We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, reminded us of home”
Review of San Sebas Cafe

San Sebas Cafe
Ranked #9 of 529 Restaurants in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Open Wednesday through Sunday 8:30am - 3:00pm. Offering Great American Breakfasts and Daily Gourmet Sandwich and Salad Specials. Always Serving Organic Coffee Roasted Fresh Weekly. Come Relax, and Enjoy Our Tranquil Atmosphere and Views of the Gorgeous San Sebastian Park.
Normal, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food, reminded us of home”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Although we usually try to eat local cuisine when traveling we were craving vegetables. San Sebas was just the place! I had vegetable soup and my husband had a quesadilla. With a bottle of water we paid $9. Although expensive for Ecuador, the food was very good and we enjoyed sitting for over an hour. Although it may not be the most authentic stop in town we would definitely recommend it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachmishon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    126
    31
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A delicious muesli with jugo”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

After our visit to the Museo del arte moderno we had a small lunch and I chose Muesli with jog hurt and fruits and a jugo. Delicious! The ambiente and service are also great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trotamundos57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A winner!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We so enjoyed our brunch on Saturday at San Sebas Café. It was our first time there, and our friends Randy and Karen invited us. Thanks guys! Really lovely renovation adjacent to the San Sebastian Church. I had salad...fresh greens, avocado, goat cheese, grape tomatoes...a salad made special with addition of black beans and pumpkin seeds, topped with grilled chicken. Karen had some oatmeal pancakes, Randy the bacon and egg breakfast, and my husband Ken had chili, made special over brown rice. Service is so friendly, it's a pleasure to recommend San Sebas.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kmarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good place for Austin, Tx coffee house feel”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I liked San Sebas and would definitely return. It really is an expanded coffee house that offers great burgers and North American fare. Good place for a rendezvous with a Spanish teacher other to share a cappucino or for brunch on a slow Sunday. Primarily breakfast and lunch menu. On a lovely little plaza (San Sebastian) with an outdoor seating option.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenlang_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pancakes”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I go here with my husband when I feel like some really decadent pancakes. I love the cinnamon pancakes. They are filling and enough to share. Make sure you have a physical day planned after eating this delicious meal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Sebas Cafe also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to San Sebas Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing