We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good Ecuadoran run hostel”
Review of La Casa Cuencana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa Cuencana
Ranked #10 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good Ecuadoran run hostel”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

It was nice to find that there is at least one place in Cuenca that is still maintained and owned by Ecuadorians. They actually spoke in Spanish which is rare in ex-patriot heavy Cuenca. The family that runs the place is of course extremely kind and helpful. I had a private room and it was very comfortable and clean. (the room is actually the one in the photo) The price was right as well. The only problem is that on the weekend it can be a bit noisy, not from the hostel but from the music playing at other establishments across the street. I recommend staying here because it is clean, comfortable, in a great location and most importantly Ecuadoran owned and operated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    45
    7
    4
    9
See reviews for
14
49
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have been traveling for 6 months through South America and this is one of the best so far; I recommend this hostel for a number of reasons. First, the place is comfortable and the owner, Marta will make you feel right at home. If you are looking for a good nights sleep and a place to relax on a backpackers budget ($8 for dorms), this is the place to do it. In addition, the place has a good kitchen, hot water and a little courtyard to sit out and relax.

From a location point of view, you could not ask for better. Right in the historic center of town, the hostel is near all the great restaurants and bars. I would recommend going to the tourist office (5 min walk) and asking for a map and overview of the city. They will give you all the information you need to see the city and the surrounding area (Inca ruins, villages, etc...). The tourist office is on the Parque (park) Calderon near the main cathedral.

The hostal is a 25 min walk from the bus station (terminal terrestre) or a taxi will cost you something like $2.

Room Tip: Marta owns 3 hostels, each right next to each other. So if for some reason you don't like the Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonPedrito1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were booked into Hostal Hogar Cuencana but checked out after only one night. Desperat e for a good nights sleep, we checked into this place and ended up staying for longer than planned we liked it so much.

The owner Marta is a lovely lady and by far the best host we have come across during two months travelling around Ecuador. She showed us a selection of rooms and we chose a very large first floor room at the front. She explained that we may get some street noise there but as it was very spacious room with brand new bathroom with loads of hot water and a good shower, we risked it. Apart from one night when and idiot taxi driver parked outside with stereo on at full volume ( could have happened anywhere in Cuenca!) it was fine. A good location in the Centro Historico with lots of good restaurants close by.

The bed seemed brand new and was the most comfortable and the best we have had to date in Cuenca. There is also access to a kitchen which is nice when, like us you are travelling for along time.

Great value and Marta is a real pleasure to deal with and genuinely wants her guests to be happy. A bit like staying with an old friend. Would definitely recommend it as a place to stay and will return when next in Cuenca

Room Tip: All the rooms are more spacious than other we have see in Ecuador. Our at the front first floor was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crellston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

After four month in South America, we have seen a lot of hostel. When we arrived in Cuenca, very exhausted, we wanted to find a good place to stay a little. And we weren't disapointed by "The casa cuencana" (be careful, "hogar cuencana" exists in the same street, but it's different). People very kind, a warm welcome, a good kitchen, good beds... in the center of Cuenca and with reasonable price. We had a very good stay here :)

Room Tip: Room not on the street are less noisy but we slept well on the other side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara et Quenti... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The rooms were not that great but the people were friendly and the vibe is incredible. It is at the end of the main street in Cuenca, close to the Panama hat museum (Panama hats are NOT made in Panama!) Thanks to all the great staff at the Casa Cuencana, located in the heart of the historical district.

Room Tip: A very reasonable place to stay in the heart of downtown Cuenca. It will not set you back very much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked during an holiday weekend, so we reserved 2 weeks in advance, to make sure to have an hostel during the busy weekend. We told the manager that we would arrive at 8pm, and finally arrived at 9, due to a slow bus. When we got there, the manager looked trough her books and said that she didnt have our reservation, and she apologized to us. Her hostel was full, and all the other hostels around as well. She finally arranged to put us in the room of the manager of another hostel... which was not very comfortable, but as she felt so sorry we were fine with it. Also, we had to pay 10$ to this place, instead of 7$ originally at Casa Cuencana. The day after, we moved to Casa Cuencana, in a dorm, and eveything was fine and clean. When we had to checkout, the manager changed her reservation story. SHe said we arrived 3 hours later than the check-in time, so they would automatically cancel our reservation... which is not even true. Then she started checking if we stained the towels, just to annoy us.. i mean, how in the world i am suppost to stain a towel by using it after a shower? Anyway, she was not honest to us, and lied and tried to put the blame on us... even tho we clearly confirmed the reservation. Never seen this kind of service in my whole life. Disapointing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcandide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha T, Manager at La Casa Cuencana, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Candide and Fanny
We have a trust-friendly policy about reservations, We never ask for money in advance or extra charge to book a room, We only ask punctuality and commitment to our guest. You arrived 3 hours late and there was a holiday going on so we had to cancel your reservation because we didn't get any notice from you. Nevertheless We assist you to find another accommodation and the next day We even gave you a discounted rate.
You must understand that we are not a huge company, and when someone doesn't show is a big lost for our family-run hostel.
nuestros mejores deseos
la familia de martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

After traveling from Canada all the way down to Ecuador and eventually Cuenca, I was diagnosed with appendicitis. Martha spent 3 days with me, taking me to the hospital, making sure I was given the best care available, and after the surgury, waited in my room until I was released. I never thought I would encounter international surgury, but I was extremely grateful to be in such good hands under Martha and her family!

Room Tip: The rooms near the Main Street get quite loud during friday and saturday evenings, however during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
0.7 mi away
Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel
#26 of 60 in Cuenca
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#15 of 60 in Cuenca
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Casona
Hotel La Casona
#19 of 60 in Cuenca
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#38 of 60 in Cuenca
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bauhouse Hostel
Bauhouse Hostel
#6 of 74 in Cuenca
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Cuencana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Cuencana

Property: La Casa Cuencana
Address: Hermano Miguel 4-45 Between Calle Larga and Honorato Vazquez | Hermano Miguel 4-45 Between Calle Larga and Honorato Vazquez, Cuenca, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cssa Cuencana Hostal, the original since 2005, We are a Ecuadorian family-run hostel. We proudly offer accommodation in a warm environment, cozy, comfortable and diverse rooms and common areas. We are located in the heart of historic district(El Centro) the best place to enjoy the local culture, history, nature and the lovely scenario of a city named Cultural Heritage of Humankind. We offer dorms and private rooms in our three buildings among great restaurants and bars, museums and the Tomebamba River and only a few blocks from the main square. Here in a safe neighborhood, you can relax and enjoy the warm hospitality of the Ecuadorian culture. Contact our email to check for availability and room options, room rates and large groups. We welcome to you to your home in Cuenca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your La Casa Cuencana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing