We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap rooms in a central location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Del Rio

Posada Del Rio
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Del Rio
Ranked #30 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Level Contributor
104 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Cheap rooms in a central location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

It does the job. $7 per night for a bed in a 5 person dorm, with free Wi-Fi. Common area with TV and also use of the kitchen. Location is in the middle of town, close to the river, but also right by the main nightlife, so this place can get pretty loud at the weekend. Much cheaper than other options. I'd recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thecuriouswolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
3
13
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hostal is centrally located. I stayed there three nights. The two women (and one fella) that run the place are friendly and are perpetually doing their best to keep the hostal clean and homey. The dorm room I stayed in on the second floor did not have bunk beds (bonus). The kitchen had everything needed to cook a nice meal. Because there are no shortage of hostals in Cuenca, this place does it's best to supply a clean room that is centrally located at a great price.

Room Tip: Since this hostal is near to the main drag, it can be a bit loud at night. With ear plugs, the dorm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here for four nights and really liked it. The owners are friendly and helpful. I'm not sure, if they speak english as we communicated in spanish.
We were two, but they gave us the triple room at the upper floor (Cutucu) - for the price of a double. As that room is facing the backyard, it's quited without the street noise. The squeaky wooden floor also wasn't a big issue here over night. The room itselfs was clean and simple. It was cleaned every day and the beds are reasonably comfortable.
The shared bathroom was clean. The shower was hot most of the times - if you open the knob fully. The kitchen was clean and equipped as expected. Despite the fridge was really full, it was clean and not smelly, they also have a working freezer. They also have warm/hot water for doing the dishes.
The big living room has DirectTV, two big sofas, some tables (a little ramshackly) for eating and a computer. The WiFi is best here, but it worked in our room also. Unfortunately the speed of the internet connection is not the best - sometimes it really sucks.
Alltogether we enjoyed our stay and would go back again. Clearly a recommendation.

Room Tip: I would go for the rooms on the upper floor, next to the bathroom. They are facing the backyard and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grmpfhmbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

This hostal is in an old family home located right off of Calle Larga, so you are close to restaurants and bars, and not far from the center of town. The rooms are basic with shared baths, around a central courtyard which does carry the noise of everyone coming and going.

There is a small shared kitchen and a living room where you can watch videos or use their computer to upload photos or catch up. There is free WIFI in most of the hostal, but it doesn't work in the more remote rooms. The sisters who run the place are very helpful and completely trustworthy, they are studying English but it is best to communicate in Spanish. We opted to have them provide us with breakfast every day, which was great: lots of fresh local fruit, local cheese, bread, eggs, fresh juice and coffee.

While we were there, there was an unending stream of people knocking on the door looking for a place to stay who were all turned away, so if you are traveling during peak season make a reservation in advance

Room Tip: Rooms right next to a bathroom are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fingerlakes_Express
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

I ended up living in Cuenca for 3 months and working. I was staying here when I first got to Cuenca and loved it so much that I never ended up looking for an apartment. I had my own room for $7 with a shared bath. Almost always hot water, great kitchen with utilities, best internet I have had in a hostel, great sitting room with tv and lots of movies to choose from, and superb location! The two sisters who run it are very nice and are always around to help you with anything. The keep the hostel so clean that you almost don't want to do anything to dirty it up! The only negative thing I can say about this hostel (although I don't want to) is that the floors are really squeaky and you hear everyone walking around. But other than that this hostel was great enough for me to live in for 3 months!

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs dorms if you want a dorm. They are the same price and are not bunk beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmahin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

I went straight to this hostel based on recommendations in travel guides (printed and online) but only stayed one night because it just seemed overpriced for the value received. A small room with shared bath costs $12 and with very little looking around the same neighborhood in Cuenca I was able to find several other options for $10 or less with private bathroom and Wi-Fi. Granted, Posada Del Rio is a beautiful building inside and out, reasonably clean, and the ladies (sisters) who run it are professional and helpful... but the very creaky floors and layout made for a noisy environment, plus the Wi-Fi was very weak for some reason and did not reach my room (only 20 feet from the router/modem).

I thought the common area was nice, a spacious area with several tables and a tiny balcony overlooking Calle Hermano Miguel, and the kitchen was fairly well equipped, except no kettle for boiling water. Also I think the security seemed alright, but other hostels I found nearby for less money were as secure or more so... some places had a full time watch on their doors and noone could enter or leave without being "buzzed" in or out by a staff member.

Bottom line, Posada Del Rio is a fair deal, but if you are watching your pennies you might want to cruise up and down Hermano Miguel, Larga, Antonio Borrero, and Honorato Vasquez and check out the numerous other hostals in this prime location, many of which don't appear on the internet or in printed guides. Enjoy Cuenca!

Room Tip: If you need Wi-Fi in your room, test first. Noise level probably equal in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken_M_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Casa del Barranco
Hostal Casa del Barranco
#12 of 69 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Yakumama
Hostal Yakumama
#11 of 69 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa Cuencana
La Casa Cuencana
#10 of 69 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mallki Hostel
Mallki Hostel
#16 of 69 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Del Rio

Property: Posada Del Rio
Address: Hermano Miguel 4-18 y Calle Larga, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Posada Del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing