We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star hotel at a fair price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Aguila
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“3 star hotel at a fair price”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We are ending a four night stay here. The hotel was opened in 2010. It is a reasonably well done renovation of a large residence. Most every thing is new, but made to look old. The rooms are on the smaller side. The first room we were given was very small, the second was fine.The baths are good sized and have a nice shower. Everything is very clean. There is good seating for reading on the second floor. Most of the other chairs look great, but are uncomfortable. There is no adequate light for reading at night. The breakfasts are ok. Location is very good, but nothing is far from the center of Cuenca. The front desk staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mebent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Mebent

Thank you very much for sahring your comments on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your time writing them.

Thanks also for remarking those details to be considered. It will help us to improve our service.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon,

Kind regards!

Cynthia Chacón
Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    85
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
120
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We spent three nights in Hotel Casa del Aguila. Despite the fact that our first two nights there were the last of Carnival, our stay was pleasant and quiet. The hotel is charming with a mix of antiques and newer pieces made to fit the décor.

From the very beginning the staff was friendly and helpful. Their excellent English helped to make up for our abominable Spanish, and we immediately felt welcomed and comfortable. They are happy to make suggestions and answer questions. They made reservations, called taxis, arranged outings, and mailed post cards for us.

The room (No. 10) is small but comfortable. The bathroom was a bit dark as the light over the sink seemed to be on its way out. This wasn't something that really bothered us. Overall, the worst things about the room were the two small-ish pillows and the leaky shower. After showering, we just used our towels on the little puddles, and left the room that way. When we came back each day, it was like new again. Not a big deal.

There are lots of public spaces to read or use the Internet, but we didn't see a lot of other guests around when we were. Our favorite parts of this hotel are the glass roof and the courtyards. The complimentary continental breakfast was a nice start to our days. A blend of local fruits, fresh eggs, and a variety of grains and dairy, the offerings were a bit different every day.

We'd rented a car, and the hotel provided off-street parking in a lot across the street The city was relatively quiet because of the Carnival (when, as the front desk clerk pointed out, the people from the Andes descend to the beaches), so we were supplied with a map and a couple suggestions. The area surrounding the hotel "reopened" on Ash Wednesday, so the city was full and the shops were open. Hotel Casa del Aguila was a nice, central place to be--close to a flower market and street food and souvenir shops (and bakeries, churches, party stores, restaurants).

We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel (we had No. 10) are relatively quiet. We heard the doors of other gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Heather

What a beautiful thing to read all your comments!

Thank you very much for these enthusiastic opinions and for specifying all the details from your stay. It was a real pleasure to assit you with the information you needed.

We hope we can see you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Cynthia Chacón
Reservations Deparment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We were bumped to this hotel after our first choice fell through. What a delight. The hotel is cozy yet upscale with many design features where it can also be a museum. It has incredible atmosphere with many antiques, each room different, gorgeous garden, great views. It is also walking distance to all the attractions of the center of Cuenca. The breakfast is full and plentiful and the service and staff are professional, attentive and efficient. We felt perfectly at home and welcome. It was a terrific stay and we were so relieved our first choice was not an option. Oh, it's a terrific value for the price as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeH36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Mike

Thank you very much for your wonderful words!

What a pleasure to read your comments! I will naturally share your remarks with all our team

We really feel glad to know that your stay here was terrific, and please don´t hesitate to contact us in the future for more information.

Have an excellent day!

Cynthia Chacón
Reservations Departmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The place is charming, clean and friendly. The staff is amazingly helpful and speaks good english. They helped us with dinner directions, scheduled a massage for me (which the cost was under the estimated amount :) and helped us with not only tours but directions so we could drive on our own. I would highly recommend Hotel Casa De Aguila. And it was only about 5 blocks from the main square, so centrally located also.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arasaysmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear client

We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you very much for sharing your impressions with us on Tripadvisor!

Thank you as well for your wonderful comments on our staff and we were pleased to assist you with recomendations and directions.

Don't hesitate to contact us in the future.

Sicerely,

Cynthia Chacon
Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This small hotel is located in a tastefully renovated historic house in the old city centre.
Our room was very spacious and clean with big windows and a very comfortable bed with pristine white linens. It did overlook the street, so there was some street noise. Our only complaint is that the curtains barely darkened the room.
The staff were all friendly and helpful and the breakfast was in a pretty garden patio.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Erica

Thank you very much for leaving your wonderful comments on Tripadvisor!

We were delighted that you enjoyed staying with us, and that you liked our brekafast and our common areas.

Thanks for you time writing your opinion and we'll really take into account your comment about curtains.

We'll be looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Cynthia Chacon
Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Comfortable, great location in the old city center (near restaurants, shopping, but not loud location), breakfast is included, beautiful historic restoration, and terrific service by staff (i.e. called restaurants for us, called taxis, made recommendations for daytrips, etc.).

Only complaints - internet connection was impossible for most of our stay (three nights). Walls, etc. are thin so you can hear sounds from the lobby, other rooms, etc even if you're in one of the quieter, more remote rooms.

Cuenca gets cool at night. The hotel provides a space heater in each room, but we didn't need it.

The staff provides bottled water each day. Nice linens.

Adequate places to store your belongings (desk, chair, armoire) and a safe for valuables.

Continental breakfast is good, but get there by 9:30am to avoid missing out on certain items. Courtyard is beautiful place to dine or just relax.

There are also other nice places to sit throughout the hotel, both indoors and outdoors. I like the mix of indoors and outdoors, although that's probably because it was pretty dry during our stay! There is a little business center with a computer and printer, but with the internet connection being hit or miss, don't expect to always be able to get online. If you have issues, you can ask the staff to access information on their computer...they usually seemed to have internet access at the front desk luckily. There are also books in English and Spanish located throughout the hotel.

Highly recommend this lovely hotel, which comes with great service and a convenient location.

Room Tip: For a quieter experience, ask for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericam1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your stay in Casa del Águila.

We were delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed our common areas and rooms. Moreover the good thing of being downtown is that you are close to several touristic places in the city.

We feel sorry for the wifi connection. Some days in decemeber we were having some problems due to the internet company. However they resolved that issue and the connection now is fine.

Thanks one more time and have a wonderful day!

Best Regards,

Cynthia Chacon
Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

It’s near the center of the city making it easy to go there and learn about it. The hotel is comfortable with good and clean rooms. Its only problem is that is has a very poor Wi-Fi that doesn’t work most of the time. Its price is adequate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvaro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear ErickMedellin

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Hotel Casa del Aguila. It was a real pleasure to assist you.

We were really concerned about your comment on the internet wifi connection. We truly apologize for this incident during your stay. The Internet company that supplies this service to us has been experimenting some changes, and due to this reason the connection here was weak. We are solving this problem as soon as we can in order to provide a better quality service

Thanks one more time and we wish you a very Happy New Year!

Sincerely,

Cynthia Chacón V.
Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 60 in Cuenca
442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#6 of 60 in Cuenca
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
1.6 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Aguila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Aguila

Property: Hotel Casa del Aguila
Address: Mariscal Sucre 13 56 | between Juan Montalvo and Esteves de Toral, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa del Aguila 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is located in a pictorial colonial-style building, which takes us back to a time full of tradition and magnetism in Cuenca. Located in one of the most beautiful places of the Historical center, the most important attraction is the diversity of all elements spread in its common areas and the magnificent conservative details in its decoration, which provide a different personality to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casa del Aguila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing