We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel in Colonial Cuenca”
Review of Hotel Coronel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Coronel
Ranked #50 of 62 Hotels in Cuenca
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We passed 2 nights in March 2012 in this little hotel and were very pleased with the friendly and helpful service. It is very conveniently located - you can walk everywhere easily. The rooms are small, but so is the price. The Coronel looks just like a little cousin of the Alcazar!

Room Tip: I you travel with children, you may be interested in the top-floor-flat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ursula878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 40 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed just one night in this beautifully restored hotel. The owner Victor is a gracious and courtly gentleman who has genuine concern about his guest's experiences.
I arrived late on a Saturday night and they saw to all of my needs. I had a minor throat infection and was coughing...Victor walked down to the pharmacy and bought some throat lozenges for me. The following day he set me up with an appointment with his own Doctor, an ENT specialist. That is true hospitality not just a business transaction.
The hotel has lots of warm woods, hanging Boston Ferns, and muted colors...all very soothings.
Yes, the room was a little small, but must realize that this is a restored residence of historic value...not a Hilton! Breakfast was included with a nice fruit compote, scrambled eggs, juice, coffee and toast which was all very tasty and well presented.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mjhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Victor Coronel Izquierdo has restored what used to be a family furniture business into a lovely, tasteful small hotel conveniently located in the center of Cuenca. Although our room was small, the accommodations were comfortable and clean. Some of the furnishings, including those in the common space, are from the family furniture business. Although only one of the staff is English speaking (if that is a need of yours), all the staff and including the owner, were extremely helpful and attentive to our needs. The owner went out of his way to help us when he learned we had had an accident with a car rental.

We particularly liked being able to walk everywhere in the old city, and found a number of excellent restaurants all within walking distance. One nice feature of the hotel is they offer a steam room on the top level of the hotel. The only limitation is that the breakfast is the same every day.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Clean, well-located hotel with helpful staff. I was travelling with my sister and her Ecuadorian husband so we had 2 rooms for 2 nights. Both were very small and had uncomfortable beds with bumps in the middle. The hotel was very noisy in the morning when breakfast was being prepared at 7am and people returning at night (wooden floors). The breakfast was so awful that we abandoned it the second morning when we left Cuenca

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresastales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Que mire primero donde le asignan, y mire si el cochón está bueno
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Perfitec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Coronel C, Gerente at Hotel Coronel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Leonardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Coronel C, Gerente at Hotel Coronel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
Thank Maria Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0 mi away
Cuenca Hotel
Cuenca Hotel
#22 of 62 in Cuenca
139 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#51 of 62 in Cuenca
134 reviews
0 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#7 of 62 in Cuenca
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
0 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#14 of 62 in Cuenca
116 reviews
0 mi away
Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel
#41 of 62 in Cuenca
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coronel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coronel

Address: Calle Mariano Cueva 9-42 y Bolivar, Cuenca EC010.104, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 62 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range: $46 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coronel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONEL HOTEL CORPORATE: A colonial mansion, where the halls, their temperate sheltered alcoves and corners wooden invited to a comfortable rest. In the historic center of Cuenca, back in 1897, a wooden building was constructed to house wares traders and Chinese silks. In December 2009, with the skill of the craftsman Cuenca, it was possible to restore all the elements that characterize the Republican era; Its facilities were equipped with every comfort, "THINKING OF YOU WEALTHY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Coronel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing