We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhappy hour”
Review of La Cigale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Cigale
Ranked #8 of 70 Cuenca B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unhappy hour”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Just watch out this, when they say happy hour: 1.50, they mean for each cocktail (the mojito was some rum,less in the second shot,mint, and a cheap seven-up kind) , which makes two cocktails: 3 dollars. I did not have a problem with the price (plenty of bars in Cuenca with the same happy hour charges), I did have a problem with the way it is advertised.The attitude of the staff is the globalised standard "cool"way and look, which actually looks quite cold. And a sad show off for gringos to feel "at home".

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maren62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    80
    22
    13
    7
See reviews for
9
83
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
venice
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

If you come for atmosphere, attention to details, charming design, great food, and very cool music, stay here for sure.
(Although it can get a bit noisy with the restaurant and bar upfront, yet if one knows and comes prepared, that's just what it is. You just deal with it.)

If you have the additional (irrational?) desire to be greeted and treated kindly by the front of the house staff, to receive a sincere smile, to be made feel appreciated to be their guest; be warned. It's not likely going to happen!

I really wanted to LOVE the place, with its beautiful design and decor, it is so very charming, but there was little warmth and human connection. In short, you won't feel like you are actually welcome, more like you are an annoyance. Some of the staff were even outright rude. 1st. day. "Q: How is your coffee con leche? A: Coffee is coffee.." The icing on the cake was the tone and the look that came with the delivery of the comment, and it went down hill from that moment forward.

The one positive exception that must be mentioned: Benicio. A friendly young man, who truly stands out, and seems to understand that every human, stranger, guest or whatever, can be met with a smile, with respect and kindness, not just the members of their "inner circle" or "family"...

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back. Theya re abit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirkobetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Popayán, Cauca, Colombia
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Beware of the specials that you read on the boards. They have many misleading information and ridiculous fine print. We saw that there were like $3/drink specials and ordered like 20 of them, and when we got the check they said that it wasn't applicable on that particular day. When we pointed to the board they just laughed at us and didn't care to say sorry for the misleading advertising.

On top of that the music in the living room is way too loud and you'll hear it until late at night.

Room Tip: Get the one that is farthest from the living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pound Ridge, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Writing this from La Cigale. Been in Cuenca 6 days. Did a little research, talked to a few folks, and finally settled in to La Cigale for a few days after leaving Hostal La Barranca. La Barranca was OK, actually I liked it, BUT...$5 more expensive with "breakfast" included, which was really nothing more than a croissant, a little bit of butter/marmalade, juice, coffee. La Cigale, at $5 cheaper ($16, private room) kicks it out of the park with either eggs done however OR a monster size fruit salad with yogurt/granola, juice, coffee, tea, or hot chocolate, and a roll.

Location is PERFECT. Quiet street, the ENTIRE other side of which is taken up by a church.

Cafe/bar seems to me to be one of the better and more popular ones in town. Mojitos and other drinks @ $1.50 during 5:00 - 8:00 happy hour. Many places not as nice at double the price or more.

Cafe is packed every night with a happy mix of locals and tourists sitting at candlelit tables, great vibe. Want to sleep? I'm in the room closest to the bar/cafe, just past the door that leads to the rooms, to the left. No problem, which is more than I can say for many places around the area. Hey folks, I'm 56 years old, love electronica and still go to raves. But don't be blasting reggaeton while I'm eating/relaxing. Bar/cafe closes every night around 11 or 12 and you can hear a pin drop a few minutes later.

Food is VERY good, and reasonable, although don't expect it to be as low as what you might find on the street. If you've never been to Cuenca before (this is my first time,) the food here is outrageous and the prices are, well...I had lunch at Las Colonias on Calle Larga today. This insane pile of fried rice, beans, eggs, beef, chicken and shrimp AND a bottle of coke. $3.50. SO good (i'm from NY and I've eaten everywhere from Papaya King to Le Bernardin, so trust me.) That was about 2:00 this afternoon. Lunch was so ridiculously grande that I haven't been able to eat anything since. In fact I may never have to eat anything for the rest of my life. Yes, my food bill for the entire day was $3.50! (Left a $0.50 tip.)

I feel so secure here, and the staff is so awesome, that I've hardly bothered to lock my door since I've been here, and still have all my jewelry, my Kindle Fire, my Droid and my camera.

A couple of (very) minor points...the guest computer upstairs has been working intermittently. I'm sure they'll get it fixed...internet cafes everywhere, so just take a few steps in any direction if it's misbehaving. The one down the block to the left on the corner is perpetually packed. Has to be good, but I wouldn't know, never been able to get in there.

My room is 10 feet from the bar/cafe which has consistently sublime wifi, but wifi ranges from fair to poor in my room. When I mentioned this to Diego, he spent 15 minutes physically changing the location of the router. Are you kidding me? I could tell you what staff reaction to that comment might have been at 90% of the places I've stayed, but this a family-friendly article.

Want to splurge one night? Cafe Austria. Wiener Schnitzel. OMG!!! Cafe con leche y ensalada, two lemonades - $14 including 1.50 tip.

I strongly recommend you make a reservation. I came to Cuenca with none and had to wait 3 days to get in here.

Almost forgot...plenty of hot water.

I've been keeping a running record of my tab to compare against theirs. When i checked out? Not one mistake.

Gracias Olivia, Benicio, Rafael, Diego, and anybody I might have missed.


  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanaTeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Great location, clean rooms/bathrooms, wifi, (computers to use if you don't have one-super plus to not pay for internet cafe), great food, breakfast included!

Can't beat the price with breakfast - eggs or fruit and granola and it includes juice and coffee or hot chocolate.

Only potential issue is the bar downstairs - can be noisy but doesn't close too late - just put in your earplugs. Great happy hour and the food is awesome!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank record123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We, my wife and I, based our short stay (3 days/2 nights) in Ceunca at La Cigale and were very glad that we did. The price for our double room was $23 per night which included a nice breakfast. The room had a nice and comfortable bed, was a good size, with enough space for our big rucksacks and a very nice ensuite. Our sleep was not disturbed by anything in the hostel itself but the city bells were annoyimgly insistent- this hasnt affected my rating as I think it would be rather harsh to blame the ringing of the city bells on the hostel. An added bonus to the standard of the hostel is its restaurant which serves very acceptable food in large portions.

Room Tip: People need to be aware that we had the room which seemed to be furthest from the (good) restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

So I hesitate at giving this a Very Good rating - but... given what it actually is, it is probably very good. Its a hostel. Not a hotel. Friends of ours who are living in Ecuador booked this and we stayed there with them. It was clean and fairly comfortable - but I'll be honest, I'm used to staying in Marriott's/Westin's for work and while I have traveled extensively, I would usually stay at a hotel a star or two above this one (just my own personal preference). The rooms we had were on the main floor in the back corner. While clean, our room had a nasty musty odour, but our friend's didn't... The bar is also loud in the evening - so great if you are an 18 year old on a back pack trip, not so great settled down 31 year old trying to sleep at 11pm. :-) It was actually ok - and for the $20/night it cost us - it couldn't be beat, but again, just go into it with the right expectations. Food in the restaurant (especially dinner) is great. And Happy Hour drink prices can't be beat!

Room Tip: Try to get an upper floor away from the main hallway/stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
0.7 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#15 of 60 in Cuenca
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Casona
Hotel La Casona
#19 of 60 in Cuenca
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Orquidea Hostel
La Orquidea Hostel
#3 of 70 in Cuenca
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Yakumama
Hostal Yakumama
#16 of 74 in Cuenca
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cigale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cigale

Property: La Cigale
Address: Honorato Vasquez 7-80 y Luis Cordero, Cuenca 00593, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private and shared rooms that includes a good breakfast, private bathroom with constant hot water, good mattresses... It also includes wireless internet which stretches from our café, in which you can buy delicious and cheap food, from hummus and pita to savoury crepes to steak to nachos with guacamole. It turns into a bar at night, complete with happy hour, good music and a great atmosphere. This might have been a problem for sleeping, but no – the music gets shut off and everyone gets kicked out at somewhere at midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your La Cigale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cigale Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing