We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant dinner”

Restaurante El Jardin
Ranked #19 of 724 Restaurants in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 7, 2019

A lovely view and a formal dining room provide the perfect setting for a business dinner or nice family gathering. Service is a bit too impersonal, with no menu suggestions or discussion of the offerings, but they don't miss a beat when it comes to detail and timing. The food is excellent if not a tad reminiscent of a fine restaurant in the 1980's....not cutting edge or innovative, but just good, quality offerings. I would not necessarilly suggest this for a romantic dinner as the dining room is buzzing with children crying, business meetings, and in one case, a child banging on the piano in the bar where neither the parents nor staff corrected the behavior to the grimace of other guests. The bar however is cozy with dark wood and a great selection of cocktails as well as liquors and would be the perfect spot for a romantic after dinner drink. Beautifully done, high end tapestry's and great attention to detail.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank megoreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Director de Recepción at Restaurante El Jardin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Megoreilly
Good afternoon

I appreciate your comments about our hotel. It makes us proud to meet the needs of our customers in the best way we can. If you are going to return to our town, do not hesitate to call us.

Best Regards

Flavio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 315 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2019

Such a nice spot in Cuenca. Romantic setting, yet super to meet friends as well. Delicious selection of food, ourstanding service and overall great experience. Did I say OUTSTANDING service?

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bwdmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Director de Recepción at Restaurante El Jardin, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

Dear Bwdmusic

Thanks for you comment , for us are a pleasure service for you , waiting that us give service.

Best regards

Giselle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2019

We made our 25th wedding anniversary here a couple of years ago, and it was perfect. The food was excellent and the staff did their best to give us exactly what we asked for. We redid our marriage vows in the garden. It was a memory to cherish.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank nasus06880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Director de Recepción at Restaurante El Jardin, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

Dear Nasus06880

Thanks for you comment, it is a pleasure to serve you, we hope to have your presence again

Best regards

Giselle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful, historic setting overlooking river. Excellent service and food. Appetizer salads were generous portions — especially fresh and innovative. Main courses were more North American than Ecuadorian — rack of lamb, French onion soup, steak, etc but well prepared.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank LisaW_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Director de Recepción at Restaurante El Jardin, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

Dear LisaW_foodie

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our restaurant to other travelers. I am sure that all our staff enjoyed attending to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay.

Beware

Giselle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2019

From the moment you are greeted at the door, you know this is not your run of the mill hotel restaurant. Down stairs is an elegant restaurant, complete with linen table cloths, and all the appropriate flatware and glasses. Beautiful views enhance your experience.

The wait staff is trained in fine dining. They are eager to please, and keep your wine glass from running dry. They have an extensive dinner/lunch menu, along with a good selection of South American wines. The daily specials are always delicious.

Enjoy

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank keyman751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Director de Recepción at Restaurante El Jardin, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

Dear Keyman751

Thank you for giving us a good comment, for us it is a pleasure to serve you and enjoy the menu and also the types of wine we offer. We hope to have your presence again.


Best Regard
Giselle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante El Jardin also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to Restaurante El Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing