We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Find but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gastro Todosantos

Gastro Todosantos
Ranked #49 of 496 Restaurants in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: International, Fusion, Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: At the heart of Cuenca, on the banks of the Tomebamba River, nestled in the Barranco with a spectaculat view of the city, full of history, culture and spirituality you will find GASTRO TODOSANTOS RESTAURANT, place where the heritage atmosphere and traditional Cuenca cuisine merges.
Glen Allen,VA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hard to Find but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Best restaurant we ate at in 14 days. A little hard to find, but

Food was great, all home grown & natural.

The chef even came to our table

Look for the side door on the church on the east end or Calle Largo & watch you head going in

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieRVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    31
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marvelous food and great setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We had a marvelous lunch here. The chef, Maricio, took our order. He was very helpful with suggestions that fit our preferences. The service was great, the food was an excellent value. The setting in La Iglesia Todos Santos is wonderful, dining room is downstairs on the lower level. I think it is a restaurant to not be missed in Cuenca. There are 4,000 taxis in Cuenca. Not every driver knows every restaurant. Be sure to have the address written down, the entrance on Calle Larga is just a doorway with a sign.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ezeeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was one of those experiences that just doesn't compute. I was out for a late afternoon walk while my husband napped and wandered in from the Calle Larga street level. Apparently this is about 3 stories above the Todos Santos (All Saints) church on the river level, because the taxi driver later tried to take us there rather than the restaurant. The first room I encountered was an amazing bakery run by the nuns who own the property. They use a wood-fired oven and one of the assistant chefs showed me that it was still warm. He took me into the restaurant and my first impression was that this would be a high priced experience. When I asked to look at the menu, it was a shock to see that most of the entrée prices were about $10. We returned for dinner and found the food to be excellent, with a fantastic view over the river. Mauricio, the head chef , takes the orders himself and is very friendly. One of his biggest problems seems to be a disagreement with the nuns about the necessity to have a bar - so there is no wine list, but I did manage to get a glass of Chilean wine with a very good local trout. It was a very pleasant dinner, although not particularly local - all of the other patrons seemed to be gringos. In a town where local holes-in-the-wall have $3 meals, these prices may be too high, even though they were incredibly cheap to us for the quality of the meal and experience we received.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redheadengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Chef, Wonderful View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Mauricio, the chef at Todos Santos, is congenial, knowledgeable, and talented. Trained in Chicago at an Italian restaurant, Mauricio knows good pasta, and it shows. The chicken in salsa de tomate de arbol (sauce made with tree tomato, a tangy local fruit) sauce is delicious. I've also enjoyed the seafood risotto at Todos Santos.

The dining room sits at the bottom of a narrow staircase inside a convent, and overlooks the Tomebamba River - the view is gorgeous. Mauricio grows many of the herbs and vegetables that he uses in the kitchen in his own garden on the premises. Everything is fresh here.

The service is sometimes unattentive, which can be frustrating (I knocked off one star for this). But overall, I enjoy Todos Santos and will return again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaisaContento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Azuay, Ecuador
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Located in Inglesa Todosantos over looking the River Tomabamba you will find a taste with a tasteful resturant and bakery with genial chef who will explain the menu selections to you.. Romantic setting. The steak and fries were very good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Homer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastro Todosantos also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to Gastro Todosantos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing