We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hostel in historical center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Hogar Cuencano
Ranked #7 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

The hostel suprised us-from the outside we did not except that kind of accomodiation. The entry is not very inviting, but the rooms are. The rooms were modern (we`ve seen differently in this country) and clean. The owner are also friendly and helpfull. For 20usd for a double room we were also satisfied with the price. I would recommend this place for Cuenca.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemtrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 108 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and were very pleased by the helpful staff and nice accommodations. They speak great English if you are not so confident with your spanish! We found the location to be close to the places we wanted to visit and we highly recommend that you stop by Tiesto's restaurant for dinner (it's just a few blocks away).
Our first night there was a bit noisy due to a full house of excited concert-goers. The staff was apologetic the next morning and we found it quiet for the rest of our stay.
Good showers, very clean bathrooms.
Beds are comfortable but very very creaky!

Room Tip: The rooms are spread out over the 3 storey building - rooms near the top and at the back (away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACSCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Ärrived a day early after a long journey…first time in South America...greeted warmly…assured my early arrival was no problem. Rooms are basic, but rooms and bathrooms are spotlessly clean. HOT showers whenever you need them. Staff bilingualism (Spanish/English) was such an asset, and they accommodated (with some amusement) my own “linguistically- challenged-almost-nonexistent” Spanish. Free WiFi (spotty sometimes, more dependable during the day than in the evening) a necessity for me, but three internet cafes just around the corner…80 cents for an hour. Travelling alone as a (*ahem*) mature woman...always felt safe, even walking alone at night...just need to take the usual precautions. Hostal is situated in the heart of the old colonial section of the city…a protected UNESCO World Heritage site…easy to see why...just a perfect location to explore the BEAUTIFUL surroundings; Rio Tomebamba just a few steps away; close to a multitude of restaurants; free Spanish lessons from young Nelson were an unexpected bonus…wonderful stay…HIGHLY recommended for the budget conscious traveler! MUCHOS GRACIAS!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ContentedNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is a wonderful budget hostal. It is very basic but the price is also very affordable. Rooms with bathroom available and also rooms with shared bath are available for an even lower cost. I had my own room and bath as a solo traveler for $12 per night, they were willing to bargain as I was staying there for 14 nights and taking Spanish classes at Amauta (3 blocks away). Shared bath rooms were $8. The owners are very personable, there is a kitchen available to you if you want to make coffee or tea (bring your own). No included food here like the higher priced Posada del Angel but it is only 1/3 the cost! Daily maid service, clean and comfortable, safe and quiet. There is no fitness center but the steps leading to Rio Tomebamba are just across the street and you will get an excellent workout by going up and down those! Great location.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the property are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ak_gypsy949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

I stayed at Hostal Hogar Cuencano for a few days, and was very impressed by the quality of my room, the low cost, and the warm service from Senora Maggi. I had a very clean single room with private bathroom. The bed was large and comfortable, and the room had hardwood floors. The best part was the price - only $7 for a private room in the heart of Cuenca! There are rooms with shared bathrooms available for cheaper as well.

This hostel isn't well-marked from the outside. To find it, go to Hermano Miguel near Calle Larga and look for the doorway with "Hostal" written in large vertical letters beside it. I believe it's on the east side of the street, and the lettering is either orange or brown.

This place is great, and you can't beat the price - I highly recommend that you check it out! Ask for room 303.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Isla80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Léo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.4 mi away
Pepe"s House
Pepe"s House
#4 of 83 in Cuenca
20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bauhouse Hostel
Bauhouse Hostel
#6 of 83 in Cuenca
115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 62 in Cuenca
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#19 of 62 in Cuenca
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#3 of 62 in Cuenca
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Hogar Cuencano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Hogar Cuencano

Address: Hermano Miguel 4-36 y Calle Larga | Across from Escalinata Steps & Tomebamba River, Cuenca, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Price Range: $20 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family want to welcome you to Cuenca. We own and operate the Hostel Hogar Cuencano situated in a very convenient El Centro location across from the Escalinata Steps and Tomebamba River. We guarantee your stay will be in a spotlessly clean room with private bath and hot shower. We have a rooftop terrace that offers a calm place to enjoy a view of the city, the cathedrals and mountains. We enjoy helping you with sights to see and places to eat. We offer tours of the national parks and cultural sites for reasonable fees, as well as airport transportation to and from Guayaquil. Our guests are diverse and have fun sharing their experiences with others. We hope to see you at the Hostel Hogar Cuencano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Hogar Cuencano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing