We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and value”
Review of Hotel Los Balcones

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Los Balcones
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great service and value”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Located in the middle of the old city, Los Balcones is a great, affordable option. And the friendly, accommodating staff could not have been more helpful, including arranging dinners and day tours, and even serving as guide for one of said tours.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLosBalcones, at Hotel Los Balcones, responded to this review, March 16, 2015
Google Translation
Estimado David. Gracias por enviarnos su opinión y por hacernos saber que apreció la atención del personal en todo momento y en todos los departamentos del hotel. Estarán encantados de leer sus comentarios ya que a diario intentan que cada cliente tenga una estancia maravillosa.
Un saludo.
Paolo Echeverría R., Administrador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    87
    21
    2
    5
See reviews for
99
199
54
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pahrump, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I spent 10 days at the Hotel Los Balcones in April 2014. What a marvelous hotel! Beautiful building at a great location – 10 minutes walk to the New Cathedral of Cuenca, about 2 minutes walk from a great market where you can buy anything from fresh produce to meat to handicrafts to furniture. The staff at the hotel were fabulous! Warm, helpful, with a genuine ‘person to person’ feel. Most everyone there speaks some English, so if your Spanish is lacking, as mine is, you can still get by. Jonathan and Belen attending the reception area have both lived in the US and are very fluent. Genaro (also with time lived in the US) – what a waiter! Excellent English and a warm, charming manner. You lack for nothing when he is serving you. My first dinner there he brought out the chef & introduced him – nice touch! The food is great with a wide variety of choices. The owners are friendly folks and usually on site. They want you to be happy & if you need anything, just ask.
When I next return to Cuenca, this will be my hotel. I look forward to seeing my new Ecuadoran friends again!
Highly recommended – you’ll love it!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

When you walk in you are totally surprised and in awe of the courtyard at this hotel. The staff are amazing and speak English flawlessly. The room was so nice...we had the front corner room that overlooked the intersection...the breakfast was nice and the food excellent. It was in close range of the City square and a number of very nice restaurants. The funny thing about the rooms was the shower (you will see!) but it worked just fine and you had plenty of hot water! Also, when our tour guide showed up, he told us that he had actually grown up in this house as it was in his family's for over two hundred years...now that was just amazing! Overall, great local hotel that give you the flavor of what it was like to live in a Spanish Colonial house.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I booked this hotel based on a few reviews on TripAdvisor, and then csancelled it when I thought I wouldn't be able to get to Cuenca that day. I did, in fact, make it and showed up about 10 PM hoping for the best. The reservation had been cancelled (at no cost, as advertised), but they did have a room. I mention this because the first room was not all that great. Comfortable, but small and with a problem with the hot water. The next morning they changed me (at their suggestion) to another room for the same price that was VERY nice, with a little balcony and plenty of water. The staff were all pleasant and very helpful, breakfast was tasty and complete, and I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone who has little extra to spend.There are certainly cheaper places to stay in Cuenca, but not with the level of comfort and service you will find here.
I did not eat in the restaurant, but the dishes I saw looked appetizing and reasonably priced.
Location is great, and the staff all speak English for the spanish-challenged!
They were very helpful with suggestions and assistance with my other travel plans

I would happily stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are not to noisy, as traffic dies down at night. The pillows on the bed are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptDaveBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We have just stayed for 4 nights and wish we had booked to stay longer in Cuenca and at this hotel. All of the staff were just lovely, extremely friendly, helpful and hardworking. We also met the delightful owners and it is a really nice family run hotel. The room we had was beautifully decorated and spacious. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone. Stay here you won't regret it.

Room Tip: We had room 9 which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anj_Ahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is an amazing find in Cuenca. Travelled with my parents and my kids. The rooms are so beautifully decorated and so spacious, the staff was so kind to our family and so helpful. Wonderful food !. Very reasonable priced rooms. The location is perfect, walk to everything. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. Even got to meet the owner who was so friendly. This place is amazing !!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aae68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Staff were of great help for making our 4 days stay a remarkable experience. Be sure to pick a room with good view. Strategically located at the old side of the city, five bolcks from Parque Calderon. I took my grandmothers, dad, mom, wife and kids and they all loved it so you can say it's very likely that this colonial hotel meets several tastes.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mnegronv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
438 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
728 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#6 of 60 in Cuenca
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
0.3 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#15 of 60 in Cuenca
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Balcones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Balcones

Property: Hotel Los Balcones
Address: Presidente Borrero 12-08 y Gaspar Sangurima esquina, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Los Balcones 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Balcones Hotel is located in the center of Cuenca, to 10 minutes of Mariscal Lamar Airport.Our rooms are designed with fine details, each different and equipped with the requerments os a first-class hotel in a unique colonial setting.Sole Mio works in the central courtyard of the Hotel Boutique Los Balcones, which highlights the magnificent decor and atmosphere. The restaurant combines traditional Ecuadorian culinary trends with finest Italian cuisine, thus providing unique flavors. With ingredients imported and region, always emphasizing the sublime in our menu to the taste of our customers... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Los Balcones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing