We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Hogar Cuencano
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 05/29
Book now, pay at stay
$64
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 05/29
Book now, pay at stay
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca(Cuenca)
Free cancellation until 06/02
$145
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casa San Rafael(Cuenca)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Victoria(Cuenca)
Book now, pay at stay
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Los Balcones(Cuenca)
$82
$48
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 05/31
Book now, pay at stay
$70
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa de las Rosas(Cuenca)(Great Value!)
$29
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveler rating
40
50
12
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
50
12
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracethe wi fi worksthe ownerthe riverbars and restaurantsprivate roomother guestsgreat wifihot waterold townhostelnoiseplugsecuador
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 109 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was a good find for us. The bed/room was very comfortable and plenty of shelving to put your things. The shower was good and there was a little terrace attached to the room which was cute. The upstairs terrace was also nice with hammocks and tables and chairs and there are actually plugs up there so if you need to do something online you can. The internet was good except we tried to stream an NFL game and that didn't work well. Both the man and woman working there were super nice and helped us with anything we needed. They also spoke a bit of English. There is a kitchen but you're only supposed to use it from 8am - 7pm so sometimes we ate a bit earlier than we usually would. Very close to Calle Larga and all the bars/restaurants and right near the river. Very good location. Short walk to the city center.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at the hostel for two nights and enjoyed it a lot. The people there were friendly and very helpful, the rooms were big enough and clean. Just below the hostal there is a nice place for breadkfast and across the street you can find a laundry service. The hostal has a kitchen and a roof terrace that can be used by travelers. All types of restaurants and bars are just around the corner. The dorm towards the street was quite noisy due to the bars on the street, It didn't bother me as I don't mind using ear plugs. There were not many other guests, therefore there was no one else in the dorm.

Room Tip: The dorm with window towards the street is a little noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthAmericaExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Celso and his wife were great. They were very helpful with any room requests or suggestions with places to eat or visit. Yes, other guests make noise late into the evening or even in the middle of the night - there are inconsiderate people everywhere. The rooms are small, but adequate. The bathrooms are also small, but again adequate. We would be happy to visit again and stay here.

Room Tip: Some rooms have internal balconies and some do not. The newer rooms in the back share a ventilation shaft and can hear noises from the kitchen very well. Beautiful views of the El Centro area from the rooftop.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I am surprised at some of the other reviews because I stayed a week and never had noise problems. The room was cleaned every day and the bed made. The Hostess was friendly and speaks some English. The maid was polite and efficient. The shower was not the best but adequate. If you are use to staying in hotels were you have room service and other amenities then this hotel is not for you. But if you are trying to get a reasonable room at an excellent price this is the place. The Wi-fi was some of the better that I have come across in south america. I had wifi in my room with a little desk to boot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SingleNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed here for the first time when I visited Cuenca to scout it out for a possible retirement move to Latin America. Since then, I've relocated to Cuenca, stayed here twice, and all three stays were simply fine. This is a hostal...no luxury...you get what you pay for...but each time, I was given a spotlessly clean and comfortable room, with access to an equally clean bathroom.

I've read reviews from others who experienced a lot of noise...in all three stays here, I haven't experienced any of that. Location is excellent, right in the heart of El Centro, such a beautiful, historic, protected UNESCO World Heritage area. WiFi was spotty, but a lot IS in El Centro...not the fault of the hostal's owners, but of the service providers.

If you want a clean, very inexpensive place to just lay your head while you explore this beautiful city, I STILL recommend Hostal Hogar Cuencano.

If you want luxury and all the amenities of home, it isn't for you...once again, we get what we pay for, right?

THANKS Maggie...will be back when I need to!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ContentedNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews