We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, cozy, friendly retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cuenca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kookaburra Cafe and Accommodation
Ranked #28 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet, cozy, friendly retreat”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Located in the middle of the historic section, this lodging is a retreat from the noises of this busy city. We stayed in the top room (on second floor) which is located at the back of the facility. To access you pass through a lovely courtyard. Other than the odd siren at night (which was rare) it was totally quiet through the night. It has access through the courtyard, to a great coffee shop "Bananas" (open from 8am to 3 pm daily) where the food and the service are excellent, and the conversations with other english-speaking (cuz we don't speak Spanish....yet) patrons are fun and informative. And, it is very close to a number of markets, shops, museums, cathedrals, parks, restaurants, bars, etc.....and I mean "easy walking distance", and many of which are right out the front door. Rick and Carol are great hosts and always accessible...within reason. 5 to 10 minute cab ride from either bus depot or airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
30
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Far from swanky but comfortable, clean, plenty of hot water and attentive host. Wonderful food on premises at the attached Bananas Restaurant. There are two small suites. Upper has a full sized bed and the lower has two singles. If you want the full bed, be sure to make that clear. We did and upon arrival our reservation was not honored leaving us to two small single beds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 197448562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Our family of four is enjoying our second great stay at Kookaburra. We are super happy here. The rooms are clean, modern and tastefully decorated with everything you need, but without clutter. The sheets are nice quality and the beds are comfy. There is even a small kitchenette with a fridge, microwave, French press and coffee and tea. They even provide milk for the coffee.
The location is close to the historic district and the river and is in walking distance of lots of restaurants and museums. Though Calle Larga is a busy street, the rooms are located way in the back and are very quiet and very secure. The owners Carol and Rick are very friendly and helpful. We are so happy we found this great place to stay! Food at the cafe is great!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tannerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
340 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Kookaburra is such a nice place to stay. The owners and staff are very helpful, the room was very clean and stocked with milk, water, coffee, silverware and some mugs and dishes for us to use. Chris took us to our room, explained everything to us, even how to use the shower to get maximum hot water (bathroom was great by the way.) He gave us a map and helped orient us to our surroundings.

We really felt like we had a little home of our own in Cuenca. Wifi just down the stairs in the cafe and courtyard. The food in the cafe is very good, try their special juice! We love it here and would 100% stay here again. Best place we stayed in all of Ecuador over a 2 week period in multiple cities.

Room Tip: We were in the upstairs room. I think there are only 2 rooms total so book early. You will not reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steph0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed 5 nights in October 2011. The room is very clean, safe and quiet. Breakfast is wonderful. Chris, Jenny and Jamie provide loads of help with everything.
,

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parttwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed three nights at the Kookaburra and couldn't have been happier. Chris and Jenny are excellent hosts, but make your reservations early, they only have 2 rooms!

We had the queen suite upstairs, decorated in soothing colors, with gentle ambiant lighting. In the mini kitchenette, they thoughtfully provided coffee, teas, fresh milk for coffee, bottled water (although Cuenca's water is potable), along with glasses, mugs, bottle openers and other basic kitchen items. It also had a microwave!

The suite downstairs has twin beds.

The on demand water heater meant endless suppply of hot water. The shower was nice and big and the place was very very clean.

The bed was very comfortable and for being smack dab in the heart of old town, VERY quiet.
Also, the security is very good.

Did I mention the breakfast? As Chris and Jenny also run the cafe, this is where we had breakfast. We could order anything and as much as we wanted from the menu. LOVED the artisian wheat bread.

This is a wonderful place to stay in Cuenca!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Born2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We had three wonderful nights here in September 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The apartments were perfect and Chris and Jenny are fantastic hosts! Breakfasts are fantastic, as is all the food in the cafe so it was hard to not have lunch there too! Beds are comfortable and bathrooms are spacious, clean and reliable. The apartment area is like a little oasis, as is the cafe. After a couple of months traveling through South America, having reliable hot water, reliable internet, hot water bottles, clean rooms, a gas heater and REAL coffee in the cafe was a huge surprise!

We loved our stay here and hoped to stay longer but sadly they were already fully booked. Definitely stay here if you are coming to Cuenca, it is a lovely spot in the middle of a lovely city. Very central so it is easy to get anywhere. Chris and Jenny are endless sources of knowledge if you need anything in the area, and all the other staff in the cafe are lovely too.
Not a single negative point about this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellers_from_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 60 in Cuenca
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#3 of 60 in Cuenca
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#17 of 60 in Cuenca
106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 60 in Cuenca
437 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kookaburra Cafe and Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookaburra Cafe and Accommodation

Property: Kookaburra Cafe and Accommodation
Address: Calle Larga 9 38 | Between Padre Aguirre y Benigno Malo, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kookaburra Accommodations is a privately run Bed & Breakfast in the heart of Cuenca's Historic Center. Kookaburra's three quiet mini suites at the rear of the building open onto a private courtyard set back from Bananas Cafe up front. Guests can enjoy hearty breakfasts and good coffee Tues-Sun 8-3 pm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing