We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Noisy Place To Stay”
Review of Hostal Colonial

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cuenca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Colonial
Ranked #17 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Reviewed February 1, 2014

There are about 8-10 rooms around a central courtyard in this very old building, located only a few blocks from the main cathedral and square in the Old Colonial section of town. The furniture, plants, etc. make this place look charming. But because everything is old, the floors squeak, the furniture squeaks, and lots of noise comes in from the outside - especially since most of the rooms are on the street. The hotel is near a corner, so you get the street noise from 2 streets. And there are car alarms and building alarms going off all night, as well as people walking by on the streets talking and laughing. The included breakfast was a joke; a cup of coffee, a glass of juice, and an old, stale roll with butter and jam. The cost for this was $45 per night, which I thought was overpriced. They had good internet, and cable TV but hardly any English channels. The staff was friendly but spoke no English.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank GypsyMaryRVTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 26 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

Everything was acceptable and the staff was friendly. The room with the balcony and loft was charming and reasonably clean.

The only issue was that our mold allergies hit us. So, like most of the hostels we stayed in while in Ecuador, there are probably some moisture problems with the drains or water pipes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were recommend this hotel by the Tourist office in the Cuenca Airport. We paid around 40 us dollars for one night stay including one free breakfast.The staff was generally friendly and helpful. The building is a bit old but comfortable, has character and wall painting murals.They have Wifi access.Bring your own lap top.It was a cool night but we had blankets that kept us warm. The hotel was clean and we had hot showers. No Complaints.We will come back here again soon! Well worth the 40 dollars for a couple. It is a few blocks from the enter square where you can take a 90 minute bus tour for 5 dollars each

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We moved to this place after seeing the state of the one we had previously booked. Loved it on first sight - bright, cheerful, lovely man on reception (no English, but he was very eager to please). He showed us room after room until he was sure we had the right one. Great size, lovely balcony that overlooks the plaza and church. Location was brilliant, easy walk to everything we wanted to see. Breakfast was included and was basic, but nice. We paid an extra dollar on our last morning to get eggs with it before a long bus journey.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony overlooking the plaza was little noisy, but worth putting up with
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STELLA08Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Luigi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank silviao365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Val65Voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.3 mi away
Pepe"s House
Pepe"s House
#5 of 81 in Cuenca
16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#3 of 62 in Cuenca
462 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#14 of 62 in Cuenca
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 62 in Cuenca
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#46 of 62 in Cuenca
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Colonial

Address: Grand Colombia 10 y 13 | Padre Aguirre, Cuenca, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing