We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful people...a wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Americano

Hotel Americano
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cuenca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Americano
Ranked #37 of 64 Cuenca B&B and Inns
Cuenca, Azuay, Ecuador
1 review
“Wonderful people...a wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you're looking for something fancy and tons of amenities, this place may not be for you. But if you are looking for someplace where you are well cared for, safe, and will feel right at home...this is the place. I stayed with Carlos and Lala for almost a month while I looked for a more permanent home in Cuenca. They took wonderful care of me. I almost felt like one of the family. The location is in a quiet middle-class neighborhood, walking distance from El Centro, and no more than a $2 cab ride from almost anywhere. Lala knows everything and everyone, and can give great advice. Breakfast is excellent and a great lunch is available for an extra charge. They even brought hot soup to my room one day when I wasn't feeling well! Rooms are large and comfortable...I would stay there again in a minute.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the front have a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1,432 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,043 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The pros : good price , good service , friendly owners ,location o.k. a 20 minutes walk to downtown , big rooms
The cons : our room was facing the street ; it was very noisy at night and the curtains could not stop the lights from the cars and the commercial buildings ! There was also a concert provided by watch dogs . It was like trying to sleep in the middle of the street

Room Tip: Avoid rooms located at the front and rooms on the 3rd floor as stairs are steep !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belleretraite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

I traveled to Ecuador during the summer and was fortunate enough to stay at Hotel Americano in Cuenca. It is a wonderful place, small but exceedingly clean and friendly. It is located a short walk from the center of Cuenca( 10-15 minutes) and is staffed by Eulala and Terry, among others. They hold a communal breakfast for guests every day and you meet many people from all over the world who have come to explore Cuenca and vicinity. Eulala is gracious, charming and extremely helpful about all things Spanish and English. Terry is all of the above and extremely helpful about all things Americano! The rooms range from large to small, private baths and a genuine home-like feel.

The price is very affordable and a bargain even by Ecuadorian standards. You will not be disappointed and should definitely make it your place of residence while in or near Cuenca.

Room Tip: Call in advance and the Hotel Americano will even arrange your airport taxi to and from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Welcoming and comfortable with a very helpful and friendly owner, Hotel Americano feels like a home away from home. We planned to stay for three days and ended up staying for a week! The homelike atmosphere encouraged socializing amongst the guests (especially at breakfast) which was great, because we met some really interesting and fun people from around the world. (Don't worry if you're not social - the rooms are very private!) The prices were reasonable, with reduced rates for longer stays. We had a large room with a beautiful view of a cathedral. The setting was quiet, but within a 10-minute walk of the city center. Both Spanish and English are spoken.

Room Tip: Ask for the large room with the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2016Rio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed so much my stay in this hotel. It is charming, cozy, the host is very nice and makes you feel like you are in your own home. Prices are extremely good and the hotel is located in a great neigboorhood. I loved my experience in Cuenca and in this hotel. Thank you hotel americano for the great service. I will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Franceskconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leverett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

This hotel is in the home of a very nice family in a residential neighborhood. The rooms are in need of modernizing: flat pillows, outdated electricity plugs so we couldn't plug in our computer without an adapter, old blankets and bed spreads, one little bedside lamp or glaring florescent overhead lights. The surrounding neighborhood is boring and a walk from downtown and restaurants. I was surprised to be charged $50 a night for this when there is so much more available closer to the action of Cuenca.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alishungu04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Very friendly host, but cold room with no own bad or wc in the room and used blankets!! No curtain for windows

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilcoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
0.5 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#14 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Americano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Americano

Property: Hotel Americano
Address: Francisco Tamariz1-14 y Av. Heroes | de Verdeloma, Cuenca, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing