We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
75
34
10
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
34
10
4
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 129 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

The Rosario is more of a guesthouse than a hostel. Beautiful colonial building with a pretty garden. Owner are very friendly but be prepared to speak Spanish as they don't speak English. Bed was comfortable and we have slept very well. Downsides: the shower either has decent pressure OR hot water with little pressure. Can't have both. Breakfast wasn't worth the $3, you will find better places around any corner. Overall we enjoyed our stay and recommend it!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2016 via mobile

It's an excellent location being so close to the centre,the river,supermarket etc. It's very clean and comfortable. Very good kitchen with lots of room in the common area to eat and hang out. The couple who run the hostel are really lovely and will do anything to help you. Definitely recommend this place!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank grainne60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2016 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at this hostal. Location is perfect, hosts are charming (no english tho), wifi was great, bed comfy and warm. It was as well soo quiete at night!
The only downside was the shower, from the shared banos, the water was kinda hot only in very low pressure...

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Marilyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2016

I've been staying at Villa del Rosario regularly for about 5 years and love it. It's a real gem and the only place I stay when I am in Cuenca. The building is lovely, charming and full of character with a beautiful central courtyard garden. The location is perfect, right in the historical centre of the city and a few minutes walk from Abdon Calderon Park. It's excellent value for money. But it is the Villa del Rosario hosts, Dolores and Luis, who keep me coming back again and again. They are such kind and lovely people and make me feel like family.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016

I would recommend this hostel to those passing through cuenca or staying for a while. We arrived early at 5am and much to our delight the bed was available and the staff let us in to take a nap. The whole time the stuff were more than happy to assist us in any way possible. Despite us speaking very broken spanish and very broken english we were able to have a laugh and converse what was needed.

It felt like a little family warm and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this hostel to people.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews