We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotels with fabulous staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Los Balcones

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Los Balcones
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotels with fabulous staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is everything everyone is saying it is. What stands out is the service. We arrived without a reservation and the bilingual staff made us feel very welcome. They offered us a room - one of the few times we have had a room with a double bed AND two twin beds for our kids (usually one of our kids has to sleep on the floor). They brought us chocolates and offered us complimentary coffee or wine in the evening.

The included breakfast was quite good as well.

Our room, which faced the street was a bit noisy in the early morning but very quiet all night. When we were there the hotel was installing new sound proof windows so it should be even quieter now.

It's a short walk to the center of town where you will find restaurants, etc.

One caution... Since the hotel is relatively new, no taxi driver or anyone we asked in town knew where it was. Be sure you have the address if you are arriving by bus or plan to take a taxi from bus station or airport. Literally no one knew where it was located and we did not have the address so we had to stop somewhere to get an Internet connection to find it!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLosBalcones, Gerente at Hotel Los Balcones, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Stacy
We want to thank you for choosing us for your stay at the lovely city of Cuenca.
It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, we hope to see you again.
This will always be your home away from home.

Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    82
    21
    1
    5
See reviews for
90
181
50
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

This place is an excelent location, but can be rather noisy at night both from street noise and internal noise (the restaurant inside has live music at times and can get a bit loud at night.) THe room is nice although the double bed was two beds put together and had a crack. The hotel and restaurant staff are all extremely nice. We loved the shower 0 it has a wide overhead shower head, lots of shower attachments on the side, and a working radio inside the shower - you can even change the color of the lights in the shower.

WE have friends who live in the area and they were shocked to find out the price of this place; they said that we could get much better deals in town; so you might want to look around before reserving this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLosBalcones, Gerente at Hotel Los Balcones, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Maggie
We want to thank you for choosing us for your stay at the lovely city of Cuenca.
It is nice to know that enjoyed your stay at the hotel, we hope to see you soon.
This will always be your home aways from home.

Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We booked here at the last minute after changing our travel plans and not being able to secure additional nights at a hotel which we already had comfirmed reservations. I am so glad we did!! This place is gorgeous!! Everyone is so friendly and anxious to please and make sure that you are taken care of...From the moment we walked through the door and was greeted by Henry, we felt taken care of. Our bags were taken to our room and Henry showed us around. I felt in love with the room from the beginning. It does not feel like your usual impersonal and sterile hotel room but like you are in the home of a friend or relative. The shower itself is a treat and I have never used anything like it...but it has me wanting to see if I can refit my shower at home. Our room is located on the front of the hotel with a balcony and I plan to pose for pictures on it before we leave. My only regret is that I could not stay the additional two nights we are here in Cuenca. You can have no qualms about booking here...you will love it..It is a short walk from Central Plaza and many restaurants within a few feet away . We liked one so much where we ate dinner until we returned there the next day for lunch (Las Campanos)- check it out. if you stay. 3.00 buys you a complete lunch Ecuadorian style which includes delicious soup, rice, chicken, side of tomatoe, potatoe and a dessert and beverage. It seemed to be a favorite of the locals for their noon day meal. Unfortunately, we did not get a chance to sample the hotel restaurant as it is only open Thursday to Sunday. You will not regret making this your stay while here in Cuenca whether its only for a few days or months. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: If you prefer not to hear the noise from the street below, ask for a suit on the back side of hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank castle02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLosBalcones, Gerente at Hotel Los Balcones, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We want to thank you for choosing us for your stay at the lovely city of Cuenca.
It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
We hope to see you again.

Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

I was sick and everyone at the hotel was so concerned and helpfull. Sending me to the local clinic for treatment. If ever in Cuenca again this is my hotel. I rate this hotel a five star due to the hotel staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 52970Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLosBalcones, Gerente at Hotel Los Balcones, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for choosing us for your stay at the lovely city of Cuenca.
We hope to see you again.
It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giron, ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

We had to stay here because our baby was operated on in the city. They were very understanding, even had a play pen for him to sleep in. Also, in the eating area they have a highchair. Many restaurants in Cuenca don't recognize babies too much, so it was nice to have these special items. Food was amazing at California Kitchen too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carrie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLosBalcones, Gerente at Hotel Los Balcones, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Carrie
We want to thank you for choosing us for your stay at the lovely city of Cuenca.
It is so nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you again.

Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

These guys are trying their best to provide a perfect experience. We booked at the last minute through a booking company, not expedia which showed it sold out. Any how, supper attractive, courtyard arrangement, with three floors of rooms arranged around the courtyard. Our room was delightful, spacious and ample size. Could eat off the floors. Booked a double but got three beds. Flat Screen with lots of English chanels, but no CNN English. A funny little shower, nice toiletries. Big filtered water containers to refill your water bottles, and a chocolate treat to boot. Spotless. A few issues Only provides one roll of tp, which always leaves me insecure, but staff happy to provide more. In house restaurant only open thurs and weekend. Super quiet during the week,then music and sounds of food and frivolity fill the courtyard. Unfortunately for us the restaurant had run out of fish leaving only meat choices which I don't eat, so we wandered out for dinner. If you wanted to go to sleep before 9 on those nights, I think you might become frustrated. Conviently located without being right downtown. Although centro pretty quiet, too. One bed was kind of hard. Other comfy.

Also can link you to a friendly, helpful cab driver, Franklin, for exploring outside of town. Town itself very walk able

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLosBalcones, Gerente at Hotel Los Balcones, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Nancy
It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again.
Thank you for choosing us for your stay at the lovely city of Cuenca.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Fuerte, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed 6 nights at this hotel. When I was looking for a place to stay in Cuenca, I wanted a hotel where I felt safe that offered a taste of Ecuador. This is exactly what we received at Hotel Los Balcones.
This hotel is amazing and a huge improvement over the one we spent a week at in Quito which was expensive and proved to be a disappointment (see my other review for details). Los Balcones was a house and the building is over 100 years old. It is located in Cuenca within easy walking distance to the local historic sites, restaurants, parks, and shopping. The location is extremely convenient greatly reducing the need for taxis.
We were met at the airport when we exited baggage claim by a smiling young man named Sammy holding a hotel sign. He was extremely courteous and helpful, plus he speaks excellent English. The manager, Henry, is equally gracious and also speaks English.
The hotel is very clean. We had plenty of hot water and had no issues with our room. The hotel doesn't have elevators, but the staff graciously delivered our luggage to our room.
When we arrived at the hotel we were offered our choice of rooms. All the rooms we viewed very very nice, but we chose an upgrade to a studio apartment with a fully equipped kitchen at no additional charge. I think this room may have been quieter because it was located in the back part of the hotel away from the street.
The room had a queen size bed, flat screen television, coffee pot, microwave, fridge, stove, oven, blender, and kitchen utensils (cups, plates, flatware, cooking utensils, etc.). Laundry was reasonable (80 cents to 1 dollar each piece) unlike the prices at the hotel in Quito which wanted almost $5.00 for one pair of jeans.
There is a separate restaurant in the hotel, California Kitchen, which offers very good food and they have live music on occasion. However, beware they are closed 3 days a week and have gringo prices. The hotel offered complimentary breakfast and on the days the restaurant was closed the hotel staff still served breakfast. During our stay we ate both breakfasts, the one prepared by California Kitchen and the one prepared by the hotel staff. Each basically consisted of coffee, juice, eggs, bacon, toast, fresh fruit and cereal and were equally tasty. Everything was fresh, well prepared and the service was good.
The hotel also offered complimentary wireless internet. The internet service was fast and we had no problems connecting or staying connected.
The hotel staff provides tour assistance which we used exclusively during our stay. They made all the arrangements, phone calls, etc. They also assisted us in finding a private driver for a real estate tour and they called taxis for us when we wanted to go to the malls.
I highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely stay again when we return to Cuenca in November.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valerie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLosBalcones, Gerente at Hotel Los Balcones, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Valerie
We want to thank you for choosing us for your stay at the lovelly city of Cuenca.
It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
We hope to see you again.

Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#15 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Balcones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Balcones

Property: Hotel Los Balcones
Address: Presidente Borrero 12-08 y Gaspar Sangurima esquina, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Los Balcones 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Balcones Hotel is located in the center of Cuenca, to 10 minutes of Mariscal Lamar Airport.Our rooms are designed with fine details, each different and equipped with the requerments os a first-class hotel in a unique colonial setting.Sole Mio works in the central courtyard of the Hotel Boutique Los Balcones, which highlights the magnificent decor and atmosphere. The restaurant combines traditional Ecuadorian culinary trends with finest Italian cuisine, thus providing unique flavors. With ingredients imported and region, always emphasizing the sublime in our menu to the taste of our customers... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Los Balcones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing