We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian”

Mangiare Benne Restaurante
Ranked #11 of 719 Restaurants in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed February 4, 2019 via mobile

I guess there is Cuenca time. Open at 5 means 5:10. At least you can wait in the hotel lobby, which also operates as an extension of the restaurant. Understandably so. The restaurant is small, and given the quality of the food, I can see why, as they draw a good crowd. I ordered the pesto pasta dish with chicken; delicious. Service was also good aside from the late opening. Again, not cheap for pasta and chicken in Cuenca, but worth a visit.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Mortakye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 467 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2019

We've had their fettucini carbonara on two occasions and it was excellent; very rich and creamy. Combined with a delicious salad and we had an excellent meal.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank GrMtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2019

We set out to find a restaurant which was highly recommended on TA but was inexplicably locked and shuttered, in spite of their web site saying it was open, and came upon this great Italian restaurant on the same street – so happy the other place was closed otherwise we wouldn’t have experienced this one. Delicious food, beautifully presented. We had potato soup, chicken soup, garlic shrimps and a wonderful stuffed chicken breast, all large portions. They serve complimentary garlic bread and crackers with delicious dips of roasted peppers and eggplant, would have liked dessert but no room after the other courses. Efficient service, faster than most Ecuadorean restaurants we experienced, the waiters spoke English and it was very reasonably priced. Wish we had discovered it earlier in our stay, could only fit in two visits before we left.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank mblp31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2018

finding good italian food anywhere is a treat, but finding it in the heart of ecuador is especially satisfying. we liked this place so much that we ate there twice in four days, both times were just excellent. the caramelized onion bruschetta was great, the mix and match homemade pastas with whatever homemade sauce trips your trigger a fun and tasty idea and the wine list was very reasonably priced and extensive. we would eat here weekly if it was in our home town.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beulahdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I ate there for dinner on December 11. After reading all of the favorable reviews we were very excited; however, we came away disappointed.

We started with a cheese plate which was ok. All of the cheeses were mild. It would have been nice to have a variety with some sharp cheese.

For the main course, my wife had the surf and turf which was very good. I had the penne bolognesa which was below average. The pasta was so over cooked in fell apart when stuck with a fork and the sauce was basically a beef and tomato consommé that had very little taste.

The service was very good and they gave us a complimentary tiramisu; however, there are much better options in Cuenca.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank kevincY6830AQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangiare Benne Restaurante also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to Mangiare Benne Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing