We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolate Tour”

Altisimo Chocolate, Coffee & Bistro
Ranked #2 of 17 Dessert in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $15
Description: Altisimo Chocolate, Coffee & Bistro is a small batch artisanal chocolate maker specializing in gourmet chocolate, confections, desserts and "Michelin Star Quality" gourmet food, drinks, etc. We use the finest heirloom and single estate cacao beans and the best farm-to-table ingredients available to provide you with the most delicious products, and an amazing culinary experience. We have a wide selection of quality chocolate, products, desserts and food. We’re sure you’ll just love our new shop, bistro and outdoor patio. Stop by and a taste the experience! This is truly a must see world destination... Come see us in Cuenca, Ecuador. Located at Gran Columbia 8-86 y Benigno Malo. 1 block north of Parque Calderon ( -2.895763, -79.004461)
Restaurant details
Description: Altisimo Chocolate, Coffee & Bistro is a small batch artisanal chocolate maker specializing in gourmet chocolate, confections, desserts and "Michelin Star Quality" gourmet food, drinks, etc. We use the finest heirloom and single estate cacao beans and the best farm-to-table ingredients available to provide you with the most delicious products, and an amazing culinary experience. We have a wide selection of quality chocolate, products, desserts and food. We’re sure you’ll just love our new shop, bistro and outdoor patio. Stop by and a taste the experience! This is truly a must see world destination... Come see us in Cuenca, Ecuador. Located at Gran Columbia 8-86 y Benigno Malo. 1 block north of Parque Calderon ( -2.895763, -79.004461)
Reviewed April 16, 2019 via mobile

The owners and staff are passionate about the entire chocolate making process! We thoroughly enjoyed the tour of their place. We will have to try the restaurant next time

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 82 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2019

The owners (who may swing by your table to chat, if they have time) are Farm to Table as much as they can. The 4 not 5 rating is because they are a bit more expensive than the norm here. A lunch selection may be $7 to $10. However... l go to my nearest Almuerzo place if I want m $3.50 chicken leg with menestra and white rice. I have a different favorite gringo restaurant if I want a good quality lunch plate for $6 to $7. My wife and I had lunch here for $25 that included ingredients I haven’t had in over the 3 years we’ve lived here. You must try the homemade gravlox that is made with local trout. That was special. I’ve heard people complain about the $25 chocolate bars. Really... a visit is worth even the story on where that bar came from and why it may have won international awards. If Passport Scotch is the same to you as a 16 year Lagavulin Islay and that’s how you view chocolate, keep moving along and buy that Pacari chocolate bar at Supermaxi. Otherwise, visit these guys to understand and try artisanal chocolate. Yea... I go back to ManiCho and Hershey’s. I also go back to Almuerzo Cuencana. But occasionally we go back to Altísimo when we want something special and different.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank T6029QWmarkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

This farm to table restaurant has great food for breakfast,lunch or drinks net. Also make their own high quality chocolate from heirloom cacao and have very good Ecuadorian coffee. Homemade sourdough bread is an added bonus. Muffuletta sandwich could hold its own in New Orleans with fresh made olive salad.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank Donna219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

This farm fresh bistro is doing their part to raise the culinary level of the city by controlling their products from start to finish. While their intentions are laudable, their food don’t seem to rise to the level of the hype. Expensive for this part of the world, but reasonable for what they are trying to accomplish. Well worth a look, but bring extra cash (they don’t accept credit cards [yet]).

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StephenR81611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019

We asked that our salad include shrimp and these were big and juicy, not rubbery.. The greens were perfectly fresh and the Caesar dressing just right. We enjoyed our salads in the outdoor seating area on a perfect day. On our way out, we got some desserts to go and a San Francisco style sourdough boule. Later on we toasted a slice of it and we thought we were actually in San francisco. You know, the bread with the holes and the texture and tang. We kinda didn't want to tell you about it so there will always be some for us.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank CuencaGigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altisimo Chocolate, Coffee & Bistro also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to Altisimo Chocolate, Coffee & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing