We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lunch”

El Maiz Restaurante
Order Online
Ranked #22 of 724 Restaurants in Cuenca
Price range: $1 - $8
Cuisines: Ecuadorean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

After visiting the Pumapunga, we had a wonderful lunch of tamalis and empanadas.

The tamali plate came with a nice variety of 4 different tamalis, all very good. The empanadas plate had three items, two with meat and one with cheese. The dough was a Philo type that was taste.

The ambience and cleanliness we're outstanding as was the service

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank RonB717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 169 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2018

El Maiz was one of the first restaurants I visited during a recent trip to Cuenca. it's tucked near the end of Calle Larga. I expected that it might be busy even on a weeknight but I arrived in the early evening and had the place to myself. The waiter was very helpful and service was prompt, The restaurant features popular Ecuadorian (and Cuenca) cuisine and even has a selection of beer from a local microbrewery. The food was fabulous and the prices very reasonable. The restaurant is within walking distance of the Pumapungo museum and archeological park as well as other attractions in the historic section of Cuenca. Take a stroll, visit a museum and have a great dinner.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank ohioabogado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

from the great service to the magnificent food we enjoyed our experience at El Maiz! we are very picky when choosing a restaurant specially if it is a place we ve never been before, and we loved it! terrific customer service :) the waiter even called us a taxi!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ixpanpajul123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica D, Gerente at El Maiz Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018
Google Translation

Muchas Gracias por su comentario, es gratificante sus palabras e impulso para continuar brindando la mejor atención como se merecen nuestros turistas que visitan el país y asi crecer día a día.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018

Not just Cuenca food -- dishes from other areas of the country too, nicely prepared, with attentive service and fair prices in a comfortable setting that feels like a prosperous hacienda.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank AnywhereBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2018 via mobile

We went here with our guide so didn’t know what to expect. We sat outside on the terrace and the food was fantastic, in fact I enjoyed my main dish more than at Mercado. We had cheese and potato soup, empanada and then grilled chicken with the most delicious sauce. The owner is delightful and this is a place you must visit.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank chelmer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Maiz Restaurante also viewed

 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to El Maiz Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing