We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So gorgeous - So disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria dos Chorreras
Ranked #2 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So gorgeous - So disappointing”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A grand stone and timber lodge set amid gorgeous mountain views. Two young deer outside the breakfast room each morning; horses, alpacas, and burros roaming the grounds, and an Incan village/museum a short walk away were a few of the highlights. We so wanted to love it and hoped we had found a wonderful place to return to, ourselves and with family and friends visiting from the US. But with the many huge fireplaces unlit (the main one would be if we sat there), a small inadequate (and antiquated) heater in our room (lovely as it was), and unreliable hot water (the first morning ending mid-shower, the second morning none), we froze. The manager and several staff members were wonderful, but we so hope the spectacular Dos Chorreros can be upgraded to provide the reliable basics.

Room Tip: A room with a fireplace is a must. Take a very early morning shower - or wait til later! Don't b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoznKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    64
    16
    10
    7
See reviews for
80
53
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Dos Chorreras is a lodge with an enormous restaurant. Most people are stopping there for the restaurant. Everyone says “You’ve got to try the trout,” and let me tell you, they are right! It was the most unbelievably mouth-watering fresh-water fish I’ve ever tried! The restaurant has an unusual rustic elegance that is startling at first glance. I would go here again in a heartbeat, and take everyone I know to try this incredible trout!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGGlobeTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The service was very prompt. The food was beyond excellent.

I ordered the fried rainbow trout and it was the best I've had. Very flavorful and fresh.

Others ordered the grilled rainbow trout with garlic sauce and the grilled rainbow trout with tomato sauce. Both were very excellent.

Everyone left happy.

I highly recommend it if you're ever in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Our driver stopped here for lunch on our way to Cuenca. Waterfalls were outside our window to view. I ordered the grilled trout with garlic sauce and it was excellent. Very good place to experience. You can go hiking here as well. It seats right close to the national park, El Cajas.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bear4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I spent a lot of time online trying to decide where to stay, and we felt so fortunate to have stayed at Dos Chorreras. The lodge which is essentially built into the mountainside is incredible. As you walk through the lodge you cannot be amazed at seeing rocks with moss, trees, water flowing with fish, and an occasional animal within the lodge. Even though you are inside, you feel like you are not. It's an amazing layout with numerous fireplaces that you can sit in front, read, drink, relax. My three boys had their own area (by a flat screen TV) in the lounge area, while my wife was on the other side reading. The restaurant and food is worth a visit even if you opt not to spend a night. One afternoon I took two of my boys trout fishing, and that evening we had a private chef from Spain prepare the trout in front of us. (they have cooking classes and many planned activities).

The prices for food and lodging were on the higher side for Ecuador, but it's worth every penny. We stayed in a newly built cabin that was not attached to the lodge. It had a king size bed on the first floor and a loft with three beds up-top, which overlooked a massive fireplace that used a huge natural bolder as its hearth. The firewood was unlimited and delivered by some of the nicest staff. I highly recommend getting one of the two cabins versus a room at the lodge. It's very quiet and very very comfortable. They went overboard on the design and rustic layout. The floors as well as bathroom floors were heated, so much so you needed to put towels down to walk after a shower. The lodge itself can be cool, but what do you expect with an essentially open view/air lodge in the Andes. Bring warm clothes and be prepared to sit next to the fire. We had a fire going around the clock.

Again we plan to come back. We stayed 5 nights, which was 2 more that we had originally planned. Also Cajas National Park is minutes away, so you cannot beat the location. We hope to camp/hike Cajas during our next stay. As for logistics, we stayed one night in Cuenca to see the city and rest after a 10 hr drive from Peru. The city itself is worth a day or two to see, but do not miss an opportunity to stay at the lodge while you are in the area.

We literally had the entire place to ourselves.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rneps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

El Cajas is one of my favorite national parks in Ecuador, it is kind of a mystical place were you can find awesome places for trekking/hiking, breathtaking views and now pretty good food.
My advise to tourists visiting the beautiful city of Cuenca:
- take half or a full day to visit El Cajas;
- when out there be aware of the altitude (+10K feet ASL);
- be prepared, the temperature can drop from 25ºC to 10ºC (77ºF - 50ºF) during the day, and
- if you go to this, well located restaurant, ask for the specialty of the house: trucha a la parrilla (grilled trout)

Room Tip: If staying htere, ask for a room with a good fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a lovely two night stay here during semana santa. The food was great..the 'chefs en vivo' in the evenings were fantastic. The breakfast (included in room price) was complete with eggs, granola, fruit, yogurt, tea, good strong coffee, llapingachos, mote and a selection of juices. The facility itself is a bit of an architectural feat, combining nature and comfort to create a wonderfully cozy, natural space. There are common areas with fireplaces spread out throughout the large facility. Our room was fine but a bit basic (we reserved last minute). I would have liked to see some of the other rooms but they were packed full for the holiday. The location is kind of near a major highway that goes from Cuenca to Guayaquil, so depending on your room, you can hear the traffic. What I liked best about Hosteria dos Chorreras (besides the Tiramisu!) was the service. The staff were super attentive, professional and friendly..some of the best I've seen in Ecuador.

Room Tip: Check out the website w/ the prices and room names and make sure you get the most for your money. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndesMtnWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
27.9 mi away
Hacienda Uzhupud
Hacienda Uzhupud
#27 of 60 in Cuenca
151 reviews
14.0 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
435 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hosteria Caballo Campana
Hosteria Caballo Campana
#51 of 60 in Cuenca
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
11.9 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
711 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria dos Chorreras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria dos Chorreras

Property: Hosteria dos Chorreras
Address: Km 21 via al Cajas, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hosteria dos Chorreras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing