We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Day At The Hacienda”
Review of TerraDiversa

TerraDiversa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: TerraDiversa is a tour operator and travel agent that provides made-to-measure tours throughout Ecuador, Galapagos, Peru and abroad. We offer adventure tours, city tours, cultural tours, family tours, biking tours, hiking tours, canyoning, horse adventures, scuba tours, cruises in the Galapagos, adventures in the Amazon, Avenue of the Volcano tours, language tours, cooking tours... You name it! If you're looking to travel in Ecuador, Galapagos or Peru, we can arrange the best experience for you. If you're looking to travel further afield we also have an in house travel agent to arrange the perfect trip.
Ft Worth Tx
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun Day At The Hacienda”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I originally agreed to go on this tour for just "something to do", but I really had a great time. Jaun and his team were great at explaining everything- history, culture, plants, etc. The horseback riding, led by Gustavo, was very safe and a blast for myself and everyone else. He was very concerned about all of the riders and knew his stuff when it came to plants and wildlife. The barbeque was better than advertised, with all the trimmings.
I would highly receommend this trip and others, led by Terra Diversa since they truly want everyone to have a great time.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laser123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    5
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Trip to Hacienda Totorillas. Had a great time, beautiful place, super nice people.”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Hacienda Totorillas was a beautiful retreat for the day. Wear boots, if you want to ride the horses. Bring warm clothes and a rain jacket. They will provide rubber boots, if you don't have any. A delicious meal was provided, along with hiking, and horseback riding. Nice indoor facilities for relaxing also.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn_in_Ecuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An adventure you will not forget”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This week I spent a Day in the Country at Hacienda Totorillas. It is in the Tarqui Valley, and the tour was arranged by Terra Diversa. The day was spectacular in every way, and the hosts took care of us like family. We relaxed and experienced the beautiful Andean landscape with cloud forests, indigenous agricultural grounds and cattle farms.

We started with a tour around the ranch where we saw how the families working there raised the cows, chickens, sheep, and yes, cuy (Guinea Pigs). Juan Heredia, whose family owns the ranch, guided us on a beautiful hike along the mountainside and valleys, pointing out all the Orchids and different plants along the way. As far as the eye could see were rolling hills and mountains with virgin forests and steams.

We all met back at the ranch house for a wonderful lunch made by the indigenous women with fresh made cheese, hand-picked veggies, and of course “cuy”--quite a delicacy. They also had hamburgers, hot dogs, salads and pretty much anything you could ask for.

After relaxing in hammocks and comfortable chairs at the hacienda we were ready for our horseback riding adventure. Our guide Gustavo was very nice and told us all about the flora and fauna along the way. The horses were very tame and knew what they were doing even if sometimes I didn't. I plan on taking this tour again soon, and would highly recommend it to anyone that enjoys beauty and nature.
Leeann Bogyo

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LeeannBogyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
335 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great guide, great views of Cajas.”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Adrian was our guide to Cajas nat park and he was great and spoke English very well. Tour was well organized and we were picked up right on time at our hotel. Hiking was light to moderate. Lunch was tasty. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Steph0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Waterfalls and the desert”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Our trip was FABULOUS. Everything as advertised and more. Juan was fantastic, his knowledge and devotion to Ecuador was contagious. We will definitely go another trip!
WONDERFUL DAY TRIP!!! Highly recommend this company and this tour guide!!!!!

Michael & Anne Roche

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Wldcelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TerraDiversa also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to TerraDiversa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing