We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Spot”
Review of El Tunel

El Tunel
Ranked #89 of 729 Restaurants in Cuenca
Cuisines: Ecuadorean
Restaurant details
Reviewed February 1, 2019 via mobile

Scored one of the last tables in this small, yet charming restaurant. I arrived for an almuerzo which was served almost immediately! The carrot soup was delicious and the chicken was quite moist and flavorful. Service was very efficient. It seemed to serve a local professional crowd (most people were dressed for office-type jobs).

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank backpacker31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 51 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

We looked forward to eating here after reading all the good reviews. It's true the food was cheap and good however our lovely waitress who greeted us and started to serve us was yelled at right infront of us by what seem like an a young stressed out guy who must have been her boss. She was trying her best to keep up with the lunch time rush but still got yelled and sworn at in front of everyone and very rudely told to go elsewhere to serve. That same guy then started to serve us and totally ruined the atmosphere. He was so nasty to her I lost my appetite! As we left we told an older gentleman who charged us for the food how great the service by the waitress had been and he proceeded to say "yes, well she better!". Which made me realise the problem is with all of the management at this restaurant. If they treat them like this infront of customers what must it be like when they're alone. They should really get more waiters to keep up with the rush and treat their staff better.

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank KnJDoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

We had lunch at this place when we were in Cuenca. For $2.75, we got a juice, salad, chicken or beef, rice, and a dessert (rice pudding)! We paid $8 for lunch, including beer, for two people! I know things are cheaper in Cuenca but how can you keep things at such a low price?! But I am not complaining. The food is clean and tasty. The portions are not particularly large, but I view that as a good thing -- too often the portions are too big in Ecuador, with lots of carbs. The small room at the top floor has a view of the church across the street too. Really a nice and inexpensive place to get some decent food.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank howiewu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2018 via mobile

We ate here a couple times during our stay in Cuenca but could have happily returned everyday. We had the menu del dia for lunch which only cost $2.75 and included soup, a main, dessert and a juice. The quality and service was outstanding.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2018

White table clothes for under $3. Pleasant service, great crevice, soup always hot and I could go on and on.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jrickert4663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tunel also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to El Tunel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing