We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostal at a great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Hogar Cuencano
Ranked #7 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was a good find for us. The bed/room was very comfortable and plenty of shelving to put your things. The shower was good and there was a little terrace attached to the room which was cute. The upstairs terrace was also nice with hammocks and tables and chairs and there are actually plugs up there so if you need to do something online you can. The internet was good except we tried to stream an NFL game and that didn't work well. Both the man and woman working there were super nice and helped us with anything we needed. They also spoke a bit of English. There is a kitchen but you're only supposed to use it from 8am - 7pm so sometimes we ate a bit earlier than we usually would. Very close to Calle Larga and all the bars/restaurants and right near the river. Very good location. Short walk to the city center.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Hogar Cuencano
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 105 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at the hostel for two nights and enjoyed it a lot. The people there were friendly and very helpful, the rooms were big enough and clean. Just below the hostal there is a nice place for breadkfast and across the street you can find a laundry service. The hostal has a kitchen and a roof terrace that can be used by travelers. All types of restaurants and bars are just around the corner. The dorm towards the street was quite noisy due to the bars on the street, It didn't bother me as I don't mind using ear plugs. There were not many other guests, therefore there was no one else in the dorm.

Room Tip: The dorm with window towards the street is a little noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthAmericaExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Celso and his wife were great. They were very helpful with any room requests or suggestions with places to eat or visit. Yes, other guests make noise late into the evening or even in the middle of the night - there are inconsiderate people everywhere. The rooms are small, but adequate. The bathrooms are also small, but again adequate. We would be happy to visit again and stay here.

Room Tip: Some rooms have internal balconies and some do not. The newer rooms in the back share a ventilation...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I am surprised at some of the other reviews because I stayed a week and never had noise problems. The room was cleaned every day and the bed made. The Hostess was friendly and speaks some English. The maid was polite and efficient. The shower was not the best but adequate. If you are use to staying in hotels were you have room service and other amenities then this hotel is not for you. But if you are trying to get a reasonable room at an excellent price this is the place. The Wi-fi was some of the better that I have come across in south america. I had wifi in my room with a little desk to boot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SingleNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed here for the first time when I visited Cuenca to scout it out for a possible retirement move to Latin America. Since then, I've relocated to Cuenca, stayed here twice, and all three stays were simply fine. This is a hostal...no luxury...you get what you pay for...but each time, I was given a spotlessly clean and comfortable room, with access to an equally clean bathroom.

I've read reviews from others who experienced a lot of noise...in all three stays here, I haven't experienced any of that. Location is excellent, right in the heart of El Centro, such a beautiful, historic, protected UNESCO World Heritage area. WiFi was spotty, but a lot IS in El Centro...not the fault of the hostal's owners, but of the service providers.

If you want a clean, very inexpensive place to just lay your head while you explore this beautiful city, I STILL recommend Hostal Hogar Cuencano.

If you want luxury and all the amenities of home, it isn't for you...once again, we get what we pay for, right?

THANKS Maggie...will be back when I need to!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ContentedNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was our first stop in Cuenca and we ended up staying a week. Celso and his wife are perfect hosts (he picked us up from Guayaquil for a reasonable fee, and was a great source of info on the drive). Decent rooms, very clean, good showers. Remarkably quiet for its central location, you can literally fall out into ten bars. Kettles, water, pots and pans, plus loads of privacy. Would recommend to anyone new to Cuenca as it's a great base and they couldn't be more helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor if possible, the doorbell might disturb you if you're a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

..... Or like a decent shower. BEAWARE that this hostal has changed its name now to just HOSTAL HOGAR CUENCANO. We booked on line, because the location and price looked good. Surprised that reviews were ok, now that we have seen the place. It was quite grotty. Bathroom was about as small as you can get with no window, no light and you needed to be really thin to actually get through the gap that the shower door would open, even with climbing over the loo to get there. The floor in the bathroom was just dire, it could not be cleaned properly because it was not even flat, tiled with bits of broken tiles with really thick rough grouting that scraped your feet. I cannot tell you if the water was hot as I just did not shower there, checking out immediately the following morning because of the lack of sleep due to the noise that lasted from 1.30am to 4.15am.

We politely asked the man making the noise to be a little less noisy as we were trying to sleep. His response was "this is a hostal". Worse than an inconsiderate guest as the man who was on the phone constantly in the communal hallway (right outside the bedrooms) WAS THE OWNER. We were asleep prior to this but the noise woke us with a start and was louder than we would usually listen to our own loud music.

As we heard every word of his conversation and music we know it was no emergency. He was merely chatting loudly to all and anyone he could ring. He also put on the lights in the hallway which flooded our room with light as the windows are internally facing and curtains as thin as they can be. At 3.15 his female guest was let in after ringing the door bell about 25 times. We heard their entertainment, and she left half an hour later. By the way, the bedding was not particularly nice. Neither did he look particularly pleasant, walking round in a dirty vest.

When we checked out the next morning, we found the online price was $4 higher than the actual room price. He would not give us a receipt unless we paid him extra. We also forfeited three nights booking fee.

This place gives hostals a bad name. There are so many others in this area, that there is no need to stay here. Just YUK!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MrandMrsNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#13 of 60 in Cuenca
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cuenca Hotel
Cuenca Hotel
#21 of 60 in Cuenca
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel
#31 of 60 in Cuenca
60 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Cafecito Hostel
El Cafecito Hostel
#18 of 74 in Cuenca
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Hogar Cuencano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Hogar Cuencano

Address: Hermano Miguel 4-36 y Calle Larga | Across from Escalinata Steps & Tomebamba River, Cuenca, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Price Range: $18 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family want to welcome you to Cuenca. We own and operate the Hostel Hogar Cuencano situated in a very convenient El Centro location across from the Escalinata Steps and Tomebamba River. We guarantee your stay will be in a spotlessly clean room with private bath and hot shower. We have a rooftop terrace that offers a calm place to enjoy a view of the city, the cathedrals and mountains. We enjoy helping you with sights to see and places to eat. We offer tours of the national parks and cultural sites for reasonable fees, as well as airport transportation to and from Guayaquil. Our guests are diverse and have fun sharing their experiences with others. We hope to see you at the Hostel Hogar Cuencano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Hogar Cuencano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing