We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Casa Cuencana
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Victoria(Cuenca)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Milan(Cuenca)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveler rating
75
48
7
4
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
48
7
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerfull kitchenwould stay here againhostelcasawifihostalsmother
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 144 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Just as described in my guide book when I was looking for an hostel to stay in Cuenca, "Martha", the owner of this 3 building hostel, was just adorable and and made sure we were going to feel at home a la casa cuencana. The hostel lies at a great location, by some of the best restaurants and museums. It's really clean and well frequented. We also booked a day tour with Martha's son, a very interesting and knowledgeable certified tour guide and naturalist. For me, the best place I experienced to stay in Ecuador!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Yoann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 days in this hostel. Martha the owner is wonderful. It's not exensive at all, the breakfast is huge with fresh fruits, cereal, yogurt etc. She helped me to call my precedent guesthouse where I had left some stuffs. She talked to rhe owner and try to help me the most she could. Her son is also a guide. He loves to talk about his culture and he is passionated. I would recommend it!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank AlexDurok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days and thought it was a great place. Marta the owner is great. We stayed in the building next door that they just bought and were finishing it up the day we got there so we were the first ones to stay in a brand new room with private bath and it even had a balcony.

The only drawback was the noise at night, which slowed down around 200am.

It is located in a very advantageous area for walking everywhere.

Just across the street is a nice little cafe that we ate at each morning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WheresRowdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a great experience at la casa Cuencana. the private room was very nice, big and clean with small kitchen on the 3rd floor of a building next door. All the staff was helpful. Thank you to Marta, the owner who made us feel like at home. She was always very keen on giving any information we needed to discover the city and the rest of the country. We forgot some important staff in the hostel and she was so kind to send them back to us in Guayaquil by bus without charging us anything. She definitely went out of her way.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan camilo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hostel has a great location. Near the panama hat museum, near the big supermarket and down town in the old center. We stayed in a private room with a shared bathroom. This is the first negative point because there is only one bathroom including a toilet on the floor to serve (when it is full) at least 12 persons. You can imagine the line in the morning. This also wakes you up when there are early birds. It is a pretty noisy place in so you will here every footstep. The kitchen is badly equipped. Almost no plates or glasses and the pots are horrible to cook with. The owners try to make you feel home and are really helpfull which is a good thing. All in all a good and cheap option to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the 5 people dorm with the own bathroom if you want to sleep in a dorm
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bas-Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews