We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Aguila
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Bray Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Nothing much to see from the outside but it is very nicely restored on the inside. However, we really felt that this was more a museum than a place to stay. We were put on the second floor - with NO lift even though we could see many empty rooms on both the the ground floor and 1st floor as all the rooms have windows opening inwards and all were actually open. Our room was tiny with a double bed squashed against the wall and really not much space atall. Staff were invisible apart a person behind the reception desk and breakfast was a ghostly happening with stuff just laid out for self service. We had dinner up the road in Mangiare which was wonderful and it is part of another hotel called Posada Del Angel which we discovered was slightly cheaper and for us, much nicer. Would not stay in the Cienega again but would definitely recommend the Posada del Angel and Mangiare.

Room Tip: Higher floors are a long way up, try to get a lower one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DympnaBrayIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear DympnaBrayIreland

Thank you for leaving your impressions on Tripadvisor.

We sincerely regret that the hotel was not up to your expectations even though you liked the restauration. We would love the opportunity to change this first impression! Please do not hesitate to contact me for your future reservation.

Yours sincerely,

Cynthia Chacón
Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    84
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
118
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have just stayed 2 nights here and was charmed by the place and impressed by the helpful staff. The lack of a TV only added to the atmosphere. The stairs might prove a problem for the less mobile. The location is great. The presentation of the rooms and the comfort of the bed were great. I was in room 14 and the outside noise level was very low although I did wonder if the slightly creaking floor boards may have been audible in the room below. Perhaps a cushion could be provided for the chair in the room. All in all, a very nice hotel with great character.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sifr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving your comments on Tripadvisor. How wonderful to read that you enjoyed our services!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon at Casa del Aguila.

Best regards

Cynthia Chacón
Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in a great location. Excellent service--staff made restaurant reservations for us and booked tours, all of which turned out to be right on the money. If I ever find myself in Cuenca again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Jamie P.

It is such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed staying with us at the Hotel Casa del Águila. We thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor !

For us it is really wonderful that you have chosen us for your destination in Cuenca.

We truly hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Cynthia Chacón
Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel does not look like much from the outside but as soon as you enter you are captivated by the antique furnishings and décor. The premises are spotless as are the rooms. I was in the back of the hotel and nights are very quiet there. Yes you can hear other guests walking up the stairs and opening their doors but since it is a small property you hardly notice them. Breakfast is included in your rate and served from 7 - 10 am. Generally includes scrambled eggs with some sausage and fresh fruit, juices and cereals. The staff has been very friendly and helpful when asked. There are plenty of pictures here and they are accurate!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdb369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing you wonderful comments on Tripadvisor !

It was such a pleasure to welcome you and to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your future reservation.
Sincerely,

Cynthia Chacón
Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Casa del Aguila is a small hotel, but very clean, cozy, comfortable and charming. I will recommend this hotel to travellers that are not looking for luxury, but comfort and relaxation.
The rooms are small, but they serve the purpose.

Room Tip: Some double rooms are very small, it is best to choose a twin room that offer a double bed and a twi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 326Macarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Sra. Macarena,

Mil gracias por sus valiosas palabras en Tripadvisor. Es para nosotros un gusto enorme saber que disfrutó de su estancia en Casa del Águila.

Esperamos verla de nuevo pronto! Mientras tanto, no dude en ponerse en contacto con nosotros por cualquier inquietud.

Cordialmente,

Cynthia Chacón
Jefe de Reservas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were originally slated for the Hostal Posada del Angel, but they were completely booked when we arrived due to the celebration of Cuenca's founding. But they graciously referred us to the Hotel Casa del Aguila, their nearby "sister hotel" -- and what a bonus that turned out to be! We ended up 6 nights in Cuenca, instead of the 2 nights we originally planned, and this was the perfect spot. It's not far from Cafe San Sebas and the Museum of Contemporary Art, two of our favorite spots in Cuenca. And there was not one, but two laundries close by.The hotel decor was rustic yet charming. We felt like we were tucked away in a cozy museum. The fresh flowers everywhere were a nice touch. Our room was quiet and the bed was comfortable. The only thing missing from the room was a comfy chair to relax in. But the second floor reading room was a great hide-away spot with plenty of places to curl up. The breakfast room was sunny with a translucent awning to protect you in case of light rains. The scrambled eggs were fresh and delicious. Same for the yogurt. We only wished they offered a broader selection of fruits. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gl0balCitizen_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

For us, it is such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed staying with us. Thanks for your important words, and for let us know that you liked our services and the hotel decor. This is always a wonderful source of motivation for all of us.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Cynthia Chacón
Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We originally planned two night three days but we loved both Cuenca and the hotel so much that we extended our stay by a few extra days! Cynthia in the reception is wonderful! She helped us so much and gave us great tips and booked things for us also which was a huge help. She also recommended great restaursnts to us, we were really grateful. The house is spectacular and really comfortable to stay in. There is a laundry service around the corner. Cost us only $3 for a big bag of laundry and the lady had it done in an hour!

The only downside to the hotel is that it's not very soundproof. For us it wasn't such a problem because there were only a few other guests at the time we stayed here.

There is a computer in the spare room upstairs. It's very slow but it works! There are no hair dryers in the rooms but I was able to borrow one from the reception. There is no TV but this wasn't a problem for us either since Cuenca is do beautiful, the last thing you'll come here to do is watch tv!
Breakfast is really good. Eat early & the food will still be hot. The rooms are quite cold, since Cuenca itself is cold. There is a small electric heater in our room but I suggest bringing warm clothes! Especially if you plan to visit the national park and/or ruins.

We can't wait to come here again some day!

Stay here! If you are a bit flexible (with noise and cold) then I promise you won't be dissapointed. When you arrive, wait for Cynthia at the reception and let her give you all her wonderful recommendations!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mad2live482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Google Translation
Estimados clientes,

Agradecemos infinitamente sus comentarios. Es un gran gusto para nosotros saber que la estadía en Casa del Águila fue de su agrado. Cada opinión para nosotros es muy importante, pues nos hace conocer que aspectos debemos mejorar a fin de ofrecer siempre un mejor servicio.

Estamos muy contentos que nuestras sugerencias les haya sido útiles y esperamos poder servirles en un futuro próximo. Las puertas del hotel estarán siempre abiertas.

Saludos cordiales

Departamento de reservas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#3 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kuna Hotel
Kuna Hotel
#8 of 60 in Cuenca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Aguila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Aguila

Property: Hotel Casa del Aguila
Address: Mariscal Sucre 13 56 | between Juan Montalvo and Esteves de Toral, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa del Aguila 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is located in a pictorial colonial-style building, which takes us back to a time full of tradition and magnetism in Cuenca. Located in one of the most beautiful places of the Historical center, the most important attraction is the diversity of all elements spread in its common areas and the magnificent conservative details in its decoration, which provide a different personality to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casa del Aguila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing