We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Hogar Cuencano
Ranked #5 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Ollantaytambo, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Location and Clean”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I am surprised at some of the other reviews because I stayed a week and never had noise problems. The room was cleaned every day and the bed made. The Hostess was friendly and speaks some English. The maid was polite and efficient. The shower was not the best but adequate. If you are use to staying in hotels were you have room service and other amenities then this hotel is not for you. But if you are trying to get a reasonable room at an excellent price this is the place. The Wi-fi was some of the better that I have come across in south america. I had wifi in my room with a little desk to boot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingleNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    48
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
55
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jalisco, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed here for the first time when I visited Cuenca to scout it out for a possible retirement move to Latin America. Since then, I've relocated to Cuenca, stayed here twice, and all three stays were simply fine. This is a hostal...no luxury...you get what you pay for...but each time, I was given a spotlessly clean and comfortable room, with access to an equally clean bathroom.

I've read reviews from others who experienced a lot of noise...in all three stays here, I haven't experienced any of that. Location is excellent, right in the heart of El Centro, such a beautiful, historic, protected UNESCO World Heritage area. WiFi was spotty, but a lot IS in El Centro...not the fault of the hostal's owners, but of the service providers.

If you want a clean, very inexpensive place to just lay your head while you explore this beautiful city, I STILL recommend Hostal Hogar Cuencano.

If you want luxury and all the amenities of home, it isn't for you...once again, we get what we pay for, right?

THANKS Maggie...will be back when I need to!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ContentedNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was our first stop in Cuenca and we ended up staying a week. Celso and his wife are perfect hosts (he picked us up from Guayaquil for a reasonable fee, and was a great source of info on the drive). Decent rooms, very clean, good showers. Remarkably quiet for its central location, you can literally fall out into ten bars. Kettles, water, pots and pans, plus loads of privacy. Would recommend to anyone new to Cuenca as it's a great base and they couldn't be more helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor if possible, the doorbell might disturb you if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

..... Or like a decent shower. BEAWARE that this hostal has changed its name now to just HOSTAL HOGAR CUENCANO. We booked on line, because the location and price looked good. Surprised that reviews were ok, now that we have seen the place. It was quite grotty. Bathroom was about as small as you can get with no window, no light and you needed to be really thin to actually get through the gap that the shower door would open, even with climbing over the loo to get there. The floor in the bathroom was just dire, it could not be cleaned properly because it was not even flat, tiled with bits of broken tiles with really thick rough grouting that scraped your feet. I cannot tell you if the water was hot as I just did not shower there, checking out immediately the following morning because of the lack of sleep due to the noise that lasted from 1.30am to 4.15am.

We politely asked the man making the noise to be a little less noisy as we were trying to sleep. His response was "this is a hostal". Worse than an inconsiderate guest as the man who was on the phone constantly in the communal hallway (right outside the bedrooms) WAS THE OWNER. We were asleep prior to this but the noise woke us with a start and was louder than we would usually listen to our own loud music.

As we heard every word of his conversation and music we know it was no emergency. He was merely chatting loudly to all and anyone he could ring. He also put on the lights in the hallway which flooded our room with light as the windows are internally facing and curtains as thin as they can be. At 3.15 his female guest was let in after ringing the door bell about 25 times. We heard their entertainment, and she left half an hour later. By the way, the bedding was not particularly nice. Neither did he look particularly pleasant, walking round in a dirty vest.

When we checked out the next morning, we found the online price was $4 higher than the actual room price. He would not give us a receipt unless we paid him extra. We also forfeited three nights booking fee.

This place gives hostals a bad name. There are so many others in this area, that there is no need to stay here. Just YUK!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here for six nights in February 2013. It is good value for money and is in one of the best parts of town for bars and restaurants and is a short walk to the main square.

Our double room was quite basic but the ensuite bathroom was quite new and clean and the shower worked well. The staff were nice and they made our bed every day.

Unfortunately we couldn't get the wifi to work on our BlackBerry PlayBook - but that could have been a BlackBerry problem.

Also we didn't get much sleep as there was music playing nearby all night, some nights when we were there but that wasn't the hostel's fault as it was carnival when we were there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choccy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hostel may not have everything but for me it has the necessities. Comfortable bed, great wifi throughout, a HOT shower with amazing water pressure, nice central location and the best staff I've encountered yet! On top of it, at $8 per night for a dorm, it seems to be a pretty good deal for the area. There's no real common area which can make to hard to meet people but I feel like there are more private rooms than dorms here. There is a kitchen, but more than one in there at a time would be difficult. Overall I would come back next time even if it was because of the staff alone. Oh, and our dorm has a balcony!

Room Tip: The dorm only has one outlet shared by 5 people so if that matters to you, you may want to opt for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bajabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed with Maggie for 5 nights while we searched out more permanent housing and continue to stop by to say hello and catch-up with everyone. CLEAN and comfortable, our room was most adequate and the water was hot for our showers (a key ingredient for those uninitiated). The little roof terrrace provides a neat overview and the recently finished wall decorations were really neat to watch (we even contributed a few pennies). The lavenderia across the street run by Sarah, was most complete and inexpensive and we continue to walk some distance to keep having her do our laundry. The location is perfect for exploring via bus or cab or on foot. Oh, and the Molienda Cafe (great Columbian coffee and food) is right around the corner, as is the Windhorse Cafe (a good gringo place to start out from and don't miss the GF Friday menu). BOTH excellent locations for good food!

Room Tip: Front section is nearest to the 2nd floor communal fridge/hot water maker/microwave as rooms are bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aloharitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#15 of 60 in Cuenca
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel
#30 of 60 in Cuenca
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 60 in Cuenca
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bauhouse Hostel
Bauhouse Hostel
#6 of 71 in Cuenca
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Hogar Cuencano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Hogar Cuencano

Property: Hostal Hogar Cuencano
Address: Hermano Miguel 4-36 y Calle Larga | Across from Escalinata Steps & Tomebamba River, Cuenca, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family want to welcome you to Cuenca. We own and operate the Hostel Hogar Cuencano situated in a very convenient El Centro location across from the Escalinata Steps and Tomebamba River. We guarantee your stay will be in a spotlessly clean room with private bath and hot shower. We have a rooftop terrace that offers a calm place to enjoy a view of the city, the cathedrals and mountains. We enjoy helping you with sights to see and places to eat. We offer tours of the national parks and cultural sites for reasonable fees, as well as airport transportation to and from Guayaquil. Our guests are diverse and have fun sharing their experiences with others. We hope to see you at the Hostel Hogar Cuencano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Hogar Cuencano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing