We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRADITIONAL FOOD”

El Maiz Restaurante
Ranked #30 of 530 Restaurants in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $8
Cuisines: Ecuadorean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Restaurante El Maíz se encuentra localizado en el emblemático sector de El Barranco, con acceso hacia la calle Larga, una de las arterias más importantes de la historia de Cuenca y cerca de sitios esplendorosos, museos, iglesias y centros culturales que hacen de Cuenca la Atenas del Ecuador y Patrimonio Cultural de la Humanidad. La casa donde se encuentra Restaurante El Maíz es una edificación patrimonial típica de la era republicana, en la que se perciben elementos fundamentales de la arquitectura cuencana reconocida como original y particularmente bella en el país y el mundo. La edificación es así atractiva y esplendente como muestra de la hospitalidad y buen gusto que caracteriza a los habitantes de nuestra ciudad. El visitante encuentra en El Maíz un lugar en donde degusta deliciosos platos en una atmósfera definida por los detalles arquitectónicos propios de la cuencanidad, con elementos artísticos, ornamentales y paisajísticos que encantan a quien busca un sitio donde comer es
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“TRADITIONAL FOOD”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have been to this restaurant a few times and always ended up eating "Cuy". At this time we haven't found another Ecuadorian restaurant that serves this traditional dish so well! This time we tried some other typical dishes but this time the restaurant couldn't surprise us. When we go back it will be for the pig.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Etienne2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RESTAURANTE E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Maiz Restaurante, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario. Le esperamos para que pruebe nuestros nuevos platos, le va a encantar. Estaremos gustosos por atenderle :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    51
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oeiras, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good all around restuarant with local food”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had 4 alcoholic drinks, 2 waters, lomo fino, and 3 orders of fried trout for $54. All the food was very good. We'll definately return. Good ambiance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Traditional Cuencana Cuisine Plus Fusion”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

El Maiz promises to evoke the sacred grain of the Incas in a fusion of traditional Cuencan cuisine with the newer trends.

After visiting the Pumapungo archeological site and the Cultural Museum, I was walking back to the centro in search of a light lunch when I passed El Maiz and was caught by the menu offering a tasting plate of traditional Cuencan cuisine.

So much for a light lunch. Two could easily share the Picada Cuencana. While not the cheapest almuerzo around, the prices are cheap for the elegant decor and excellent service.

The apple Yaguana de Mamá (a traditional Cuencan drink, apparently) wasn't anything my mother made, but it was a great drink to wash down the heavy food. I hope I find it again, somewhere. Elegantly presented, as well.

The Picada Cuencana (pictured) consisted of pequeñas porciones de moto pillo, papas chauchas con salsa de pepa de sambo, habas con queso, dos tortillas de maiz, y tres empanadas de viento.

Yaguana de Mamá to drink. Mmmmm.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoNomadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Delicious regional food”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

El Maiz, carved out of an old house, was recommended by the staff at the nearby Central Bank Museum. It was a terrific suggestion. El Maiz offers a range of tasty, typical Cuenca foods. My wife's mote pillo (hominy with cheese and egg) was flavorful and a guaranteed way to leave this friendly restaurant pleasantly full. I enjoyed my well-seasoned bowl of pea soup. An entree of braised goat with assorted vegetables was just outstanding; the meat very tender after hours of slow cooking in a wonderful herb broth. Service was efficient and quick. This is a restaurant we will return to on our next visit to Cuenca.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NMDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fine Ecuadorian dining in Cuenca”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This restaurant in a lovely old rambling home overlooking the river is a bit away from the mainstream of the Cuenca's Centro but worth the walk! Nicely decorated and furnished, with gracious, friendly service, the food was a delightful and creative fusion of traditional Ecuadorian dishes with International tastes, beautifully presented. Prices were reasonable, too. If we lived in Cuenca, we'd eat here regularly!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Maiz Restaurante also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to El Maiz Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing