We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Coronel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Coronel
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very welcoming.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 days in this quaint hotel in the heart of Cuenca. It was extremely comfortable, relaxing and friendly. Value for money, guaranteed. There is very safe parking if you decide to come by car or using a rental. Walking distance from the airport or 2usd by taxi.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
8
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Even though I love Ecuador, the Hotel Coronel was my first landing in Cuenca. And even though it was last year, this hotel has haunted my great memories of Cuenca. I was booked for five nights and only stayed for one night at the Coronel I had just had a long bus ride from Guayaquil and was traveling alone. The hotel was attractive enough with the colonial style of the rooms built around the center of the hotel which was covered with a glass roof.
The energy of the hotel was strange. It was quiet and had an empty feeling. I could see no other guests and it was very open. I was shown a very small and VERY dark room and quickly realized that there were no outside windows. The only window was directly onto the outside balcony walkway and would not open. So there was no fresh air available. I immediately felt claustraphobic and knew I could not stay in this room. Fortunately I speak Spanish and told the staff person I couldn't stay in the room. They were eager to please to they took me to the "penthouse" suite which was large, great views of the city and unique in it's decor. They assured me I would not have to pay the extra expense. In the "penthouse" I felt like I was in Northern Wisconsin at a rustic resort furnished in garage finds, some spectacular, some just strange.
The bedroom had two windows which allowed a cross breeze and I was grateful for that. The bathroon was scarey with objects in the shower that I had to remove to have a shower. I made it clear that I would only be staying for only one night and would leave in the morning. It was a Sunday evening and not much was open for food, etc
The best and only good part of my stay was meeting the desk staff person the following morning. He was more than pleasant and really cared that I get another hotel that I liked better. I talked with the owner of the hotel and discovered the source of the strange "vibes" of the place. He was very unhappy that I wanted to leave and rather hostile and lacked even a modicum of people skills. I had prepaid for the hotel through Venere, an Italian web site, and the owner told me it was up to them to decide whether or not I got any money back. He said he would have to write to the web site and ask how to proceed. I was told that I would not have to pay the penthouse price because I was not happy with the other room.
In the end, to make a long story short, getting a refund took about four days of returning to the hotel and getting the run around each day. The desk person who was truly concerned about me confided that he didn't like working there and was looking for another job. I later found out that the owner was just stalling, Venere was not responsible. It was totally the owner's decision and he ended up deducting the full price of the penthouse. When I went to Venere to write a review I was told that the hotel had no record of my ever being there so I could not submit a review because I had not stayed there.
There are so many great places to stay in Cuenca. This is just not one of them. Please avoid it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank casturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel CoronelC C, Gerente at Hotel Coronel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Huesped, gracias por compartir sus experiencias.
De seguro nos permitirán tomar los correctivos necesarios, de manera especial con la información a través de las Operadoras, en virtud de que podían haberle ofertado una habitación mucho más amplia , sea una individual, doble o triple, inclusive con camas de 2,5plazas.
En cuanto a la restitución, lamento la demora en la devolución de su dinero, esto debido al tiempo de confirmación de su tarjeta.
Aprovecho la oportunidad para expresarle, que sus observaciones nos comprometen para garantizar una mayor atención personalizada, en virtud de la condición del hotel Boutique.
Su servidor…
Víctor Coronel Izquierdo
Gerente general H. Coronel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cuenca hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Justin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed there for five days. The staff is very helpful, a few times had to use a translation feature on the managers pc. But that just added to the overall experience. Like previous reviews small rooms, not made for the Westerners with large suitcases. The hot water is a little touchy, you have to adjust it throughout the shower.
The restaurant "Don Colon" is the saving grace for this hotel. The owner and chief Don Colon is very cordial and quite the host. Aside from the breakfast every morning. We only ate there two evenings. The steak was very good and presentation was excellent. The Argentine wine that was suggested was great. The other evening we just had appetizers and wine, again very well done with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathanael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheongju, South Korea
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I couldn't have asked for a better stay for my short visit to Cuenca.

My dad found this place and booked it regardless of some of the mediocre reviews... we quickly found out that these reviews did not accurately reflect this beautiful hotel at all.

As if the mind-blowing restaurant wasn't enough, the room we stayed in was large, the beds were incredibly comfortable and the bathrooms were clean and had consistent hot water. The owner, Don Colon, was so personable and kind. He always made conversation with us and the rest of the clearly regular crew of eaters at his restaurant (which was always busy around lunchtime, but never did we wait long for food.) On our last day, he had us wait until 9am so he could personally make us a delicious breakfast, rather than the typical eggs and bread that came with the room.

Location-wise, this place is also perfect. Only a 5 minute walk to the centre of town to see all of the beautiful churches or pick up a double-decker bus for a city tour. Also close to most of the best museums. The front desk is super helpful in telling you where you can go with specific instructions and a map.

The rates, both for food and the room, is well under what it is worth. I would pay a lot for that experience I had at his hotel. Such an interesting guy and a more than comfortable stay. The building is beautiful and the staff, in every field, were so helpful and nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMeagerMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed there for 12 days and had little or no hot water for most of the stay. No cable tv till last 4 days. The staff are very pleasant but had not been for Don Colon the chef and owner of the Resturant I would have moved. They did discount my stay and were very apologistic about things they still were an issue.
Not bad location but not great and my room was very small. If you want a nice hotel in Cuenca it will cost much more than this hotel so you get what you pay for.

Austin Texas

Room Tip: Book only one night and check other hotels when you get there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justice1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I struggled with the average rating but.....
Okay, so bad stuff first.
I've slept on granite slabs backpacking that are more comfortable than these beds.
The security for the hotel is not very good. Both nights now I've had to lock the back door to the hotel. It's kinda creepy too because we've been the only guests here now two nights and it's really dark all night. We think the night manager leaves us locked in the hotel by ourselves????
The staff is really really nice. That is a definite plus. Hotel is nicely appointed and looks great inside. THe bar and restaurant though are closed so???? We're leaving to another place tomorrow. Can't take the beds anymore. Hopefully they give us a refund for the other five nights we booked with them but leaving regardless..... my wife's threatened divorce if she has to sleep on these beds one more night.... lol

Room Tip: Pack your own bed...... seriously
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogbreath44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

The small room made it impossible even to open our luggage. We had to use to bed!!!! There are better hotels in Cuenca for almost half of the price. We moved to another hotel the next day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdithinCuenca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#15 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Casona
Hotel La Casona
#14 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cuenca Hotel
Cuenca Hotel
#17 of 60 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel El Conquistador
Hotel El Conquistador
#39 of 60 in Cuenca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#32 of 60 in Cuenca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coronel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coronel

Property: Hotel Coronel
Address: Calle Mariano Cueva 9-42 y Bolivar, Cuenca EC010.104, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coronel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONEL HOTEL CORPORATE: A colonial mansion, where the halls, their temperate sheltered alcoves and corners wooden invited to a comfortable rest. In the historic center of Cuenca, back in 1897, a wooden building was constructed to house wares traders and Chinese silks. In December 2009, with the skill of the craftsman Cuenca, it was possible to restore all the elements that characterize the Republican era; Its facilities were equipped with every comfort, "THINKING OF YOU WEALTHY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Coronel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing