We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moliendo cafe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moliendo Cafe

Moliendo Cafe
Ranked #8 of 487 Restaurants in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, South American, Colombian, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Azogues, Ecuador
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Moliendo cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The place was busy when we visited for lunch on a Saturday. The atmosphere was really nice and the staff very friendly. The food itself was delicious but there are many Colombian dishes missing from the menu. The place does have a nice menu and taste for South American palates.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike_n_Stace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    65
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Doesn't look like much from the exterior...HOWEVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We ate here last night with a friend who recommended it. I ordered the Moliendo Cafe Arepa and another friend got the Chicharron, both of which were excellent. The vibe was relaxed and family oriented. The owner was a very welcoming guy and he made the meal that much better. This is a prime restaurant in a prime location and the prices are very cheap for the quality you receive. A Cuenca MUST!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A jewel of a find in D/T Cuenca”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

"Peregringo" and I had read the name of El Moliendo Cafe in an Ecuador guide but promptly pushed it to the back of our minds. Wandering the streets on a Saturday seeking a place to dine after visiting the Pumapungo museum and gardens and tiny bird rescue center, we were disappointed to find many of the choices we sought completely closed. On the way back toward the square to repeat a restaurant we had already visited, we stumbled around a corner to land right in front of El Moliendo Cafe, completely packed. A good sign. But someone quickly left and we were seated by the owner, a Colombian, ordered with his assistance, and were treated with a scrumptious home-style Colombian meal, amply served and savory to boot.

As I was sojourning for a few days in Bogota on return, he gave me the names of three typical dishes that I should not miss in Colombia, which I did try, and must agree that they were first rate.
Simple, flavorful fare. Varied choices, and we hear the coffee is fabulous as well although we did not partake.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mexdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“Absolutely amazing! (GF heaven)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have a story to tell. I have been into El Moliendo at least five times. Every time has been absolutely delicious, but this time blew them all away. During my last trip to El Moliendo, I saw another couple order the Chicken and Mushroom Arepa. It looked absolutely but had a thick sauce that the owner's wife said included wheat. Sadly, I am gluten free and would not be able to try it, but that did not stop me from asking the amazingly kind and accomodating owner to possibly make me a special. I asked if they could make me this dish within the wheat and they were more than happy to help. The owner's wife herself threw me together a dish very quickly that consisted of the arepa tortilla, onions, peppers, mushrooms, and chicken. At first I was disappointed that there was no sauce, but after asking for a bit of cheese and digging in, my taste buds were on overdrive. The vegetables were cooked perfectly and were very well seasoned. Everything was fresh, especially the cheese. Although it may not have been traditional Columbian, this plate was exactly what I needed. It was hearty and oh-so-comforting. Eaten with a hot glass of "cedron" tea (lemon verbana) and followed with a gluten free milk and coconut cookie, this was definitely my best culinary experience in Ecuador, and I really don't think anything will top it. For only $4 in total, it's an absolute steal! I'll be going back tomorrow for one last meal before I head home. I even recommended to the owner that he menu!
If I could, I would give this restaurant 10 stars. Great service, great atmosphere, great people, great prices, and most importantly great food!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ollantaytambo, Peru
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value and Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I eat in this place daily. It is under $4 with a drink and a full plate. Generous portions. I never can finish the plate. Owner is attentive and kind. It is always full so get there early. Share your table with other people so they can have a sit down as well. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SingleNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moliendo Cafe also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to Moliendo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing