We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveler rating
8
4
2
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
4
2
3
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 17 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2017

Totally agree with a previous review ' Bad design, no sleep'. The design is not that bad. It is basic, and luckily no kitsch. And yes, we partly booked because it looked so nice.

The last room available was the one with the shared bathroom. No problem with that. But what they did not tell you, is that the room is 'exposed' to basically all the noises of the hotel. The doorbell , the reception, the cracking wooden staircase, two sides of the room 'connect' with the corridor. Inside the room, a double bed, no way to hang your clothes, no desk, no chair.. What else could be missing here?

I also asked for a gluten free breakfast. the question went completely ignored.

Yes, we were allowed to check in early upon our arrival by night bus from Quito. But this fact confused them to the extent they got the dates wrong. And had I not objected to the basic and non existing GF breakfast, I would have been charged 2 extra breakfasts too.

There is plenty of staff, but only one at the time and communication between them seems to be poor. The lady of the house showed her face only 1. She might benefit from being more present.

On a positive note, I like the location, and ys, they seem to get a lot of business from the nearby university. So their future is secure.

Room Tip: skip the room(s) with the shared bathroom
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarceldeBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2017

This is a difficult review because the hotel was pretty cool looking with an excellent concept that was poorly executed. It is built in an old brick building with the intention to have an incredible atmosphere. The problem - all the rooms surround a brick atrium? (not sure how to explain it) in the middle. The reception is an open concept. The echo through this brick center is unbelievable. We heard the phone ringing at 2am in the morning. People walking on the wood steps echoed. Any shut of a door could be heard. Anyone who came in and talked to the reception could be heard. I literally heard someone in another room snoring. The hotel is next to a bar and we heard the music playing all night. The design was like an amplifier. I hardly slept for 5 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017

Staff is attentive and kind. Location is excellent if you want proximity to the University of Cuenca and the river. Breakfast service is minimal but sufficient. An excellent restaurant, Magnolia, is just a 3 minute walk across the river for lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are better, although stair access is a bit problematic.
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oravlaolam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanrockehouse, Propietario at San Rocke House, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Many thanks four your review. it was a pleasure to have you in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones son estandar, recomiendo en el segundo piso, debido a que en el primer piso uno se entera de todo.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews