We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel”
Review of Hotel Los Balcones

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Los Balcones
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this charming hotel. They say it is where old style and new amenities meet, we found this to be true. the roof-top breakfast room was wonderful

The staff at this hotel are wonderful, everyone was very friendly and polite. Everyone spoke English, some were fluent.

The location is only a few blocks from the town center, you can reach any place in the old town area on foot.

Room Tip: Choose the third floor (no elevator) for the best view and a little less traffic noise. Buy a hat t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 460 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is a charming hotel in the heart of historic Cuenca. The hotel building itself is historic, and the central courtyard is both attractive and insures that all the rooms do indeed have balconies with views onto the street. An extra sound-resistant glass door covered our balcony exit, which did help block noise. The buffet breakfast was good, and served in a very bright room on the top floor. The staff were very friendly, and the hotel is walking distance to Cuenca's most popular destinations. The restaurant only serves dinner once/week (lunch daily) and this was a minor downside.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivansamuels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Staff is friendly and helpful; convenient location. Room 7 is 2BD/2BA with full kitchen. We didn't need that much room, but we ended up using the full suite to explore which bedroom was most quiet. Suite was given at the same price for a standard room (not sure how my husband did that). The full kitchen (with dorm room size fridge) was convenient since we prefer groceries over restaurants. Third floor patio is wonderful for chilling, reading, etc., and that's also where breakfast is served. Breakfast is nothing special, just convenient to eat there. Only complaint is that the wooden floor boards creak and squeak with every step, including in the common areas of the hotel--so others walking by your room can be heard inside as can the footsteps of anyone else in your room. Also any activity in the lobby where the restaurant is located (dishes, vacuum, telephone, tv) can be heard in room 7 and probably the other rooms on the second floor. The staff muted the tv anytime I asked. The noises give the hotel character, but can be disruptive if you need to nap or sleep during the day. At night, the place was mostly quiet--distant barking dogs, street noise, the hotel's doorbell. Clean, comfy, attentive staff, bargain price. Housekeeper was quite sweet.
BONUS: if you tip the front desk attendant, he will let you use the hotel's laundry machines at night. We did not try the restaurant. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for Jonathan and perhaps a little tip for him.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebunnyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This quint boutique hotel is built around an interior courtyard. it is beautiful with polished wood floors, interesting decorations, and warm cozy rooms. Our room had a lovely balcony overlooking part of the town. The bed was comfortable. The shower was awesome. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast which was served in an upstairs, glass enclosed patio. The hotel is located in the center of the city.
The owners and staff were terrific. My husband left his camera in the room after we checked out. They shipped the camera to us in the states. Truly wonderful people!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor as you can see more from your balcony than from rooms on a lower flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesnaDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for a few days while visiting Cuenca. The night we arrived we were thrilled to find such a beautiful and quaint hotel in the city center. This is definitely a colonial-style boutique hotel, with lovely decorations and atmosphere, and cozy warm rooms. The staff was excellent and very friendly and helped us to the private parking area near the hotel. We stayed in a 3 bed room, which included one full bed, and 2 single beds. There was a great view out the front balcony of the city below and beautiful wooden furniture and floors.

The on-site restaurant is was very good, and affordable, and breakfast came with the rooms. We had no issues with our room although the other couple had difficulties with the hot water at times. The hotel was centrally located and within easy walking distance of churches, museums, parks, etc.

The only issue I noted was the noise, mostly from the hotel, as in inside lobby opened up to the upper floors, so all rooms basically overlooked the lobby. Any noise from the hotel (phones, crying babies, conversations and such) were easy to hear from the room, which was occasionally a problem during the middle of the day (siesta) or in the early morning. But overall our stay was lovely and I would consider staying here again for the wonderful price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hmm6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is an excellent option in Cuenca. Very nicely restored. Rooms are well kept. The staff goes over and above expectations. The breakfast was much better than most places we’ve stayed. The location can’t be beat as it is central to everything. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hansi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I am in full agreement with the other reviewers. This charming, first class hotel, in a wonderful location was a fantastic surprise. After two sleepless nights in another noisy hotel close by, which was more hostel than hotel, I went to Trip Advisor for some sound advice for a one night respite. The only regret we have is that we didn't come here sooner. Gorgeous hardwood floors, draperies that you would expect to find in a four star hotel, a staff that speaks english, plush bedding, TV that has at least 30 US and Canadian channels, and impeccable decor....it all adds up to a fabulous stay. As the name suggests, we had a balcony off our room with a beautiful view of the cathedral. Trust me on this and stop looking, this place is truly special.

Room Tip: We had room 9. Corner room with gorgeous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megoreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#3 of 62 in Cuenca
456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 62 in Cuenca
370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#14 of 62 in Cuenca
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#7 of 62 in Cuenca
240 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 62 in Cuenca
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Balcones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Balcones

Address: Presidente Borrero 12-08 y Gaspar Sangurima esquina, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range: $58 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Los Balcones 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Balcones Hotel is located in the center of Cuenca, to 10 minutes of Mariscal Lamar Airport.Our rooms are designed with fine details, each different and equipped with the requerments os a first-class hotel in a unique colonial setting.Sole Mio works in the central courtyard of the Hotel Boutique Los Balcones, which highlights the magnificent decor and atmosphere. The restaurant combines traditional Ecuadorian culinary trends with finest Italian cuisine, thus providing unique flavors. With ingredients imported and region, always emphasizing the sublime in our menu to the taste of our customers... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Los Balcones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing