We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My landing pad in Cuenca”
Review of La Casa Cuencana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Casa Cuencana
Ranked #10 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My landing pad in Cuenca”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The first time I arrived in Cuenca I'd decided to check out La Casa Cuencana due to the reviews here on TripAdvisor. I arrived on a Saturday night and was offered a dorm room to myself, and I've stayed there every time I've been back (about once a month for the past four months). I've been in two of the three buildings that are part of the hostel. The main building has more dorms and my ONLY complaint is that there's not always enough bathroom to go around when the place is busy, but if the upstairs bathroom is occupied the downstairs one usually is not.

The family who owns the place is super friendly and very accommodating. They give you a key to the room, so you're free to come and go without disturbing anyone. There's wifi, breakfast (which is new in the last month or so, I haven't tried it yet), and the location is perfect - right down the steps from the Tomebamba River and it's pathways, within walking distance of everything in the center of town. I've always left my bags there for a few hours after check-out on the day I leave, with no problems.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    45
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
14
49
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is a really nice, clean hostel on a fairly busy road, in an area of Cuenca with plenty of bars and restaurants. The owner and her son (we think) were very welcoming and friendly.
The breakfasts were really good and worth paying for.

It felt very much like a family; although we were also told not to put our bags on the bed and also had our door knocked on to see if we were smoking when someone on the street was smoking nearby, which was a bit weird. But other than that, it was great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Just as described in my guide book when I was looking for an hostel to stay in Cuenca, "Martha", the owner of this 3 building hostel, was just adorable and and made sure we were going to feel at home a la casa cuencana. The hostel lies at a great location, by some of the best restaurants and museums. It's really clean and well frequented. We also booked a day tour with Martha's son, a very interesting and knowledgeable certified tour guide and naturalist. For me, the best place I experienced to stay in Ecuador!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 days in this hostel. Martha the owner is wonderful. It's not exensive at all, the breakfast is huge with fresh fruits, cereal, yogurt etc. She helped me to call my precedent guesthouse where I had left some stuffs. She talked to rhe owner and try to help me the most she could. Her son is also a guide. He loves to talk about his culture and he is passionated. I would recommend it!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexDurok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, New York, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days and thought it was a great place. Marta the owner is great. We stayed in the building next door that they just bought and were finishing it up the day we got there so we were the first ones to stay in a brand new room with private bath and it even had a balcony.

The only drawback was the noise at night, which slowed down around 200am.

It is located in a very advantageous area for walking everywhere.

Just across the street is a nice little cafe that we ate at each morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WheresRowdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a great experience at la casa Cuencana. the private room was very nice, big and clean with small kitchen on the 3rd floor of a building next door. All the staff was helpful. Thank you to Marta, the owner who made us feel like at home. She was always very keen on giving any information we needed to discover the city and the rest of the country. We forgot some important staff in the hostel and she was so kind to send them back to us in Guayaquil by bus without charging us anything. She definitely went out of her way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan camilo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hostel has a great location. Near the panama hat museum, near the big supermarket and down town in the old center. We stayed in a private room with a shared bathroom. This is the first negative point because there is only one bathroom including a toilet on the floor to serve (when it is full) at least 12 persons. You can imagine the line in the morning. This also wakes you up when there are early birds. It is a pretty noisy place in so you will here every footstep. The kitchen is badly equipped. Almost no plates or glasses and the pots are horrible to cook with. The owners try to make you feel home and are really helpfull which is a good thing. All in all a good and cheap option to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the 5 people dorm with the own bathroom if you want to sleep in a dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bas-Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#3 of 61 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 61 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bauhouse Hostel
Bauhouse Hostel
#5 of 71 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Cafecito Hostel
El Cafecito Hostel
#29 of 71 in Cuenca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Hogar Cuencano
Hostal Hogar Cuencano
#6 of 71 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Cuencana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Cuencana

Property: La Casa Cuencana
Address: Hermano Miguel 4-45 Between Calle Larga and Honorato Vazquez | Hermano Miguel 4-45 Between Calle Larga and Honorato Vazquez, Cuenca, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cssa Cuencana Hostal, the original since 2005, We are a Ecuadorian family-run hostel. We proudly offer accommodation in a warm environment, cozy, comfortable and diverse rooms and common areas. We are located in the heart of historic district(El Centro) the best place to enjoy the local culture, history, nature and the lovely scenario of a city named Cultural Heritage of Humankind. We offer dorms and private rooms in our three buildings among great restaurants and bars, museums and the Tomebamba River and only a few blocks from the main square. Here in a safe neighborhood, you can relax and enjoy the warm hospitality of the Ecuadorian culture. Contact our email to check for availability and room options, room rates and large groups. We welcome to you to your home in Cuenca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Casa Cuencana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing