We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Aguila
Ranked #10 of 62 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The place is charming, clean and friendly. The staff is amazingly helpful and speaks good english. They helped us with dinner directions, scheduled a massage for me (which the cost was under the estimated amount :) and helped us with not only tours but directions so we could drive on our own. I would highly recommend Hotel Casa De Aguila. And it was only about 5 blocks from the main square, so centrally located also.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arasaysmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear client

We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you very much for sharing your impressions with us on Tripadvisor!

Thank you as well for your wonderful comments on our staff and we were pleased to assist you with recomendations and directions.

Don't hesitate to contact us in the future.

Sicerely,

Cynthia Chacon
Reservations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 240 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

This small hotel is located in a tastefully renovated historic house in the old city centre.
Our room was very spacious and clean with big windows and a very comfortable bed with pristine white linens. It did overlook the street, so there was some street noise. Our only complaint is that the curtains barely darkened the room.
The staff were all friendly and helpful and the breakfast was in a pretty garden patio.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Erica

Thank you very much for leaving your wonderful comments on Tripadvisor!

We were delighted that you enjoyed staying with us, and that you liked our brekafast and our common areas.

Thanks for you time writing your opinion and we'll really take into account your comment about curtains.

We'll be looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Cynthia Chacon
Reservations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Comfortable, great location in the old city center (near restaurants, shopping, but not loud location), breakfast is included, beautiful historic restoration, and terrific service by staff (i.e. called restaurants for us, called taxis, made recommendations for daytrips, etc.).

Only complaints - internet connection was impossible for most of our stay (three nights). Walls, etc. are thin so you can hear sounds from the lobby, other rooms, etc even if you're in one of the quieter, more remote rooms.

Cuenca gets cool at night. The hotel provides a space heater in each room, but we didn't need it.

The staff provides bottled water each day. Nice linens.

Adequate places to store your belongings (desk, chair, armoire) and a safe for valuables.

Continental breakfast is good, but get there by 9:30am to avoid missing out on certain items. Courtyard is beautiful place to dine or just relax.

There are also other nice places to sit throughout the hotel, both indoors and outdoors. I like the mix of indoors and outdoors, although that's probably because it was pretty dry during our stay! There is a little business center with a computer and printer, but with the internet connection being hit or miss, don't expect to always be able to get online. If you have issues, you can ask the staff to access information on their computer...they usually seemed to have internet access at the front desk luckily. There are also books in English and Spanish located throughout the hotel.

Highly recommend this lovely hotel, which comes with great service and a convenient location.

Room Tip: For a quieter experience, ask for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericam1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your stay in Casa del Águila.

We were delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed our common areas and rooms. Moreover the good thing of being downtown is that you are close to several touristic places in the city.

We feel sorry for the wifi connection. Some days in decemeber we were having some problems due to the internet company. However they resolved that issue and the connection now is fine.

Thanks one more time and have a wonderful day!

Best Regards,

Cynthia Chacon
Reservations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

It’s near the center of the city making it easy to go there and learn about it. The hotel is comfortable with good and clean rooms. Its only problem is that is has a very poor Wi-Fi that doesn’t work most of the time. Its price is adequate.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvaro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear ErickMedellin

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Hotel Casa del Aguila. It was a real pleasure to assist you.

We were really concerned about your comment on the internet wifi connection. We truly apologize for this incident during your stay. The Internet company that supplies this service to us has been experimenting some changes, and due to this reason the connection here was weak. We are solving this problem as soon as we can in order to provide a better quality service

Thanks one more time and we wish you a very Happy New Year!

Sincerely,

Cynthia Chacón V.
Reservations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

A welcome respite at the end of a birding trip in Southern Ecuador, this lovely hotel was very comfortable and located just three blocks away from the historic center of Cuenca. Built in 1802 as a family home Casa del Aguila has several salons, an atrium and a patio for the delicious and varied breakfasts. The public areas are filled with art and artifacts of colonial life in Ecuador. The room was spacious and bathroom quite modern. The staff was very accommodating and helpful in arranging a private tour of historic Cuenca for us. Wifi was excellent in most areas of the building. We enjoyed several restaurants in the neighborhood for dinner. Paid overnight gated parking was available nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karenmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Karen

Thank you so much for leaving your impression about the hotel.

We were so glad to read your opinions and to know that your stay here was comfotable and that you enjoyed our decoration and service.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon and we wish you wish you a very Happy New Year.

Kind regards,

Cynthia Chacon V.
Reservations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I put up my friend and his family of three for 4 nights. Being in the rooms...the suit and a basic, I was truly impressed with the lodging. The old house has been beautifully redone in classic colonial style. The hotel actually meanders through various stair cases, floors, nooks, living rooms where you can get together for a cocktail before heading out for diner. The service, the best. The reservations were handled professionally and efficiently, rooms were ready and waiting. The in house service was always friendly and helpful. Very clean, very hospitable, great rooms, quiet, great decor, 4 blocks from the central square and one block to a really beautiful square with a great little resturant - San Sabas. If you need a place to stay in Cuenca, this will make you happy.

Room Tip: The front suit has a balcony and a huge space. I like the back and top floor rooms, two beds and a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest

Reading these comments encourage us to give our best.

Thanks for your important words on Tripadvisor, and for your recommendations! We lso thank you for your opinions about breakfast and the reservations procedure. I'll definitely let the hotel staff know about it. Finally we are glad that you have enjoyed are common areas.

We hope you can come back soon to enjoy the Casa del Aguila experience.

Kind regards,

Cynthia Chacón
Reservations Deparment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

A spectacular place, full of energy and wonderful sounds good in the center of Cuenca, near the Calderon Park, breakfast here is magical and peaceful, I love waking up in their rooms full of color and those beds as soft as long as we Cuenca staying here but we have not a good trip. We are a gay couple and there was no problem at the hotel, all very friendly and quiet.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back of the hotel near the backyard, they are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrivadeneirab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear M. Rivadeneria

What an excellent way to start the day by reading your wonderful comments.

We feel very glad to know that your stay was lovely and we thank you for your time writing those lines.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cynthia Chacón
Reservations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 62 in Cuenca
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#7 of 62 in Cuenca
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 62 in Cuenca
372 reviews
1 mi away
Kuna Hotel
Kuna Hotel
#8 of 62 in Cuenca
124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#3 of 62 in Cuenca
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Aguila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Aguila

Address: Mariscal Sucre 13 56 | between Juan Montalvo and Esteves de Toral, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 62 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range: $69 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa del Aguila 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is located in a pictorial colonial-style building, which takes us back to a time full of tradition and magnetism in Cuenca. Located in one of the most beautiful places of the Historical center, the most important attraction is the diversity of all elements spread in its common areas and the magnificent conservative details in its decoration, which provide a different personality to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casa del Aguila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing