We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mid-price restaurant”
Review of Mediterraneo

Mediterraneo
Ranked #23 of 724 Restaurants in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Mediterráneo, an Italian oasis in Ecuador, offers a rich letter in history and big gastronomic traditions, in an ambient hot weather and welcoming. Our pizzas are prepared in firewood oven, in a handmade way to the pure Italian style. Mediterrano, "Italian flavor."
Reviewed February 19, 2019

Had some nice salads in the place. Reasonable Italian pleasant service. A good option for light lunch or dinner.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lovetotraveldubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 194 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2019

Went there with my girlfriend. The food was good, but nothing special. For 12-16 dollars a plate you can find a lot better in Cuenca.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank tazlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2018

Five stars are not enough when it comes to Mediterraneo and their authentic Italian foods. I am frequently in Italy, so what a wonderful surprise to find the true flavors of Italy here in Cuenca.

It really felt like I was dining at the best restaurant in Italy! I was so curious as to how they could get such authentic flavors here in Ecuador that I asked many questions about specific dishes and ingredients ...only to find the greatest care, freshness, and planning in everything prepared. Some ingredients were imported and other were expertly prepared by Italians living in Ecuador.

I was in Italy last month but the food at Mediterraneo Cuenca is better than many restaurants in Italy. I can't wait for my next meal there!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide E Monica G, Propietario at Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018
Google Translation

Carissima Dorothy, siamo emozionati nel leggere le bellissime parole che ha usato sul Mediterraneo.
La aspetteremo nuovamente nei nostri Ristoranti.
Con gratitudine Davide e Monica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

My husband ate here a couple of weeks ago after not having eaten here for a couple of years. He had forgotten just how delicious the food was. He had pasta with alfredo sauce or four cheese as it’s sometimes called in Cuenca. He said he thinks it’s better than another one of our favorite higher priced Italian restaurants here. So if you’ve accidentally forgotten about this place like we had, give it another go. It may go back on your favorites list as well.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank bwdmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

The AirBnB we stayed in May 2018 recommended this as a good place to dine. So the wife and I went.

WONDERFUL food, atmosphere and service.

Wife chose a pizza and I chose the vegetable soup then pasta carbonara. All three dishes came out together like we asked to to do and they were excellent.

During our lunch we also had the opportunity to meet and talk with the owner. We shared common threads of life, seems to be a small world sometimes when you get talking to people.

Wife and I were on a 5 week South American trip and Cuenca was one of the travel segments. We began creating travel videos for our friends and family back home to watch and share in the adventure. Some of my family will never travel so it's especially nice to post them on YouTube for easy access during our travels. If you care to see, search YouTube TSSLKJK and hopefully they help you gain insight for your travel to Cuenca or other parts of Ecuador.

I can highly recommend Mediterraneo to others for quality, service, atmosphere and value. Qiao :-)

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Joeipad25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing