch specials. Her dark banana cinnamon bread is wonderful and a good option for those that don't have such a sweet tooth. If you do though, Maria offers great fruit and cheese danishes that rival any pastry in Cuneca. Don't leave without grabbing a few coconut and chocolate cookies!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank earthwerrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    10
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The only place for REAL Danish pastry”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have not eaten in the cafe, but the pastry is as close to what you will find in good US bakeries, and is a world apart from the typical Cuencana styles. Check store hours to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davecharlesny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous baked goods w/ decent food”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The five star rating is due to Maria's baked goods. They are absolutely the best in Cuenca, in our opinion. We had regular breakfast which was really good - but overshadowed by the fabulous variety of bear claws, breads, muffins, etc...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 2forEc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The Best Bread in Cuenca”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I love bread. It's been my main food source for most of my life.

So when we came to Ecuador and saw all the panaderia's (bakery's) around I was really excited. But the more of these panaderia's I visited, to more my enthusiasm waned. Each seemed to serve up the same rotation of white buns and uninspiring sweets. So when we came to Cuenca and I was told about this German-style bakery I was hopeful, but skeptical.

Well, let me introduce you to the best little bakery in Cuenca - Maria's Alemania Cafe is simply wonderful! Not only do they make beautiful, moist, thick, whole grain bread, but they have an incredible variety of different types and styles. Plus there's a whole other assortment of various sweets and pastries for those with sweet tooths. And speaking of sweet - Maria herself if wonderful - friendly and helpful.

This bakery is a real treasure and a wonderful treat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank VgabndHapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hard to choose only one thing...”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Because everything conquers you! The amazing options of breads, cakes and snack for lunch in the quiet garden! Pies are amazing!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MariaLuzG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria’s Alemania Cafe also viewed

 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing