We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you get up really early, you will love it!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa del Aguila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Aguila
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If you get up really early, you will love it!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week, and found our room to be small, dark, no where to hang clothes ie hooks in bathroom, one night stand for queen bed. We also had huge spaces in the door wood slats, you could see out, or in thru them! The courtyard, with early risers is noisey, sounds rise, as does when folks get back late at night, but first they ring the front doorbell, which you can hear thru the whole place, a long with the phone ringing at ths front desk. So if you like to sleep till at least 8am, or past, you might stay at a quieter place. Oh, forgot there is a rooster that starts to crow @ 4:30am every morning! The neighbors rooster!! We live here now and there are much nicer places for less, and better neighborhoods. The front desk folks and the maids however were extremely kind and polite. The breakfast modest, at best.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WiznWon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear client

Thanks for your comments. It is important to know your opinion and correct these details in order to improve our service. Sometimes the issue with boutique hotels downtown city is that you can hear the noise at the courtyard. However thanks one more time for your words, and will check this item to provide a solution.

Best regards,

Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    83
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
118
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusettts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel Casa del Aguila on three separate occasions over the past few years. Each time we enjoyed it and found the accommodations excellent. It is a beautifully restored colonial house, with exquisite attention to detail. The staff is friendly, helpful and will go out of their way to assist in whatever way they can. On one occasion we came with our 2 year old grandson, and everyone took the time to play with him, and make him feel special. The included buffet breakfast is delicious and offers a nice assortment of fresh and well prepared choices. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay near to the center of the city, yet just far enough away so that the noise at night is minimal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorenzorlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Client

Thank you so much for your kind words. We feel honored to know that your stay at Casa del Aguila was lovely. It was a real pleasure to serve you and your family, and we also wanted to thank you for choosing us as your hotel in Cuenca. Don't hesitate to contact us in the future, we`ll be glad to assist you.

Sincerely

Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I recently stayed at Casa del Aguila and I found it to be quite a great hotel for the price. I love the fact that it was a colonial home restored to some of its former glory and now serving as an added attraction to the quaint and picturesque town of Cuenca! Lovely hotel and close to all he attractions. I also found the staff to be vey personable and knowledgeable.

Guido

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GPC411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear client

We higly appreciate your comments to the hotel. Every single detail was though to provide the clients a cozy environment and that you can enjoy each of our common areas. Thanks for your kind words and we'll be glad to have you here in the future.

Best regards

Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This old house set around an interior courtyard is a charming hotel. Lovely courtyards and public spaces. My husband and I spent two nights there in January. The first night we had the matrimonial suite which is a lovely room at the front of the hotel. Unfortunately the street noise was very loud and we moved to a smaller room (10) for the next night. This room was long and narrow and awkward to move around in but the bed was very comfortable and it was quiet. Don't konw what the other rooms are like but rooms at the back of the hotel are probably quietest as sounds do carry up from the courtyard and front lobby. Breakfast is served in a pretty enclosed court yard. It was good but not managed very well. Each morning we arrived at 8am to find the serving platters empty. They were replenished (except for the fruit which I guess was done) but the room was closed off at 9:30 am with no more coffee available despite the breakfast hours being 7-10am. It is a great location close to the main square and the front desk staff are very helpful in making reservations etc. Definitely good value for money

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear client

We are so glad to know that you had a lovely stay at Casa del Aguila. Thanks for your kind words and for all the details that you mentioned. We will take care of them in order to improve our service and we are always pleased to read your comments .

Greetings

Cynthia Chacón
Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We visited Cuenca over Christmas, and stayed here with our sons. It's a beautiful peaceful setting. We really enjoyed the open courtyard, and the lovely common spaces. We had two rooms, the suite and a regular room, and both were very comfortable. The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. We all looked forward each morning to the breakfast, with the great food, and the wonderful setting. The hotel is in easy walking distance of most of the city's main attractions. I highly recommend this great little hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andjmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear client

It was very nice to have you here and your family as our guests, specially during Christmas eve.
We are very thankfull for all your comments and recomendations, and it motivates us to provide a better service. We hope you can visit us in a future ocassion.

Best regards

Cynthia Chacón
Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, excellent service and great location. We stayed in the rooms on the top level and loved having a deck and a view outside the room. For this price range I don't think you can get a better hotel in Cuenca.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorHillSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Hill

Thanks for your comments to the hotel, we highly appreciate them. We feel good to know that you liked this place, specially the view from your room.
We were very pleased to assist you.

Have an excellent day.

Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed here with my parents for three nights. We all loved the hotel; it was clean and comfortable and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good. The shower was great with hot water plenty of pressure. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mel_c521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear client

Read your comments make us feel good because you enjoyed your experience at Casa del Aguila. We are glad to hear that you and your familiy had a lovely stay, and we wanted to thank you for your opinions, for recomend us and for choosing us.

Kind regards.

Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#3 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
0.1 mi away
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Aguila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Aguila

Property: Hotel Casa del Aguila
Address: Mariscal Sucre 13 56 | between Juan Montalvo and Esteves de Toral, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa del Aguila 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is located in a pictorial colonial-style building, which takes us back to a time full of tradition and magnetism in Cuenca. Located in one of the most beautiful places of the Historical center, the most important attraction is the diversity of all elements spread in its common areas and the magnificent conservative details in its decoration, which provide a different personality to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa del Aguila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing