We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The vibe of La Cigale is amazing!”
Review of La Cigale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Cigale
Ranked #7 of 77 Cuenca B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I lived for around 5 months in Ecuador, close to Cuenca. I must have spend some 20 nights in this cosy hostel over this period. It's just one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in, no question.

The staff is really friendly and hospitable and the vide is very relaxed, but never the less professional. The private rooms are clean comfortable and quite beautiful.The dorm is somewhat less value for money, but hey, just stay in one of the private rooms instead.

In the evening the cheap happy hour deals make sure that things get lively. However, you don't notice anything of the party-noise when your at your room.

I came to get to know most of the popular Cuencan Hostels and I can soundly state that this one is the very best.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 215 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

I was so happy when I spent an evening at La Cigale with a friend and we saw this sign that said: Cheescake and Coffee for 2.85$ every day from 2-5pm. We wanted to eat cheesecake the following day. When we left that evening they charged me 40 cents more for my drink - I didn't complain, thought that it was due to a very unclear handwriting at the bill and then a wrong sum-up. Could have happend to me and 40 cents is not much, so I left and we came back the next afternoon. What we got was no cheescake. It was some kind of pudding in a bowl with some strawberries on top. I am used to various ways of cheescake but this was neither a cake nor made of cream cheese or Quark. I was SO disappointed. I told the waiter in a very polite way how sad I was of being served this instead of a real cake and he just told me they always do it like this. Basta. Not even one single tiny word of sorry...it would have been so simple...but because he didn't even say THAT I decided to write about this here. I actually liked the place and you can get nice drinks very cheap, but NEVER order cheese cake there and don't expect the waiters to be nice or understanding. I can not recommend this place...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I had a great 4 nights stay here, at this very nice hostel in the old town center of Cuenca.
The rooms were very clean and the staff more than friendly. It's a group of young owners running this place. Also a very good restaurant with good value food.. It can get a bit noisy in some rooms, but they close it at midnight.
After all I definitly recommend to stay there if you are looking for a good value place.

Room Tip: Get one not directly over the restaurant, try the back ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vagabondosiciliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Easily one of the best hostals I have stayed in. I stayed here for 6 nights in January 2012 in a private room overlooking the restaurant/bar. The room was a bit sparse but for the price ($17 per night) it was more than good enough; cleaned every day and the shower had hot water all the time.

Best thing about this place is the atmosphere...a popular place with locals and gringos alike and the music and food served in the restaurant downstairs was excellent.

Like others have mentioned, whilst the place can be noisy during the day and evening when it comes to lights out at night (around 11:30 - Midnight) the place empties very quickly and becomes silent almost immediately.

All round a cheap and very cheerful to stay whilst in Cuenca.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank criticaljohn_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This hostel was the cleanest I stayed in over my entire 4month trip. The bathroom seemed newly renovated, and had a large hot water shower. I stayed in a 4bed dorm, the room was very spacious and clean (the biggest and cleanest I stayed at), with comfortable, warm beds. The restaurant downstairs served good food at OK prices- and my room price included a big breakfast there. It was a really relaxed hostel, which was what I look for over any loud, noisy, party hostel. I would recommend this place highly!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JemBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I have been to Cuenca twice over the last 2 years (once for 3 weeks and once for 1 week) and both times I stayed at La Cigale and could not say better things about the staff, service, rooms, etc. It has a great evening vibe for locals and travelers, it isn't the quietest hostel but a great place to meet people, and a beautiful, comfortable place to sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossKossic44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I almost never write these kind of reviews but I love La Cigale so much I couldn't help myself. I came for one night and ended up staying for eight, leaving only because I had to catch a flight. Although I had Spanish class early each morning, the one day I got to enjoy breakfast it was delicious and made the $9 dorm an even better value. I met amazing people, including other guests and the staff who were all awesome. The guys made me feel completely at home, always welcoming me with a smile and a patient ear for me to practice my Spanish. Although the restaurant can be a bit loud, the flip side is you can have a really fun night without ever leaving home. The restaurant is one of the best spots in town for happy hour and keeps the good vibe going all evening. My only hesitation in writing this review is that everyone else will discover La Cigale and it will be full next time I come to Cuenca!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tkb518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
2 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 62 in Cuenca
787 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kuna Hotel
Kuna Hotel
#8 of 62 in Cuenca
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#14 of 62 in Cuenca
114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bauhouse Hostel
Bauhouse Hostel
#6 of 81 in Cuenca
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Orquidea Hostel
La Orquidea Hostel
#4 of 77 in Cuenca
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cigale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cigale

Address: Honorato Vasquez 7-80 y Luis Cordero, Cuenca 00593, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Cuenca
Price Range: $18 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private and shared rooms that includes a good breakfast, private bathroom with constant hot water, good mattresses... It also includes wireless internet which stretches from our café, in which you can buy delicious and cheap food, from hummus and pita to savoury crepes to steak to nachos with guacamole. It turns into a bar at night, complete with happy hour, good music and a great atmosphere. This might have been a problem for sleeping, but no – the music gets shut off and everyone gets kicked out at somewhere at midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Cigale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cigale Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing