We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most adorable person in Cuenca”
Review of La Casa Cuencana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa Cuencana
Ranked #10 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Just as described in my guide book when I was looking for an hostel to stay in Cuenca, "Martha", the owner of this 3 building hostel, was just adorable and and made sure we were going to feel at home a la casa cuencana. The hostel lies at a great location, by some of the best restaurants and museums. It's really clean and well frequented. We also booked a day tour with Martha's son, a very interesting and knowledgeable certified tour guide and naturalist. For me, the best place I experienced to stay in Ecuador!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Yoann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 141 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 days in this hostel. Martha the owner is wonderful. It's not exensive at all, the breakfast is huge with fresh fruits, cereal, yogurt etc. She helped me to call my precedent guesthouse where I had left some stuffs. She talked to rhe owner and try to help me the most she could. Her son is also a guide. He loves to talk about his culture and he is passionated. I would recommend it!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank AlexDurok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days and thought it was a great place. Marta the owner is great. We stayed in the building next door that they just bought and were finishing it up the day we got there so we were the first ones to stay in a brand new room with private bath and it even had a balcony.

The only drawback was the noise at night, which slowed down around 200am.

It is located in a very advantageous area for walking everywhere.

Just across the street is a nice little cafe that we ate at each morning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WheresRowdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a great experience at la casa Cuencana. the private room was very nice, big and clean with small kitchen on the 3rd floor of a building next door. All the staff was helpful. Thank you to Marta, the owner who made us feel like at home. She was always very keen on giving any information we needed to discover the city and the rest of the country. We forgot some important staff in the hostel and she was so kind to send them back to us in Guayaquil by bus without charging us anything. She definitely went out of her way.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan camilo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hostel has a great location. Near the panama hat museum, near the big supermarket and down town in the old center. We stayed in a private room with a shared bathroom. This is the first negative point because there is only one bathroom including a toilet on the floor to serve (when it is full) at least 12 persons. You can imagine the line in the morning. This also wakes you up when there are early birds. It is a pretty noisy place in so you will here every footstep. The kitchen is badly equipped. Almost no plates or glasses and the pots are horrible to cook with. The owners try to make you feel home and are really helpfull which is a good thing. All in all a good and cheap option to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the 5 people dorm with the own bathroom if you want to sleep in a dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bas-Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I don't have any complaints about the La Casa Cuencana. It's easy to find and in a great location for the price you pay. One downside is you probably will hear music when you're going to sleep at night. But if you're tired like I was, it's not going to make a difference. The family is very nice and very eager to help. Good people. I love that it was clean and somewhat ecofriendly with motion sensor lights. I would stay there again and recommend for the weary backpacker. Also, there's a full kitchen!

Room Tip: Top floor was good, I imagine you would hear people walking up the stairs because they're creaky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jameisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have been travelling for 11 weeks through Latin America and this is one of the best so far; I recommend this hostel for a number of reasons. the place is comfortable and the owner, Marta will make you feel right at home. If you are looking for a good nights sleep and a place to relax This is the place to do it. In addition, the place has a good kitchen, hot water and a little courtyard in the top floor, all floors have a living room to chill. From a location point of view, right in the historic centre of town, the hostel is near all the great restaurants and bars. I would recommend going to the tourist office (5 Min walk) and asking for a map and overview of the city. They will give you all the information you need to see the city and the surrounding area (Inca ruins etc...).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.4 mi away
Pepe"s House
Pepe"s House
#5 of 83 in Cuenca
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bauhouse Hostel
Bauhouse Hostel
#6 of 83 in Cuenca
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Cigale
La Cigale
#8 of 79 in Cuenca
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#3 of 62 in Cuenca
467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#18 of 62 in Cuenca
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#2 of 62 in Cuenca
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Cuencana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Cuencana

Address: Hermano Miguel 4-45 Between Calle Larga and Honorato Vazquez | Hermano Miguel 4-45 Between Calle Larga and Honorato Vazquez, Cuenca, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Price Range: $12 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cssa Cuencana Hostal, the original since 2005, We are a Ecuadorian family-run hostel. We proudly offer accommodation in a warm environment, cozy, comfortable and diverse rooms and common areas. We are located in the heart of historic district(El Centro) the best place to enjoy the local culture, history, nature and the lovely scenario of a city named Cultural Heritage of Humankind. We offer dorms and private rooms in our three buildings among great restaurants and bars, museums and the Tomebamba River and only a few blocks from the main square. Here in a safe neighborhood, you can relax and enjoy the warm hospitality of the Ecuadorian culture. Contact our email to check for availability and room options, room rates and large groups. We welcome to you to your home in Cuenca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your La Casa Cuencana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing