We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”
Review of La Esquina

La Esquina
Ranked #15 of 718 Restaurants in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tipical Argentinan restaurant. Iron disc cooking style. Iron disc? An iron disk is a skillet pan, made for an artisan blacksmith, they give a special touch and distinguished flavour to our dishes. we cooked in them and you can served at the table, like a sharing plate. You already know what an iron disc is, now you are ready to choose which one you want to share with your family, friends or partner or by yourself. We offer a variety of them: chicken, beef, seafood, shrimp, risottos, pastas, fish, vegetarian, ... And multiples sauces: cabernet, mustard, nevada, Thai, ... You can not leave us without to try our homemade desserts, made by own pastry chef. So delicious that you will struggle to choose one of them !! We have a variety of wines. you will be suprise with our wine list. Wines for all tastes and palates and always get the best advice about wines to get with your food.
Reviewed March 2, 2019 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended to us, but it was a big disappointment. The service was bad—waiter was unfriendly and never inquired about the food. We ordered a steak to share for two that was mediocre and the salad had no creativity. Loud children didn’t help our experience. The price for dinner was much too high for the quality of food and unfriendly waiter.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank R6940YXmichaelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 490 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2019

I wrote a review here in 2015, giving this place 3-stars and saying we would likely not return. Well, 4 years later and we have heard enough recent good reviews from friends that we decided to try them again for a birthday dinner.

The food is still rather expensive, and is for special occasions. However, the food this time was fabulous! You can now order per-person if you wish. They do also have the "dinner for two people" though, on their "Iron Disc Tasting Menu" which we decided to try.

There are two choices of entree (chicken or beef), and they allowed us to split so we had one of each, of which we then split (so that each of us had both the chicken and beef). It came with two glasses of wine for each of us, at a total of $60 fixed price.

The food was perfectly cooked, and the beef was tender (uncommon in Cuenca...). The sauces were really what stole the show though, bringing the food from good to fabulous.

This is definitely now on our short-list of places to take out-of-town friends in the future.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MindStorm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2019 via mobile

Ample food. The two-for-one dishes are the best option, but I was eating solo, so I settled for the only beef dish in that category. Beef was a little tough and inconsistently cooked from medium to medium-rare, but very tasty; delicious seasoning. Excellent service in a first class environment. Pricey for Cuenca, though steak houses often are. I would go back.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Mortakye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2019 via mobile

Our dinner was incredible and earned a place on my top 10 meal list.
We ordered the special consisting of prawns that must have been U10 s delicious in a thai curry seasoning that was tasteful and mild, chicken and beef equally well prepared uniquely in the iron discs, rice and salad and dessert. This was a dinner for 2 special. Well worth the money!!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Nan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019

After striking out at a couple of other places - (PRO TIP - make dinner reservations early if there is a place where you really want to eat) we settled on La Esquina. Hoping for a meal of beef we ordered the fixed price menu that included a shrimp appetizer, tenderloin AND chicken with sides of salad and rice, dessert, plus 2 glasses of wine. The hot dishes are served in cast iron skillets. At the end of the meal the ladies were offered a glass of champagne and the gents a glass of Cuencan 'firewater'. All of this for $30 pp. The food was wonderful and the service attentive but not imposing. The only problem (that keeps me from a 5 star review) is we were served the wrong main: pork ribs vs tenderloin. We put this down to a miscommunication. We did tell them about the mistake (disappointing) but didn't send it back - the ribs were good and we were hungry. We ordered two bottles of red wine to have with our meal in lieu of the two glasses each included in the fixed price. When checking out - we were only charged for one. We all agreed we would definitely go back, but make sure we got the order right next time.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Esquina also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to La Esquina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing