We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil hostal in the heart of Cuenca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tranquil hostal in the heart of Cuenca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hostal Villa Del Rosario for two weeks while taking Spanish classes in Cuenca. The rooms are set around a tranquil central courtyard and there's also a large dining area adjacent to the kitchen. Noise was never a problem here, the bed was comfortable and the water hot. Location is great too and everything is within walking distance.

Ticks all the boxes for a cheap, good hostal in the middle of town!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Markadams032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    31
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
10
53
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
855 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

I have stayed here several times. This is a traditional house with all rooms surrounding a lush courtyard. The rooms vary in size with the single rooms quite small. With little/no insulation, the rooms get cold and damp especially at night. While this hostal is supposed to be non-smoking, the area near the courtyard/entrance seems to attract quite a few smokers and the owners do not enforce the non-smoking rule. The communal bathrooms are kept relatively clean. There is a small kitchen and rear courtyard/sitting area, but most times it is too cold to sit out and enjoy. The owners are a friendly couple who live adjacent to the hostal. As a return guest, I was treated like family. They speak zero Englsih, but if your Spanish is decent they are full of good information about Cuenca and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Avoid the room off the front reception area - this is the smoking area and the wi-fi area - noisy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank backpacker31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were happily surprised by Hostal Vlla Del Rosario. Maria welcomed us open heartily in the inside courtyard of the small hostal, and although the hostal was basic, it is all we needed - nice bedrooms including towel, clean shared bathroom, beautiful garden, free water & tea, and use of kitchen. Unlike the google maps may say the hostal is very central - near all the tourist sites in the centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fenjasepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibarra, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed 5 days in this hostal and had a really good experience.
It definitively got its own "charm". Situated in the center of the city but still calm, relaxing and really safe. The owner are really nice and eager to help you if you need it.
For such a price, it's definitively a bargain and the place where we'll come back if one day we are back in Cuenca.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mourad p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

There are so many hostels in Cuenca. How do you choose? If you are looking for an Ecuadorian owned, funky, and unique hostel then this might be the place for you. As past reviews said, the showers are temperamental, but manageable. You are given a towel to use, which is luxury after using a pac-towel for months. There is a kitchen to use, you can get breakfast for $2.50, there are some lovely sitting areas to relax in, and a beautiful garden that attracts hummingbirds. The hostel is quiet, so if you want a lively social scene, maybe it's not the right place. That being said, I did meet some wonderful people here. The bed in my room was pretty comfortable, the sheets smelled nice and clean, but, unfortunately, the pillow was a rock. My only complaint!

Room Tip: I was in the tiny single room upstairs. I loved it. Good only for solo travelers though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank soibhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambato, Ecuador
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a wonderfully quiet place in the centre of town, with internet, kitchen and lounge. Everything was clean and the staff were extremely friendly. On both nights they went out of their way to make me feel at home and wished me a comfortable stay, even giving me my own key so that I could come and go as I pleased.
Oh, and unlike many place I've stayed in, (in Ecuador) they actually do change your sheets, which is a big plus if sleeping on dirty sheets is something that bothers you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leracquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the hostel for nearly one month.
The hostel is very tranquil and has a lovely garden inside. It's in a very comfortable place in the town center, close distance to anything you need. The price is fine for what you get.
There is good wifi and hot water all the time.
I recommend on this place.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LiorFaeyrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.7 mi away
Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel
#31 of 60 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Bird Bed & Breakfast
Blue Bird Bed & Breakfast
#46 of 60 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostal La Posada Cuencana
0.6 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#16 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cuenca Hotel
Cuenca Hotel
#18 of 60 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Villa Del Rosario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Villa Del Rosario

Property: Hostal Villa Del Rosario
Address: Honorato Vasquez 5-25 y Mariano Cueva, Cuenca 593, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Villa Del Rosario 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HostelVilla del Rosario is located old colonial house that has been completely restored and remodeled. It is situaded on the historical center of the city. Where visitors will fell comfortable in a family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Villa Del Rosario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing